We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and fantastic food!”

Le Coq d'Or Restaurant
Ranked #420 of 2,058 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent service and fantastic food!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This really was the gourmet dinner of our holiday. The service was exceptional, the ambience was ultra smooth and our 9 year old daughter didn't feel out of place either! They will even pick you up from your hotel in a 1940's London Cab! The wine list, as you'd imagine was pretty extensive too. Between the 3 of us we had the frois groie, prawn cocktail and frogs legs, followed by a cleansing sorbet and main courses of chateaubrian, roasted venison and lobster ravioli. Even though this was the most expensive we had all holiday it really was something very special!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Flawless service, some exquisite dishes”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We wanted to take some friends to a special restaurant for their wedding anniversary, so chose Le Coq D'Or on its reputation. The booking staff were very courteous and willing to please. They organised a complimentary mini-anniversary cake and the London taxi, which arrived promptly.

Actually, the taxi is rather cramped for four passengers, and the seats are not very comfortable. It is, however, airconditioned, and the chauffered service is most professional. The novelty of the experience makes a little discomfort well worthwhile!

From the entrees to the desserts, everything was very well cooked and presented. Flavors were generally delicious and rich, with the exception of the chocolate souffle, which I found rather bland. The fish dishes were extremely good.

Wait service throughout was discreet yet attentive. Silver service, sparkling glassware, big crisp linen serviettes were all appreciated.

If one could fault this restaurant for anything, I would target the rather too formal atmosphere, almost strictly proper. The choice of schmaltzy piano music made me want to giggle; it was so restrained that it did not have that spark of fun that makes dinner with friends a memorable occasion. Somehow, the formality and the constraint made us feel a little daunted rather than relaxed.

Overall, though, it was well worth the expense. The wine selection was extensive and well-chosen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I loved this place!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After having been in Thailand for a couple of weeks I was craving some non-thai food and I must say that from the moment we were picked up in the 1940s cab until we were dropped at the night markets after dinner everything was fabulous. We rang for a booking in the afternoon for dinner that night and were accommodated straight away. It was my husband's birthday and they gave us a terrific table, top notch service, fabulous food, good wines for northern Thailand and even provided a small birthday dessert complete with sparkler, low lighting and Happy Birthday played by the band and sung by the staff and other patrons! Fantastic foie gras to marvellous mousse - I cannot recommend this restaurant high enough. Do yourself a favour while in Chiang Mai and make a booking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank audie3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely first class restaurant in Chiang Mai.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wonderful, first-class dining and ambiance. Outstanding service from the time you step foot on the property. Food offerings are delicious and well-presented and wine choices are among the best in Northern Thailand. Pricey by Chiang Mai standards but worth the price. A great place for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bronx4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Food, Service, and Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I can't imagine how Le Coq d'Or Restaurant gets anything but excellent reviews. Perhaps because of the price, but you get what you pay for. Everything is superb, the food, the wine, the service, the live jazz, and the ambience. We were picked up in a 1940s London taxi cab. How cool is that!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AroundWorld300KDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coq d'Or Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Le Coq d'Or Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing