We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #2 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Spacious, clean and bright rooms, friendly personal service, great food, amazing location (very central and right near the amazing Sunday night market) and unbeatable local knowledge that the owners, couple David and Noy are more than happy to share.

They also helped me organise going on a great tour including white water raftting, elephant riding, bambo rafting, hiking in the mountains, visiting hilltribes and staying the night in a Long Neck (hill tribe) village - an amazing 2 days.

Also wonderful was the time the spent hanging out with David and Noy and their priceless advice on where to go, what to see and how to do it. Their dogs were really cute and friendly , and I was even lucky enough to go for a walk with them and David in the mountains. :)

A wonderful stay that I ended up extending after a few days - I was there for about weeks in the end! Highly recomended for a comfortable, reasonably priced, well located and friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parisa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 657 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

The rooms are quite large, fridge is in all rooms available. Really a nice, quiet and very clean place to stay. Menus and breakfast was excellent! Thanks to Nuy and David for the great time we had at your place and all the help, especially to you David for guiding us through the North of Thailand;-). We´ll come again......See you.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Michaela29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We loved our room at Funky Monkey. It was very clean, the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and tidy, a few of the fixtures getting a bit worn, but nothing to affect your comfort.
The couple who run the place are really friendly, always up for a chinwag and happy to give you help and advice. We only stayed 3 nights, but it felt like longer because our time here was very relaxing.
2 mins walk to the town, the only slight annoyance was the busy road we had to cross to get into town, it took us a couple of days to get the knack of how to cross it with Thai traffic!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n00dles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Funky Monkey was the first stop on our three week family tour of Thailand over Christmas 2010. David and Nuy couldn't have been more helpful. With their knowledge of the area and all the many excursions available, they steered us to some wonderful people and places.
Their guest house is very close to the town centre, but situated in a side street so it's quiet at night. Our room was plenty big enough for all four of us, and the whole place is bright and clean. Nuy's cooking is great and her portions are very generous.
During our trip we stayed in other guest houses, hotels (including 5 star) and beach bungalows, but Funky Monkey stands out as the most friendly and by far the best value for money of the entire trip. They also arranged a taxi to and from the airport for us which was a great help. Would definitely stay there again if in Chiang Mai and would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cudall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed at Funky Monkey Guesthouse for five days (9 to 14 Dec 2010). The owner, David and Nui are an honest couple and very friendly. Rooms were very cosy, huge and clean. Nui is a wondeful cook, both thai & western food prepared by her is totally delicious and comes in a big serving. Fat dog and Mutley were adorable. David as a local guide with FOC brought us to the top of mountain, temple and the tribal village. the places he brought us have a wonderful scenry and it's a good place for people to relax =). We would recommended this place to our friends. A big thank you to David and Nui. See you next times.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimTHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed at Funky monkey Guest House from 9/12/2010-14/12/2010. Guesthouse owners, David and his wife Nuy are very warm,welcoming and hospitality. The room iscosy, very huge and clean. The food prepared by Nuy are very delicious. Most of the days, we had our meal at their restaurant. Next trip, we will definitely stay here! Thank you very much! David and Nuy. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

So glad I choose the funky monkey from the huge selection of guesthouses in chiang mai.I have just had a delightful 14 nights there and would thoroughly reccomend it to anyone . Dave and nuy are delightful hosts who make you really feel at home.daves knowledge of the surrounding hills and the city itself is second to none.the funky monkey does everything it says on the tin! A spotless family run guesthouse with terrific all round value.I am already planning to return in feb 2011.
Steve Gale

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitchcock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 387 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,446 reviews
2.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#2 of 888 in Chiang Mai
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $26 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 1 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing