We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but not for a loner.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Ranked #25 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, everything in here is really based on creating a romantic environment, it would make a great honey moon venue. It isn't in the middle of town, but in the University belt to the east, just by the Big C shopping complex. The room was fantastic, just 2 stories, overlooking the pool as they all do. If you had the ground floor room you would be able to walk from your room straight into the pool, from your own personal outside space. The bar area is outside and sits by the side of the waterfall, however be warned use 100% Deet as the mossies' are big hitters. Better still drink in the restaurant, or on its veranda away from the water, but even here they have them. Taxi or Tuk-Tuk is about 200Baht from central Chiang Mai. ticked this one as one to come back to with romance in mind.

Room Tip: Get a lower pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear DRMeeks,

Thanks for posting your review recently and we do really appreciated that. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here and I am sure my associates will be glad to know too.

Water from tap in the guestrooms are not advisable to be drank directly but we do provide complimentary drinking water to all our guestrooms. Those two bottles provided each day can be replenished if needed more.

I hope you will come back to stay with us and please do not hesitate to contact us should you need further assistance.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 996 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a great botique hotel about 10 minutes outside of central Chaing Mai. The hotel has a daily shuttle that drops and picks you up at the night market/town as part of their service. The hotel is a beautiful property and the breakfast, which we had daily was delish. The rooms are spacious and relaxing with great a/c and comfy beds.

I would definitely stay again. The value is there and it's out of the hustle of town. There is also a evening dinner show next door at an outdoor theater that adds to your experience if you are in to it. The one thing the resort can use to enhance it's flavor is by providing some in-house yoga, or fitness options. Defnintely worth taking a look at this one.

Room Tip: Being a small botique hotel all the rooms are good, however, there is a side that is away from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Byron_H,

Thanks for your recent comment in TripAdvisor.

It is indeed very useful and really appreciated that. We are all so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your entire stay with us and looking forward to have you here again soon.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at this cool resort where we had a pool side room. the beautiful gardens and walkways are well maintained, the rooms are perfect in size and ver quiet and comfortable. The food is fresh, nicely presented and delicious.

Room Tip: If you like to swim and relax book a poolside bedroom and the rooms here are very quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrobinson224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear jrobinson224,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write a review for us. We are all very happy to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

We do hope to have you back here soon.

Thanks and regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Get ready for a lengthy review! We stayed 11 nights at centara khum phaya resort over October-November in a pool access room. The reasons we chose khum phaya were:
We wanted a more luxury holiday than many cheap inner city hotels offer
We don't mind being out of the hustle and bustle of the city but with conveniences all close by
We love nature and gardens
We love staying traditional (in this case, traditional lanna style)
And let's face it... How insane does the pool look?
Khum phaya delivered on all these fronts. What I would say though is that this is a hotel which has the potential to be an AMAZING five star resort with a few small tweaks, but at the moment, feels like a four star.

Resort grounds:
We were told there was something like 200 varieties of trees, plants and flowers around the resort and the grounds staff have done an absolutely wonderful job. Even if your room is on the road-side of the resort (as opposed to the river-side of the resort) as ours was, the high wall has bamboo planted all along it too make you feel like you're more in nature than you actually are (which is a good thing!)
Every morning I loved walking past and smelling what I think was star jasmine, every day in the pool you can smell the frangipani flowers which have fallen into the water, some trees of interest even have plaques you can read about them.
The pool was always clean and presentable, I did notice more dead leaves than usual on Thursday but this is mosquito fumigation day so that may be why the pool wasn't cleaned as thoroughly as others days.
The pool is nice and long with different things to do and places to sit, however admittedly it is smaller than we imagined it to be from photos, not that it was too small, but don't expect it to just keep going and going and going.

Staff:
Compared to other similar priced, similar rated resorts in Thailand we have stayed at, the customer service here was OK but not amazing. Many staff just did what they had to, in that, they weren't going out of their way to be overly friendly or get to know you. We did take a liking to a driver/bellboy named Aor as he was always friendly, remembered us, gave us some good local tips etc, also Bank who worked In the restaurant was took a little more interest than other staff. But considering we stayed there for 12 whole days, it surprised us that not many other staff stood out to us. All it takes is a genuine smile, and a sincere conversation every now and then. We value that highly in a five star resort, when personal interaction makes your stay enjoyable, any small issues you have with the hotel usually fades from memory. the housekeeping staff we saw during our stay were friendly, but sometimes lacked initiative. Sometimes they took our beach towels that were used and didn't replace them. 3 days after we had eaten our welcome fruit platter it had still not been taken away, fruit peels were just sitting out in our room, we ended up calling up to have it taken out. These little things wouldn't matter in a 3 star hotel but probably should be addressed here.
Food:
As is to be expected from a more pricey hotel - more pricey food (compared to outside restaurants). I don't think anyone should complain about that - that's just standard hotel practice! Aside from breakfast we only had room service once, and the food was alright, but not as high quality as you'd expect for the caliber of hotel.
Breakfasts were good, again not outstanding, but good. We enjoyed the Thai food like pad thai (which appeared every 4 days or so), but there were some weird options like Spaghetti bolognaise, thai curries... Things you wouldn't expect for breakfast. Perhaps if less attention was paid to the western styled "salad bar" which we found unusual, and they paid more attention to normal western breakfasts it would have made eating more enjoyable. At comparable hotels you can usually order dishes on top of the buffet (eggs Benedict/florentine etc) as well as drinks (latte, mocha, iced coffee etc) but this wasn't available here. There is an egg chef making your eggs to order each morning, they weren't amazing, but ok. If you want poached it depends on who is working whether they will say yes or no haha. Nice fruit selection available, and a few fruit juices, though I'm not sure how fresh they were.
Once again - huge potential, just haven't hit the mark yet, but with some small changes this could be an amazing hotel breakfast.

Room:
We just love the traditional Lanna style teak wood everywhere through the hotel. Our room had some nice touches to it, and we arrived to a spread of rose petals (perhaps because it was our anniversary?) and a welcome letter in a fancy scroll thing. We loved the pool access room, the sound of the water fountain just outside was relaxing however we never could understand when it would come on and off it seemed to be at random times through out the day on different days. Nice bathroom there, nice bed, we used the mosquito net every night just in case. Some weird things though: we had an oil burner, with no candles or matches. We called up to ask for some and they told us they had candles but no matches and brought the candles to our room. That was just weird I guess. We ended up walking to the big C down the road, couldn't find any, I think ended up buying some in the city one day. Also there is no DVD player, nor any music players (eg iPod Dock, CD player). We called up one day to request a DVD player and we were told there were none at the hotel. No DVD players? In a 80-something room hotel? We called the next day as someone else was on the desk and they said they had one DVD player. One! They said we could borrow it, but only for two days... I think there should be more than one DVD player in a hotel that large.

Location:
It is a fair way out of the city, if you primarily want adventure, exploration of a new place, and being close to everything touristy, don't stay here, stay in the old city. But if you like to relax in peace and quiet and still have the option to look around this is the perfect location. Free shuttles run every day at 10:00am, 2:00pm, 7:00pm returning at 2:30, 7:30 and 10:00. There's nothing much to do before lunch in the area where you get dropped, in fact there's not much to do until about 6 or 7 as it becomes the night bazaar. I would suggest changing the shuttle times (maybe 12, 4, 7?) or changing the location of the shuttle drop off in the morning and early afternoon. Don't think though that this is out in the middle of nowhere. In walking distance you have some great cheap yummy food, the big C - a shopping centre we went to pretty much every day, dental clinics, laundry, even the thai version of ikea - index living mall, and a guy making the best street cart iced coffee. This is a happening area with lots of condominiums being built (which does mean some construction noise during day and night, but not too bad, you get used to it, besides those hard workers didn't even seem to use power tools just hammers and the like!

In conclusion, we really enjoyed our stay at khum phaya, with a tiny bit of effort this could be better again, hopefully the management will implement some of the suggestions made by faithful visitors

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank thenewmrsteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear thenewmrsteh,

A very good morning to you and thank you so much for your time taken to write those elaborated comments. I must admit how much I really enjoyed reading every details of them and I have even shared the whole comments of yours to all my associates.

We will take all your comments as a very constructive and will take it as a case study too. Every bit of it has a lot of information and we will use this to either implement it or improve it.

I do agree with you, as a boutique I would like all my associates to interact with guests and to call every guest by name. This is already in placed but have to admit that this will take awhile before it becomes solid. I am sure this will be a start and slowly but surely we will manage to tackle it.

Thank you so much again for your time again and please do let us know when you have plan to come back here. We will all be more than delighted to have you back.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The whole resort is just beautiful. We had a pool access room which was located close to the pool bar in a quiet corner of the well maintained grounds.
Our experience with the staff is very positive. For ex. a wifi issue was promptly resolved and staff checked two times during our stay if it was still to our satisfaction. New towels, soap or mosquito repellent were also brought to the room within minutes.

Food was great. We had lunch and room service on a few occasions, preferences were met and it tasted great. Breakfast selection was what you might expect from a hotel with these standards and price range, but was also very tasty. The delicious cappuccino made our beginning of the day! Staff was polite and friendly and spoke well enough English to our opinion.

We used the in house tour desk twice. Once to make a tour to Doi Suthep temple, Tiger Kingdom and Long Neck tribe. A great one day tour, with a trustworthy driver who spoke perfectly English. We found the same trip to be more expensive at three other tour agents in Tripadvisor toplist! So its not true they are always more expensive. The second time they brought us to the airport for only 300 baht.

Only downsides: the neighborhood is a building site (we did not suffer any noise pollution though!!), so not much to do in the direct vicinity of the resort. Besides that the mosquito problem other travelers wrote about did annoy us to, but with the right repellent the problem is solved. The Hotel is trying to tackle this issue with a mosquito killing program each tuesday, so hopefully in the near future this problem will be partly resolved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JG-and-EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear JG-and-EG,

Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor and we do really appreciated that.

We are so glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us and I am sure all my associates would love to hear that. I will share this to them this morning in the meeting.

Please let us know your next trip and I do hope you will continue to recommend our resort to all your relatives and friends.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

stayed here for 7 nights. lovely resort very friendly helpful staff. It is out of town but they do offer free shuttle bus to the night bazzara area. there is a construction site next block but did not hear the noise. there is a big C shopping mall, 2 mins walk away. The rooms were lovely, with big spa bath, and the shower = WOW. normal and rainshower plus 6 jets. you just turn on what you want. rooms centre around the pool. we had pool access room near the pool bar.
If you are someone wanting to drink, pool bar closed too early 5 or 6pm. and the ram bar which opens at 6pm is outside and if it raining it does not open. which was nearly every day we were there. breakfast buffet was good. dinner room service was good but only table was on your porch outside, so I ate on my bed. The only thing I wished is that the room service menu had more breakfast or light meal options.

Room Tip: pool access rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissRachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear LittleMissRachy,

Thanks for your recent very positive comments on TripAdvisor. We all really appreciated that and most the important thing is to hear how happy and satisfied with your stay here.

We will take all your recommendation as a case study and for sure will be able to improve our services from time to time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The " resort" has a lovely feel at night despite being the middle of a new development. Expect to wake up to some construction noise and the view of heavy machinery including cranes.

The staff just made our trip tiresome.

The staff couldn't decide when to give us our room, so if you arrive before 2pmexpect to wait a while to get to your room.
Check to see if the room you have asked for is the room you get, we asked for one with a king sized bed and got a room with 2 single beds pushed together making the mosquito net unusable and our pillows hitting the light switches that wear now a part of the sleeping arrangement.

Ensure you sign up for the complimentary shuttle to the night market, the staff won't inform you about anything, you just need to learn as you go.

Check the insect blind which allows you to sit on the balcony while preventing bugs for, entering the room. Ours was broken and despite asking it to be fixed 3 times, our requests fell on deaf ears.

Our room key failed on check in and twice thereafter. It takes the staff ages to replace it. If it happens at night, expect to walk back to the front desk for a new one cos they won't come to you.

Termites or ants all over the bathroom.

Maybe this was our bad luck, but the "resort" has potential to be great. The staff and management have a "can't be bothered" attitude. We asked to speak with the manager at 9am to voice our concerns prior to check out, however keeping in line with our expectations, we got a call from a junior member called us at 9:50 and said she would look into everything and get back to us. Doubt it will happen.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor for direct access to the pool, one of the few good things about the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AT_80london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear AT_80london,

First and foremost my apology for all the inconveniences that have caused your trip to be so tiresome. I do recall my staff informing me to call you back after she (the next morning shift) got a message from the log book and I did call your room and even went to the restaurant to look for you but to no avail. I then asked the Front Office Manager to call you and she did and reported back to me later after all sorted out with regards to the complimentary shuttle and breakfast which originally the voucher stated 'room only'.

There were no other indications on others as been mentioned here and we would really appreciate if you can let us improve more by telling us the exact room number. Our housekeeper even called the pest control to double check the 'assuming' room and rooms and found no termites but some ants due to the leftover crumps by the previous occupants.

As for contructions outside, I must admit there are but it is not audible to our resort as our balconies are facing to the swimming pool and lots of waterfalls 'drown' those contruction noise. Also we have not problem as to dust as we have a tall fence with bamboos that separate the hotel and the main road. No guests have brought this matter to our attention that the construction work wakes them up but as the major piling has been done, the construction site has no obvious major noise.

Please do not let this deter you from coming back our using our brand and do let us know should you have any further assistance. We would love to have you back here.

Best regards.

Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
996 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#40 of 392 in Chiang Mai
963 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Address: 137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $95 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection has 85 spacious rooms and villas (from 44 to 356 sqm of total living space), with the option of direct pool access or a private pool, and each with a Jacuzzi. Beautiful surrounds and spacious interiors with teak furnishings and wood floors throughout make the rooms and villas a comfortable retreat for couples and families. Wellbeing facilities include a fitness centre and a Spa Cenvaree, the perfect retreat after of a busy day of sightseeing or exploring. The resort is also home to a lagoon-shaped swimming pool surrounded by century-old trees and meandering canals. The resort also has a restaurant and two bars. For shopping aficionados, the complimentary shuttle service connects to Chiang Mai’s night markets and to Central Festival Chiang Mai shopping centre which is only 10 minutes away, so is the old town. The resort is a mere 20-minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khum Phaya Resort And Spa Centara Boutique Collection
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing