We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #1 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here after arriving in Thailand for the first time. David and Nuy arranged the transport from the airport, and the welcome was fantastic. Rooms were very spacious and reasonable. Excellent location, Chiang Mai was such a brilliant place and David and Nuy helped us to make the most of the trip. Cannot rate it high enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    47
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
247
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Funky Monkey was everything advertised and more. We had a wonderful time in Chiang Mai. The Funky Monkey was so close to everything that it made it easy to walk to most restaurants, bars, temples, and markets. David and Nuy arranged excursions that were awesome and very reasonable. Really like that it only had three rooms which made the experience quite intimate and personal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Jac509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm so glad that my boyfriend and I stayed here as our first home in Chiang Mai. Upon arrival from NYC, we were greeted immediately with desperately needed (and delicious) hot coffee, followed swiftly by the friendly attention of Mutley and Fat Dog, two shaggy canines who we quickly came to adore ALMOST as much as David and Nuy, our gracious hosts. Our room was ready ahead of schedule, and was even bigger and cleaner than the pictures. They literally cleaned the room every day of our 10 day stay. The food is really good - I still go back for meals there, which are super tasty and very reasonably priced. A great mix of Thai and English food options.

David and Nuy went way out of their way to help my boyfriend and I get settled in Chiang Mai, where we hope to base ourselves for the next 6 months - 1 year, They booked a hassle-free Laos visa run for me (minibus is the way to go - F** the VIP bus), and helped us find our next longer term digs, and of course organized trips to Chiang Mai FC games, along with countless other tips, directions and recommendations. I do believe, that when my boyfriend was ill recently, it was Fat Dog's lucky powers and smiling face (yes, we took pictures of Fat Dog to show my boyfriend in the hospital) that helped him to make a full recovery.

My only complaint is that now I am too spoiled to enjoy any other guest houses. Those without complimentary liters of water and banana shakes. Those without the ferocious protection of Mutley warding off any street vermin. Those without enough space to practice couples yoga in the room. Those without two permanently smiling hosts who are encyclopedias of Chiang Mai knowledge.

Bottom line - this is more than just a place to stay, it's an amazing part of any Chiang Mai experience. I highly recommend to all!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Funky Monkey when we were in Chiang Mai, and due to the helpful nature of both David and Nuy it was a stress free holiday. They gave us tips on where to go, and even organised some of them for us, along with teaching us a bit about the local culture. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
It was like going and staying with family, only better (no stress). We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door until the moment we left. Fatdog and Mutley were always available for pats, which helps when your missing your own animals.
We usually ate one meal a day there and the meals Nuy prepared were delicious. Everything was always clean and the rooms were nice and large,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time in Chiang Mai. We loved staying at Funky Monkey, thanks to the hospitality of David, Nuy, Mutley and Fad Dog. Service was great, always a clean room. Nuy even puted our shoes outside to dry, so when we got back from a day of walking, our shoes were dry and ready to be used again :-) She also made us a very nice breakfast each morning. David gave us a lot of advice which was so nice. Mutley and Fad Dog gave us a big welcome, day in and out, they are do sweet.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickless_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time in Chiang Mai- all thanks to David and Nuy's fantastic hospitality and valuable advice. Rooms are spacious and very clean with large, comfy beds.

What really made our stay exceptional was the advice we were given about day trips at highly competitive rates. Highly recommend the cookery course and a trip up the mountain organised by David, when we were introduced to a very inspiring character named 'Flute man'! Also hired mopeds from Funky Monkey to explore the northern provinces for a few days - a wonderful experience all thanks to David's detailed knowledge of the surrounding area.

Seriously- if you are considering staying anywhere else in Chiang Mai- don't do it! You will not regret choosing Funky Monkey. Thanks to David and Nuy ( not forgetting the legendary Fat Dog and Mutley) for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Well where do I start about this place. We arrived late on Thursday night (around 11pm) and both David and Nuy were up to greet and welcome us. I think someone got it right in a older review. You don't stay at Funky monkey you come and visit but one thing they did get wrong in the review is you don't visit David and Nuy you go and visit Fatdog and Mutley and as part of the package you get both david and Nuy.

Not only did they make us feel welcome they also assisted us in booking adventures and taxi's. We had the same Taxi driver most of the time which was good because you got to know him on a more personal level and its just one less thing to worry about.

The food is to die for and Nuy cooks everything herself with the freshest foods.

Prior to arrival I contacted Nuy via email a number of times and I don't think I ever waited more than 4 hours for a reply and on these occasions it was due to the time difference between my home country and Thailand's time

If your looking for a Place to stay then you must think about Funky Monkey and when we return to Chiang Mai we WILL return here

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.3 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Property: Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 3.30 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing