We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Ranked #22 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Recently we had a 10 night stay in Chiang Mai. The first six days were full day tours and then we found heaven!!!!! The staff were very helpful and the rooms were exactly what we needed. Clean, tidy and spacious. We had the poolside rooms and loved that two-three metres outside the doors we could step into the pool. During the day it was peaceful and quite as everyone else seemed to be off exploring Chiang Mai. We booked in for several Day Spa treatments and with the exchange rate (AUD) it was great value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear SteveS,

We are so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us recently. Your wonderful note will be shared to all my team and I am sure they will be delighted to hear about this.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    283
    89
    25
    23
See reviews for
196
454
29
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 7 nights Sept- Oct 2013. Problems checking in & out. Checking in, no one had told us that you HAVE to provide a credit card. Staff demanding (quite rudely) 7k baht deposit, I remembered Jerome's name from here LOL so asked for him & he got it sorted and we paid a 3k baht deposit. He is smoooothe!! On check out, staff charged us for a dinner next door that we had cancelled the day before it was on. That's ok but the attitude when asking for a refund was amazing (rude wise) as if we were SO MUCH trouble! Umm excuse me - your fault, not ours :)
Resort lovely, staff (apart from front office) lovely, food reasonably priced, free shuttle great! breakfast lovely, pool sensational, beds so comfy.
If they sorted out the front office staff, it would be perfect :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Lynne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear 3Lynne7,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post in your comments in TripAdvisor.

Glad you have had a wonderful time with us except some glitches at the front. Please do not let this deter you from coming back here. Please accept my sincere apology for the front office staff. We will hold a meeting to sort and iron this matter up.

Have a good day and hope to see you soon.

Best personal regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After having stayed for several nights at this resort, my partner and I found it to be very beautifully presented and most staff friendly etc. Do not use the front desk for help they are useless. Go to the big C shopping centre and get one of the red taxis. We also were handed a bill for 2600.00 b at checkout for laundry that we had done. It was quite a small basket, there is a laundry across the road that costs 20 b a load. We missed an appointment due to the help desk messing up and a taxi driver they supplied couldn't find the address. Any taxi they supplied always cost 50 - 100 b more than one from up the road. Basically I would not recommend this resort as at checkin they were great but at checkout they just go for the wallet. Please Khum Phaya management get rid of these sleazy little tricks and you will have a really good resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mike J,

Good morning to you and first I would like to apologise to you for your dissatisfaction over your laundry charge. I have checked in our log book and found one case which I assumed the same under the name Michael xxxx . The list recorded and checked by the guest totaled to 23 pieces and the guest signed before been collected. The total amount was Baht 2,601 net.

Thanks for bringing up the issue of help desk which I will look into this matter. Our help desk is meant to serve our guests with information and to assist guests in getting around the city and vicinity.

Once again, please accept my apology and please do not let this matter deter you from using our Brand and our resort.

Should you have any plans to come back please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was an awesome place to stay, my new Wife and I stayed for 4 nights, mid September '13.
I found the pool with swim up bar was amazing, the pool access room was fantastic. the food in the restrant was fine to good. We found when ordering from the in room dinning they were not quick to understand what we wanted, and what turned up was not always what was asked for.
the room service staff i think have a few things to answer for, but what I will say make sure anything you dont want to lose is locked up, or not left in room. and i think they had a "brake" when in our room, on day 2 we came back to a plater with cigeret buts and fruit remains on the deck, we found this to be off putting as my wife and I dont smoke, so didn't use the pool that night.
I would like to point out to anyone staying that the tour desk is operated by outsiders, at least that is what I hope for, as we asked for the girl on the front desk to order a taxi for us, she pointed us in the direction of the tour desk, saying they will look after you, we that they did....
we asked for a taxi to take us to Tiger Kingdon, then to drop us in the center of Chiang Mai, was charged for a limo, but got an old van, went to Tiger Kingdom, then after that the driver wanted to take us to the "Highest Hill" after thinking about it and asking to goto the city, we said ok, as he said it was free..., we were then taken to a silk shop, followed by a gem shop, I was seeing red at this point, and demanded to be taken back to the resort, he said ok, after a while, but what a wast of money! only use the tour desk to ask what can be done in chiang mai, but then go and google it, book online, and if you need transport head down the road to the "Big C" grab a red truck, or a taxi.
On checkout day, we headed to the front desk to ask about Airport Transfer, was told to book at tour desk when we need.
we got the bags ready, rang for them to be picked up, went to reception, checked out, asked for Airport Transfer again, they said ok, we sat at the seats provided was there for 45 min, asked one of the guys taking care of the bags, who directed others to the a van, as they were heading to the airport(over heard them talking) who then sorted transfer via tour desk at the cost of 2 times the taxi fair from the airport. We asked the girl who checked us out to sort the Airport Transfer, she did nothing about it at all, but confirmed payment for the accomidation. then left us sitting.
There are some awesome people who work there, all the staff in the restrant, and the staff at the pool bar, and the guys who clean the pool 2 times a day from what we saw, they all deserve a tip if you get the chance, some of the people were there first thing in the morning, then we saw them when we got back from the night markets, setting up for the next morning, they work hard for there money (what little they get), you gota respect that!

Room Tip: room with pool access is the way to go, so you are not upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ge0ff31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ge0ff31,

Good morning to you and thank your so much for your recent posting in TripAdvisor.

I have read and investigating on all the points your brought up

The tour desk "Tin Tour" is our partner and they are a very reliable personnel and to be trusted. We recommend all our guests to use them although the fee is a bit higher than from outside 'operator'. Nevertheless there are many 'operators' soliciting business outside the hotel perimeter and they somehow managed to lure our customers to use them. I assumed they are the 'red truck or taxis that you mentioned in your comment.

Our tour desk guides are all licensed and on your description I doubt that they are the one that you engaged as a guide. Nevertheless I will discuss further with the tour desk manager.

Thank you so much for your compliments towards our staff who are putting so much effort in the services. They are really excellent and I am very proud for what they are doing. Thanks again. I will definitely pass this comment to them.

We are looking forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us again should you need any further assistance.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've just been there for my honeymoon. The place looks very beautifull, old style. But you hear a lot of noise at night. Because the hotel is just on the Main Street . The room was very unclean, you could see the dust everywhere and smell it. We couldn't sleep. And when we asked them to clean the room no body did anything. Besides it is very far from the center.
It is not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Mariothe,

First and foremost our sincere apology for not been able to enjoy your holiday with us recently.

I am very sorry to hear that things fell apart during your stay with us. I have further checked the log book of any similar cases brought up to the attention by any guests during this period and unfortunately it was not recorded. I will further investigate.

If I would have known this I would have immediately rectify the situation.

About the cleanliness, I will make sure that this is taken care and be more careful in the process of cleaning the guestroosm.

As for the location, we are actually located just outside the town centre which is approximately 10 to 15 minutes by our complimentary shuttle service from the hotel to downtown. Our shuttle operates at 10 am, 2 pm, 4 pm (additional to the weekend), 7 pm with the last pick up from town at 10 pm. Alternatively our tour desk can provide a very comfortable transportation and reliable at a very minimal charge of Baht 300 per trip.

Mariothe, I do hope this experience will not deter you from using our Brand in the near future and we hope you will return to use our services again.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is located slightly off the centre of Chiang Mai with easy access via the highway (travel time to most tourist spots won't take you longer than 15-30 mins). The main feature of this hotel is the large swimming pool that spreads across the ground of the hotel. I stayed in a pool access room on the ground floor which meant entering the pool was a breeze. The bathroom even contains a working jacuzzi and spa shower (they need to fix the drain though). Sound proofing is poor so you can hear noise from the outside. Also make sure you close the balcony doors as mosquitoes are looking for their way in! Breakfast is served in the small restaurant with good selections of Asian and Western food. The egg station was good. There is a tourist trap sort of restaurant with traditional dances entertainment located within the same complex if you are looking for some sort of cheap thrill without having to get out of the hotel. All in all, a good value boutique hotel with lovely room and a nice pool to relax in.

Room Tip: get a pool access room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear skyrider88,

Thank you so much for your recent comment and we do really appreciate your time taken.

We are very happy to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us although everything could have been even better. Location wise, we are not far from the city i.e. 15 minutes away via car. We also provide complimentary shuttle service to our guests.

I will definitely share your comments to all my associates and I am looking forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Khum Phaya for 6 nights in late August, early September. On arrival we were shown to our pool access room but noticed at once there was a large step down from the balcony to the pool. We went to reception and let them know that it was very hard for me to get out of the pool because of the step and without hesitation they moved us to a new room. We loved the pool access and really enjoyed being able to go for a swim before breakfast without having to walk anywhere. We didn't find the distance from town to be a problem, if the shuttle time didn't suite us, we would walk to the Big C shopping centre down the road and catch a taxi (only150THB). Being a smaller hotel we found the staff were extra friendly and helpful and would often ask about our day and where we had been. Any small problem we had was taken care of without delay. Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choices. The only downside was that I found the bed a bit too hard but we still managed to get a decent nights sleep every night. We loved our stay here, it was our favourite of the three places we stayed in Thailand and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Watch the step to the pool on some pool access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear WendyK17,

Many thanks for your recent comment and we really appreciated that.

We would like to even do better to make your stay comfortable. I must admit some times we have guest complimented our hard bed and sometimes also complaint about them been hard. We wish we could make all our guests happy. For guest who commented our beds been too hard, we will offer to put additional bed toppers to soften it. Perhaps there was an oversight on this.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us should you need further assistance.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Property: Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Address: 137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiang Mai was the centre of the Lanna kingdom, and with interiors fitted out in natural fabrics and teak, roofs made from 80-year-old teak beams, and intricate carvings that show the touch of a true craftsman, the design of this atmospheric four-star boutique resort reflects the kingdom’s heritage. Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection has 85 spacious rooms and villas (from 44 to 356 square metres of total living space), with the option of direct pool access or a private pool, and each with a Jacuzzi thus adding a holistic touch to any Chiang Mai holiday. Beautiful surrounds and spacious interiors with teak furnishings and wood floors throughout make the rooms and villas a comfortable retreat for couples and families, and perfectly evoke the Lanna heritage. Wellbeing facilities include a Spa Cenvaree, the perfect retreat after of a busy day of sightseeing, exploring the valleys surrounding the city or discovering the unique culture of the ‘Rose of the North’, and a fitness centre. The resort is also home to a lagoon-shaped swimming pool surrounded by century-old trees and meandering canals. The resort also has a restaurant and two bars. For shopping aficionados, the complimentary shuttle service connects to Chiang Mai’s night markets and to Central Festival Chiang Mai shopping centre which is only 10 minutes away, so is the old town. The resort is a mere 20-minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Chiang Mai
Khum Phaya Resort And Spa Centara Boutique Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing