We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from an oasis” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Ranked #24 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Far from an oasis”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I found that many of the reviews in the recent past have over-rated this resort or at least did not reflect our experience there.

Things started off on a bit of a wrong foot when they showed us to our room with a "king bed" which was just two twins pushed together with the usual gap in the middle of the two mattresses and the half headboard on one side then gap where the night stand usually is and other headboard now hanging off to the side. This room was clearly meant for someone else originally as the welcome letter on the bed was addressed to someone else. We requested to change to a room with a 'real' king bed which was accommodated although the room we were moved to had dirty towels in it from the last guest and I imagine hadn't been serviced. The shower was not working, but that was sorted out the next day.

The room we moved from was a "lagoon view" which we had requested based upon other reviews but BE WARNED, things have changed. As you can see in the photos a new development immediately behind the lagoon has changed what was likely once a solitary retreat to an overlooked noisy area. Based on the ongoing construction noise we noted daily throughout our stay it seems we lucked out by not getting a king bed and requesting the room change.

The facility aims to be a luxury resort but falls short based upon the quality of service and finer details one usually expects in a truly luxury resort. No morning news papers, the fit and finish is only of a moderate standard and the environment is blatantly artificial. The service at the front desk was always slow and often painful to navigate through an issue.

The two most significant problems with this resort are:
#1 location: Although hotel offers a ‘free shuttle’ this is at best a token service. It operates twice a day at hours which aren’t all that useful, requires 4 hours minimum advanced booking, and even in the shoulder season is always full. Although taxis or took tooks are cheap (avg 150-300 bhatt to get from most places in town to the hotel) there are very rarely either waiting at the hotel. Your best bet is to walk 10-15 min to the front of the Big C extra and try to find a taxi there. If you like going out on the town at night it can be very difficult to find a taxi willing to take you back to the hotel at night and expect to pay at least double what you paid for your trip into town. The resort should run an hourly shuttle in and out of the old city on a first-come first-serve basis.

#2 insect issues: Yes this is Thailand, you have to expect insects. However, things are a little out of control here. We were extremely careful about food or sweets in the room but despite this from the moment we arrived there were ants everywhere inside and out of our room. The balcony had a constant stream of ants going across it and up the walls. Inside the room it wasn’t uncommon to open drawer (with only toiletries or clothes in it) and find ants crawling all over. More then once I either awoke or after staying in the room for a bit founds ants crawling on me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnExPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear CdnExPats,

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you have gone through during your recent stay with us.

We are taking your comments constructively and seriously taking all corners to rectify them.

As for the welcome letter, as there was a change in your allocated room, the room attendant has overlooked to replace/swap it with another room during the changes. Our apology for the carelessness.

We are currently finishing up our new building (convention centre) adjacent to the hotel. Unfortunately the sight was not a pleasant to the eyes of the workers putting up the finishing touch which is due to open by July this year 2013. However, the major work such as piling has been completed and there were no major noise. We are also monitoring the noise by decibel check on daily basis, controlling the paint work scent etc.

As we are a boutique resort, newspaper are not delivered to rooms. We prepared newspaper at the lobby, restaurant and spa for the guest's convenience. However should a guest request for daily newspaper to be delivered to the room, we are always there to deliver the service.

As for shuttle service, we do operate at 10 am, 2pm and 7 pm respectively and return trip at 10 pm. This service is based on first-come-first-serve and complimentary and we have taken an extra miles by providing extra service should the demand is high. However, our tour desk is ready to assist our guests who wants to go to downtown on flexible time and this charge is at Baht 300 per trip per car. Although some guests prefer to go for a more 'inexpensive' taxi by walking outside the hotel and waiting for one but our recommendation is to take our tour desk service. One pays a Baht 100 more for security purpose and also for punctuality and convenience.

For ants and other pests, we do have pest control once a week. We are tackling all kind of pest including ants but however, due to our tropical temperatures, ants do appear not only to sweets, fruits or food but also to the weather. When rain is approaching we will notice more ants crawling out from the lower ground to a higher ground. This migration is very fascinating.

However, our sincere apology to you again and we thanked your for bringing up this matter to us. We will share this information within our team.

Please do not let this deter you from coming back us or visiting our others Centara properties.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    277
    87
    25
    22
See reviews for
191
428
29
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolute fabulous resort. When we arrived close to shopping malls in the outskirts of Chiang Mai we could not believe such a gem was hidden over there. Stunning rooms, great bathrooms, fantastic pool, and gorgeous landscaping. Great atmosphere. The location is some 25 mins by car/taxi from down town but with the taxis around this is not an issue at all. Personnel is extremely friendly and helpful. Always a smile. Food is great and at reasonable prices.
Just not five star at the end because of speed of service in the restaurant. Could take upto an hour to get a fried rice. I think F&B management failed here. Employees tried there best. Housekeeping was good but it took really long (upto 3-4 pm in the afternoon) to get rooms cleaned and frequently towels were not renewed. Pool is great but lacks sufficient beds to sunbathe for the guests.
Still, we highly recommend this resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dusault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Dusault,

Million thanks for your recent posting in Tripadvisor!

I will definitely share your comments to all my team.

1) As for the Restaurant service, my apology for the delayed in delivering your food. We are now increasing our manning guide in order to meet with our services to our guests.
2) Housekeeping - We have taken your comment and will further enhance our services. We are investigating to why the towels are not delivered on time.
3) Pool - We are in the process of adding more sun beds.

Thanks for your positive recommendation and hope to hear from you soon.

Regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here 5 days in the beginning of March and liked our stay very much. We arrived on my birthday. My husband sent an email to arrange flowers and a cake which was perfectly arranged by one of the staff members. Our pool access room was wonderful. The bathroom is very big with a seperate shower and big jacuzzi like bath. Lotions, shampoos, soaps are wonderful too. We stayed in room 3105, which gives access to the pool from your room, but close to a small bridge which leads to the island in the pool where the sunbeds are. Rooms are all located around the pool which gives the resort a litlle a secluded closed feel, but for us it was ok. Sometimes the noise of the fountains was a little too much for us on a day we stayed at the pool a long time, but not a big issue. We think some trees could be trimmed a little as they grow out of proportion. Yes, you will see mosquitoes, but in Chiang Mai you can not avoid them. We were not bitten by them in the hotel or outside our room. Breakfast area (restaurant) was a little quiet, but breakfast options were fine. Best fresh papaya every morning! We also found the bus service to and from town very adequate. Yes, it is not in the centre, but with the transfer service, for us no problem, All the staff members were very kind. We did experience some evening noise from bars in the neighbourhood. Hotel can not do anything about it, we suppose, but it kept us from sleeping one night. We really had a very nice stay and can recommend the hotel for people who are looking for something different, luxury, quietness, wonderfull rooms and kind staff!!

Room Tip: choose the pool access rooms. They are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jeanine01,

Thanks for your recent posting in Tripadvisor!

Really glad to hear that you really enjoyed bits of your stay and your positive comment will be shared among our team. I am sure it will bring up the morale even higher for them to perform better.

Let us know if you have already planning to visit us again. We shall all be looking forward to your next visit.

Have a good day!

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We (2 adults + 1 child) stayed at KP for 3 nights in one of the 94 sqm Lanna villas. That was a great deal well worth the extra 50USD/night for enjoying full privacy, private garden, outdoor jacuzzi, massage tables and steam room. KP site is well kept, the room service spotless, the breakfast royal (bit weak on the pastries though), the staff very friendly and access to downtown made hassle free thanks to the KP shuttle bus (book it well in advance especially on WE) or you can always book a cab through the front desk. KP is close to everything: 15 min to downtown, markets and airport; 30-45 min to major attractions such as Tiger Kingdom, Elephant farms, etc...Next to KP is Khum Khantoke (see Trip Advisor review) combining traditional Lanna dances and north Thai food located just next to KP. It opens at 6:30 PM daily; showtime is 7:45 PM until 9:30 PM. Cost you 490 THB for a fairly touristic but enjoyable and relaxing evening in the open. Don't miss it if you are staying at KP and book in advance coz it is getting quiet popular. Cost for 4 days/3nights at KP +activities + F&B + transport = 700 USD

Room Tip: for small family just go for one of the 4 Lanna Villas for more space and full privacy. Kids can mes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gekk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Gekk0,

Thanks for your recent posting in Tripadvisor and we are all so happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay with us.
Your positive comment will surely be shared among our team and I am sure this will further gives them more energy and positive thinking to work even harder.
Over here we are looking forward to your next visit and please do not hesitate to contact us again should you need further assistance.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed at this resort for 4 nights. A wonderful place to stay with very attentive staff. There is a huge pool with bar in the centre of the resort. Spa facilities are also fantastic. The hotel provides a shuttle bus service into the centre of town, which is only minutes away. Nothing was too much trouble. All of the staff, especially in the dining room provided excellent service. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have balconies which overlook the pool. Ground floor are pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel57_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Nigel57_11,
Thank you so much for your recent posting and we do really appreciated your time taken to write about us.
We are glad to hear that you are very content during your stay here and will share your comments to our team.
We do look forward to welcome you back here soon.
Best regards.
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our first stop was a 4 night stay in Chiang Mai at the Khum Paya Resort and Spa. We are a family of five so booked 2 rooms. Unfortunately the fold out bed the hotel provided for one of my teenagers was hard and did not have a mosquito net above it. He was badly bitten on the first night (I covered him in mosquito repellant for the next 3 nights). Most of rooms are set around and facing a stunning pool and some of the ground level rooms open up onto the pool. We had 1st floor rooms 5209 and 5210 that had balconies facing the pool and the entrance to the room faced a road. A construction site opposite the hotel woke us up early in the morning and a Thai bar with live music kept us awake until 2am most mornings. The rooms were spacious and well serviced and the bathrooms big. The staff were friendly, the breakfast buffet adequate and the shuttle service to the night bazaar a bonus. I can highly recommend the following experiences - 1) a trip to the local food market and Thai cooking class with Basil healthy Thai cooking school (ask that Benz gives your class. She is absolutely stunning and has a brilliant sense of humor)
2) a jungle trek on elephant back with Chiang-Dao elephant camp 3) a walk down Nimmanhemin Road to visit quaint book stores, lovely boutiques (down the side streets) and my best coffee experience at Ristr8to coffee shop 4) a taxi driver and professional guide called Ram (+66) 085-1415-258. We caught the10am hotel shuttle to the drop off point in town and then climbed in to Ram's cab to get to Nimmanhemin Road. He was great! I told him I wanted to try Mango and Sticky rice and when he picked us up after our morning shopping he had a portion in the cab! the best 100 Bhat I had spent all day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing pool, closer to the restaurant and not on main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear JX114,

Thank you very much for your time taken to write your comment here. I do really appreciated it and very concern about your comment. We will take your comments as a very constructive one and will look for alternative on a stand alone mosquito nets for an extra bedding. As for the noise of the next door construction, we are building our very own convention centre which will be ready by beginning of 3rd quarter and all the major work has been completed. All work will be carried on during the day time and not in the early morning or late evening. Nevertheless, we will take extra precaution to your comments that this will not happened on any other day, i.e. to carry on work too early.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again and please do let us know should you have any plans to come back soon. We will be very happy to have you back.

Best regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The bed sheet & pillow were old & not clean. We didnˊt mind they didnˊt change it during our 4-days staying but we found black color stuff moving in the bed/bed sheet...couldnˊt sleep well. Service was bad & we think it was because of poor management. There was one staff in the pool, no towel...she asked us to went back to our room to take the white towel. She was occupied by the internet. Our room was far so we asked again, then she made a phone call to get some towels (they do have brown color for pool). The pool was dirty, the worst one we ever seen before in Thailand. Very noisy in the evening because a local night bazzar is just next to the hotel. Noisy music over 2am on Fri & Sat night (we checked out on Sun).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKLEE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPCChiangMai, General Manager at Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear HKLEE2013,

First of all my sincere apology to you for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay with us.

All these should not be happening at the very first place, the uninviting linen, the service at pool and the not so attentive staff. We have taken your comments very seriously and will be meeting with Departments concern to investigate this issue and to immediately rectify this negative image.

My sincere thanks to you to bring this matter up to us so that we will further enhance a better service and to improve it.

Please do not let this deter you from coming back to use us or any other Centara brand. Let us know when you have plan to visit us again or any other Centara hotels.

Best regards and my personal apology again.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection

Property: Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Address: 137 Moo 5, Chiang Mai-Lampang Road | Nongpaklang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand (Formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection (formerly Prince Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai): Chiang Mai is well-known for its extensive range of hotels, many being high rise within the city centre. Unlike others, Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection aims to deliver a friendly traditional Lanna style resort right to the heart of Chiang Mai. The design and architecture of Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection are based on Lanna (Northern-Thai) traditions and customs, distinctively for the Art of Teak Wood Carving used in the majority of the decorations including the 80-year-old teak wooden roof topping. Plus, in-room furniture and facilities are in Lanna style. The pleasant landscape, conceived from traditional Thai style, which is an assembly of Thai mythological trees and flowers, which some age more than a hundred years, make Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection an unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khum Phaya Resort And Spa Centara Boutique Collection
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing