We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #2 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we stayed for 5 nights, family of five in one of the big rooms of David and Noi.
funky monkey is very clean, hospitable, friendly. highly recommended.
thankyou david and noi
mey the shwarts be with you.

Shay,Israel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 679 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Haven't found better in Chiang Mai. David and Nuy are great. Helped us every chance they could find. Service is far beyond what I normally expect. Rooms are huge and clean. Many complimentary items provided. No nickel & diming or sales pitching. Best value for money. David is also a champion singer, and the dogs are great company.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Funky Monkey during a far to short stay in Chaing Mai. We were made to feel very welcome and Dave and Nuy helped us with booking some great activities, the Thai Elephant Home and Siam Rice were both top class. Having nice accomodation and excellent tour advise makes this a real must place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights and we had a really great time in Chiang Mai - mainly thanks to Dave! When we arrived, he took us through all the main sites of the city including places to eat and things to see etc. He even recommended (and booked) a cooking class and a jungle trek for us - both of which were awesome. I think without the advice we had, our stay probably would've been no way near as good!

Would definitely recommend to anyone and would certainly stay again!

James & Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We've travelled across Thailand in 2010, came to Chang Mai with no idea where to stay. Choose Funky Monkey only because of funny monkey puppet hanging over the terrace.
After 5 min we realised it was 100% great choice!
Atmosphere was almost like at home! Beautiful people, Dave and Nuy made our trip to Chang Mai!
We're looking for a dorm for 4, got nice room for 3 with an extra bed (which seemed to be a problem in other places)
Very firendly, thoughtful and helpful! Delicious food cooked by Nuy. Both were a great company.
After 3 days we felt like we were living very close family there.

Thanks to Dave and Nuy, Chang Mai is one of our best memories!
Chapeau bas!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo Gasieniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife, my sister in law an I stayed at the hotel for three nights (september 2012). We went there because my brother was there with his wife last year and he highly recommended it. We were not disappointed at all!!
Rooms are really big, wide bathroom, very clean and they do it every day, changing towels as well. Free water and the internet worked very well. The location was perfect, right next to the center of the city. They also have a good restaurant, nice food and proper prices.

But best of all is the couple in charge, David and Nuy. They were willing to help us since the moment we arrived. They gave us good references on everything we wanted to do, included local owned street markets that we wanted to try: most famous local food in Chiang Mai. David even gave us good advices about our future destinations.

I would definitely stay at Funky Monkey if I go back to Chiang Mai. Thanks Nuy and David,

Juan Carlos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jcposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Funky Monkey for three nights, we loved it!!! David and Nuy are great, they helped us with everything, tours, local food recommendations, late check out, shopping tips etc.
The room was big, very clean, great beds, refrigerator, nice shower and the best of all they cleaned our room everyday and changed towels too :)
Excellent restaurant menu option.
I will definitely recommend this guesthouse for anyone going to Chiang Mai.
Dave and Nuy you are doing a great job, congrats!!! say hi to fat dog from me.
Gracias Vivi

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivirip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 403 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
1.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 403 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
0 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 833 in Chiang Mai
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#5 of 833 in Chiang Mai
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#8 of 833 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 833 in Chiang Mai
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $28 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 1 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing