We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Ranked #23 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was really excited about this hotel based on the pictures I had seen. It was as I had expected although in a very isolated location. Went to a dance show which was fab. Hubby and I paid £80 for a Thai massage and I'm sad to say it wasn't as good as I had anticipated.

Cons- very quiet at night, wont see anyone walking about- kind of spooky.

Travelled May 2013

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anji H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Anji_H,

Thanks for your recent posting and we are glad to know that you have a great time here. Sorry to hear that you never enjoyed the traditional show at our sister restaurant.

We will inform the General Manager there.

Hope to have you back here soon.

Regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    283
    89
    25
    23
See reviews for
194
452
29
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel was beautiful. Upon arrival, it looks like you have arrived at a temple. Our room was beautiful, with a very comfortable bed, power shower with massage jets, huge bath, and a balcony overlooking a waterfall. The pool is massive, with many features including a waterfall and jacuzzi. Some rooms have a balcony, where you can step off the balcony straight into the pool. The food was also very nice, and very cheap, and offers a variety of Thai and International cuisine. Breakfast was very enjoyable and varied, with oemlettes made fresh to order. The hotels sister restaurant, just off site, also is very good and very reasonable. The hotel also offers massages, even at poolside, including a free 15 minute massage on your first day. The hotel offers free shuttle service into the centre, and night markets throughout the day and night, which is about a ten minute drive. The staff were very friendly and helpful also. Loved this hotel, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich250807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Rich250807,

Thanks so much for your recent comment and we are all very happy to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us here.

I will share your kind thoughts with all my associates this morning and i am sure they will love to hear this.

Hope to have you back here again.

Have a good day.

Regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I thought that other reviews pointing out that this place has a lot of mosquitos might be exaggerated. Traveling in the hot season in northern thailand there are mosquitos. But no exaggeration: It was creepy. We stayed the last night after a 14-day-round trip trough northern Thailand, but nowhere else we experienced such a cloud of mosquitos. Entering the room I started killing them and in about half an hour killed about 40!!! The beds have mosquito nets installed and I highly recommend sleeping under them. The hotel has a nice garden with several ponds, which might the breeding places for them? At the beginning of our trip we stayed at another 5 star hotel in Chiang Mai with a garden with ponds, and they sprayed against mosquitos every week. They announced it with signs. Now I understand why and I would appreciate it if Centara would pick up this habit. Regarding pool, rooms and garden this is a nice hotel. Pool is a little bit too shadowy due to big trees. The hotel restaurant is very sterile. Surroundings are business centers, but in the hotel garden you are secluded. But when leaving the hotel it feels a little bit awkward. Hotel is refusing to call you a tuk-tuk. If you want to leave you depend on the hotel shuttle service, which is far more expensive as a tuk-tuk. Very nice is the Lanna-style entrance hall. And we could leave the luggage after check out, as we had a late flight and wanted to go to the city before. And - when returning from the city - could use the shower in the fitness area before we left to the airport. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirjam1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Mirjam1970,

Thanks for your comment recently and we have noted how uncomfortable you were with the mosquitoes.
From our log book of housekeeping, they found you always left the doors opened widely which invited the pest to enter your room easily. You request to spray the room was done on a daily basis but it did not help much as each time it was sprayed the room balcony/terrace door was left opened.
We are very sorry that we could not made your visit more comfortable although we have tried many ways to prevent you from the mosquitoes. The hotel fumigates every Thursday of the week and this notice is placed in the room.
For transportation, we do call for outside taxi and tuk-tuk but we do not have the call center for tuk-tuk. However this is done on case by case basis, if we find any tuk tuk passing by, the staff will flag them to come over.
Our tour desk is the most convenient mode of service with a small minimal charge. For a taxi to go downtown the tour counter charge at Baht 50 more and this is very minimal. Guests can travel anytime without waiting long for a taxi or tuk tuk to come pass. Some guests prefered to walk outside to the main road and wait until a taxi or tuk tuk comes by.
Mirjam1970, our apology again for all the inconvenience that you have experienced and hopefully you will still use our hotel or brand in your near future.
Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is not situated near the town centre.All restaurant and activities are quite far.But they provide free shuttle to the town about three to four set times per day.The positive side is the hotel is quiet spacious and is surrounded by good garden and water flow.Apart from Mosquitos it was lovely and very helpfull staff.

Room Tip: Most rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chim824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Chim824,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the location.

Please do let us know when you have plans to revisit us? We will be more than pleased to have you back here.

Yours sincerely,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Overall the hotel and grounds are beautiful. For being in the middle of Chiang Mai it was very relaxing. The entire hotel is centered around the pool and provides a beautiful view from each room. It’s very clean and well maintained. It is a shame that it closes so soon, but understandable with how close the pool is to the rooms. One person noted the bugs, and yes there are bugs but nothing you can’t handle. The room was beautiful with the Thai décor, a little tired and outdated but the major issue is the bed, it was incredibly uncomfortable. Even after we mentioned it to the staff and they added a “pad” it was hard as a rock. For such a pretty hotel with good food, not getting a good night’s sleep was a major downfall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Katrina R,

Thank you so much for your comments recently.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the resort here with the exceptance of the bed. Our mattress is made of high quality material and we are sorry to hear that it is far too hard for you. I do not blame you as some guests prefer a soft mattress and some harder. However, we are sorry to hear that even with the padding we provided to you it is still hard.

We do appreciate your comment and we will see if we will keep some softer mattresses handy should guests required a softer version.

You mentioned that the decor is a little tiring. It is architecture this way in order to maintain it;s authentic Lanna (Northern Thailand) style.

I will definitely share your comments with all our associates especially to the housekeeping staff for a good job to maintain the cleanliness up to the standard.

Katriana, hope to have you back here soon.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Khum Phaya Resort, whilst being a little out of the Old Quarter of Chang Mai is a really great hotel. The tour operator that picked us up for the tour said that if you were staying here then you are close to royality. The resort was excellent, shuttle bus to town was great, however it is important that you ensure that you book, and at times make sure your name is on the list or you could be left to you own devices, no problem really about 300Baht Tuk Tuk from town. Amenties are excellent and the restaurant was first class as well. The landscaping makes the resort seem like it is located in a remote tropical location, so some mozzy spray comes in handy, but is not a signicant issue. But make sure you have some spray. All in all we had a great stay and have no hestiation recommending this resort to visitors of Chang Mai

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear MarkD,

Thank you so much for your valuable time taken to post your very positive comments on Tripadvisor recently.

Our associates and including me are very happy to hear that you have had a wonderful time staying at our resort.. I believe many others would like to experience our facilities and services after reading your comments.

Thanking you again and hope to see you soon.

Have a good day and regards.


Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful resort for 4 grand days and enjoyed every moment! The staff were second to none, our room was amazing, the pool was grand and the grounds were perfect!!!
My only complaint would be the staff in the spa told us we would get a 40% discount (this was later revoked) and the "special" hotel taxi was a total rip.
Those a things aside I would recommend to anyone wanting luxury. We loved every moment, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Hana B,

Thank you so much for your recent posting in Tripadvisor. Our associates and I are so delighted to hear that you have a great time here recently.

With regards to the 40% discount off the spa treatment perhaps there were some misunderstanding. I have checked the log book and noted that the staff offered 20% discount per person per treatment. There were both of you so the discount was posted as 20 % per person .

Glad to know that with even some slight glitches you enjoyed every moment of your stay here.

Looking forward to having you again.

Cheers and regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Property: Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Address: 137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiang Mai was the centre of the Lanna kingdom, and with interiors fitted out in natural fabrics and teak, roofs made from 80-year-old teak beams, and intricate carvings that show the touch of a true craftsman, the design of this atmospheric four-star boutique resort reflects the kingdom’s heritage. Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection has 85 spacious rooms and villas (from 44 to 356 square metres of total living space), with the option of direct pool access or a private pool, and each with a Jacuzzi thus adding a holistic touch to any Chiang Mai holiday. Beautiful surrounds and spacious interiors with teak furnishings and wood floors throughout make the rooms and villas a comfortable retreat for couples and families, and perfectly evoke the Lanna heritage. Wellbeing facilities include a Spa Cenvaree, the perfect retreat after of a busy day of sightseeing, exploring the valleys surrounding the city or discovering the unique culture of the ‘Rose of the North’, and a fitness centre. The resort is also home to a lagoon-shaped swimming pool surrounded by century-old trees and meandering canals. The resort also has a restaurant and two bars. For shopping aficionados, the complimentary shuttle service connects to Chiang Mai’s night markets and to Central Festival Chiang Mai shopping centre which is only 10 minutes away, so is the old town. The resort is a mere 20-minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Chiang Mai
Khum Phaya Resort And Spa Centara Boutique Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing