We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service/advice, great value, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #2 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service/advice, great value, very friendly”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

3 of us stayed in august 2012. The guesthouse is run by David, an English expat and 100% blade (Sheffield united fan) and his wife Nuy. They are both incredibly friendly and welcoming. We were offered great advice about the city of Chiang Mai (places to visit/eat etc), had a complimentary beer a day and the room was great. Clean, air con and spacious for a great price. David and his friend Sakorn took us for a day out in the mountains, going to a jungle waterslide, many viewpoints of the city below, a Buddhist temple, a coffee plantation, a hill village and a stop for lunch. It is great value, interesting and eye-opening. We were out for 8 hours and paid probably 15 wide each. If you're a football fan and there on the right day you may be able to go with David to see Chiang Mai FC. We paid 40baht to watch the game which is about 80pence. Great experience. Highly recommend funky monkey, you'd be a fool not to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    48
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
109
249
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've been travelling for the last year so I have stayed in many places and i have to say Funky Monkey is one of the best!
The room had a lot of space and a real calm place with a home from home feel!
The room was clean daily and little extra's in the room like bottled cold water, towels and some shampoo. But if im honest what made my stay so good was the owners for sure, first thing was their great big smile on arriving, very welcoming, made you feel valued as a person not just a number and give help and advice on anything... I was only there a few days but left feeling like just made two great friends!! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yourpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely place, feel almost like home, close to the old city, the market and one minute walk from many tuk-tuks that will take you anywhere you want in beautiful Chiang mai.
Enjoy the happinnes, wisdom and good advice of Nuy & David.
Mostly Recomended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelAviv_IsraelAmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We couldn't actually get a room at Funky Monkey as they were fully booked. Instead, they referred us to the Elegant Lanna guesthouse round the corner (which was also great). However, we popped into Funky Monkey almost every day to ask advice and book trips. Nuy and David arranged an excellent elephant "mahout training" experience for us, and helped us book our slow boat to Laos. David also took us to a waterfall to walk his dogs and he showed us a natural water slide which was great fun. During this trip, the UV filter on my camera got damaged (slippy rocks!) and David took it upon himself to scout out a new one for me in Chiang Mai. David and Nuy are incredibly helpful and are more than happy to help out if they can. Stay here if you can!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with my husband and 3 children. Took david's advice and went to Pie by minibus. Great experience.
the room and beds were comfortable, the breakfast was nice.
Location is great. Nuy & David very honest people. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilanalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and 3 kids and had a fabulous time in Chiang Mai. David and Nuy were very organised - from first contact and email correspondence to airport pick up to advice and guidance on local eateries and activities, they were great. It was lovely to have the space for us all to stay together - the room we had was easily large enough to accommodate all 5 of us and very good value compared to other places we stayed on the trip. Can't over-estimate the difference it makes to be made so welcome. David and Nuy took us out - to watch Chiang Mai FC - a very unusual and memorable experience for a holiday in Thailand - and they made us feel very welcome. We also went out with David for a trip into the mountains with Fat Dog and Mutley which was fantastic fun (if terrifying when sliding into the waterfall pool!) and largely off the beaten track. Thanks so much to both of you for making our Chiang Mai visit a real highlight of our trip :0))

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

What can I say, These pair make your stay as stress free and fun. A great combination of British and Thai seems to make a real difference in this city. Nuy cooks the most delicious foods and has local insider knowledge whereas David has travelled so much he could write a book. The prices are very reasonable and the rooms are HUGE. I would highly recommend anyone to pay a visit. Thank you so so much Guys.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and they are identical so you don;t have to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 826 in Chiang Mai
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Property: Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 3.30 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing