We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value tours and day trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #2 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel because they we full but I stayed at another place they recommended which worked out well. However I did book several trips via funky monkey and from what I could tell I got a good price on all of them. Really helpful, good value service.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 664 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

This property is a small guesthouse with three very large guestrooms. The oversized accomodations is enhanced by the hearts and souls of the co-owners of this facility.

David and Nui who own and run this property bring a dimension of service, respect, and love of what they do that no other establishment can compare. (at least in my experience)

The property is ideally located in the heart of Chiang Mai and is the best stepping stone to experience all of what is happening downtown as well as a pathway to out into the remote areas for the complete Chiang Mai experince.

The owners give each of their guests personal inside information on what is the best, what is happening, and how to pack it all in during their stay.

I cannot state here what incredible experiences I shared while staying at the Funky Monkey. The people that run it, the people that stayed there, and the relationships that were forged will live long into the future.

Do not miss this place. Even if you don't stay there, stop by and say hello. They'll open their hearts to give you the soul of Chiag Mai and share cup of tea with you too!

Room Tip: I preferred the top room as it gave a view of the city. It takes a few more steps up the satircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

These people go out of there way to make your stay a good one. Inspiring to see a young couple running such a good guest house. Would recommend it to all. Of course we're naught but humble backpackers but it suited us down to the ground.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advencha-Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and could not have been happier with our choice of guesthouse.

Funky monkey is located in the heart of Chiang Mai and is so close to some fantastic places to eat (both on a budget or slightly more expensive). David and Nuy provided excellent tips on places to drink and eat and every recommendation we found that was even better than our expectations.

During our stay David provided some great insider knowledge on Chiang Mai and the Thai culture. The guesthouse is clean and spacious, with fantastic staff but I think David's knowledge on the area puts him a step above any other guesthouse, whilst we were staying he provided tips to both guests staying or even people popping by to see if there was room availability, he really understands what customer service is about. You can hire motorbikes from them (we didn't) but we did witness him helping people plan their routes around Thailand offering advice and recommendations for places to visit.

One of the highlights of our stay was a trip out with Sakon and David to the mountain, we went to a temple off the beaten track away from the tourists and experienced a natural water slide. It was better than any other tour we have been on and great value for money.

We hope to come back again soon and would only ever consider staying at the funky monkey whilst in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroniaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When we first arrived in Chiang Mai on the night train, we gave Dave a call from recommendation of a friend to see if he had any availability unfortunately he did not but was more than happy to refer us to another hotel, asked us to come and see him and even arranged for one of his staff to walk us there. Both Dave and his wife Nuy were so welcoming and he offered to sit down with us and pass on his advise as to which days out in Chiang Mai were the best to do/best value etc.

A few days later, we popped in again to book an elephant tour with him, which turned out to be one of the best days out we have had during our travels and the best price. We also during our time, rented bikes from him which were always in fab condition and no problem, swapped books and we sat down one afternoon and chatted about various bike rides we could do in the surrounding villages to the town ... it was of no benefit to him money or even time wise. They are just a lovely couple of people who want to help every visitor have the best possible time in this busy and beautiful city.

If you have the chance to stay here, I would definitely recommend so, they will make your stay unforgettable I am sure.

Thank you for your help Dave and Nuy we hope to be back soon one day so we can do one of your amazing bike rides that we spoke about :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Basic, but big and clean rooms at a very reasonably price. Most of all, they will help you organize whatever you want to do in Chiang Mai and really want you to enjoy your stay there. All the recommendations were great, so be sure to let them know if you've got free time you want to fill up or if there are specific things you want to do. We arranged the cooking school and elephant trek when we made the reservation, and then they suggested a private tour when we got there which was excellent. Location of the property is good as well, loads of street food and shops just across the moat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franc0phile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend staying at Funky Monkey. Nuy is a national treasure and along with her husband David provide excellent local information. Our room was large and spacious and very light. We had a choice of fan or AC to use, both were effective. Very clean, no mosquitoes. Quiet at night. Shower was nice and bathroom modern. Free bottled water and fruit/sweets a real bonus. It was easy to book, Nuy replied straight away, and she even booked us in another guesthouse close by when our first night was fully booked. Location good, down quiet soi, but very near old city, bars, restaurants etc. Cant wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PixiBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 801 in Chiang Mai
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#8 of 801 in Chiang Mai
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 933 in Chiang Mai
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $25 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 1 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing