We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great stay an the Monkey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Ranked #1 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“another great stay an the Monkey”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Just completed another stay at the Funky Monkey, i love the rooms large and spacious with comfortable beds. Nueys cooking is excellent and David has a large knowledge about Chiang Mai and the surrounding area.
I booked some good trips via Nuey who gave me honest advice, loved the cooking course and trecking, would go back again with no hesitation, well recomended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miketurner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    47
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
247
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

If you've read the other reviews it will come as no shock to hear that the rooms at Funky Monkey are faultless. I stayed in 3 Hotels/Guesthouses during my month long stay & visited many more. Dont tell Nuy but she could charge a bit more for the quality that she provides.
If you like good thai food, but western portions, she can make that wok "rock". Also if you occasionally crave for a good old fry up or pork chops & mash, not a problem.
By far the best part of my trip was the effortless way that David managed to turn that little part of the soi into a community. Funky Monkey only has 3 letting rooms so make sure that you book in advance. If you just turn up they will try & find you nearby accomodation & give you help & advice on places to visit, according to your needs. If you want a motorbike, they've got plenty!
David does'nt just live in Chiang Mai.... He loves it. He spends as much time as he can outdoors, with the dogs, in the most beautiful countryside that you can imagine. This rubs off on guests & customers and before long there are six or seven of us spending the day visiting hilltribes(how crazy is flute man & crossbow man), temples off the tourist track, waterfalls & caves etc. We even went camping one night on an amazing river beach in the wilderness. David likes his fires!
If you prefer the official trips then David can help you with things that are not on the normal itineries. The cookery course at Siam Rice was excellent value for money, but if you do nothing else then please ask David to organise a Microlight trip for you. Its breathtaking!
So, all in all I really enjoyed my first trip to Thailand. Would it have been as good if I had'nt met Nuy, David , his guests & friends. NO WAY!!!
" It is better to travel hopefully than to arrive disenchanted"

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank properchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

After leaving the craziness of Bangkok, I wasn't sure if Id made the right decision in going to yet another rather large city. But the minute I walked into Funky Monkey, I knew my trip to Chaing Mai was going to be amazing!!!! This place is one of a kind in many ways. First, the rooms are huge and very clean. Then there are the dogs-Mutley and FatDog- who are so sweet and completely chill. But what makes this house a HOME is the owners-David and Nuy. Nuy is welcoming and cooks tasty, authentic Thai food. One night, she even took the guests and me to her family's home - it was an unbelievable experience to see the "real" Thailand!! David is such a character. Going into the beautiful Thai mountains with he and the two dogs-all on one motorcycle- was one of the highlights of my trip. The other guests at Funky Monkey were also super friendly- its hard not to be in a good mood at this guesthouse!!! STAY AT FUNKY MONKEY- if you like to smile, you'll love staying here!!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rachel88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

As I said on trip advisor last december my stay at the funky monkey was memorable,so I decided to check it out again in january 2011 and was not dissapointed in any aspect of my stay which was for three weeks.I actually felt a bit sorry for dave and nuy because while I was there They had to turn numerous travellers down who wanted to stay at the funky monkey.I thought if they had more rooms they could easily expand their business,but then again I thought that thats what makes it so special.Its so homely.The tours from the guest house are comparably very good value too

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitchcock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Funky Monkey Guesthouse, if you are lucky enough to get a room there, houses a few VERY spacious, VERY clean, VERY cozy rooms. On top of this is a HOT shower, with great water pressure, that you don't have to crouch down to get under. Our room had two beds, a fridge, a TV, a couch area to lounge in, nice natural light, and an immaculate bathroom.

While it may be the great rooms that bring you there, what keeps you there are the fabulous owners of the guesthouse, David and Nui, who welcome you like family into their home. They serve delicious food, with a smile. They bend over backwards to accomodate you. They can arrange any trip or course you'd like to take, and transportation to get there. Best of all though, are the suggestions, for those adventurous types who'd like to get to the places less traveled. If you are really lucky, David may even take you there. (If he offers to take you on a day tour up the mountain, you would be crazy not to accept!)

Whether you are a first-time traveler wanting a comfortable place to stay with hosts that can help you plan your days, or a seasoned traveler wanting a quality accomodation at affordable prices to use as a home base, I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is the most amazing guesthouse I have ever stayed in. Not only are the rooms huge and impecably clean but the hosts David and Nuy are up there with some of the nicest people I have ever met in my life!

A testament to how amazing this place is, is the fact that people who arent even staying there sit and talk with David and Nuy all day just because they are so great and so helpful. Myself and my partner booked all of our tours through them and their knowledge and advise is spot on.

Also, the location could not be better. Just on the moat, close to all of the sights.

As there are only three guestrooms, I recommend booking early. The night we left, people were queuing up for our room.

Even if in later life I am an millionaire and can afford any place in the world, I would make sure that if I were going back to Chiang Mai, I would stay at Funky Monkey.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteBritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights in February 2011. I wish I could have stayed for longer. David Noy are the most friendly hosts we have come across in 3 months of travelling SE Asia. Both of them have incredibly useful local knowledge of the area and where to see and what to avoid.

The rooms are massive and are very clean. As there are only 3 rooms you get a very personal service. The food that Noy cooks is also great.

We also booked a trip to an elephant camp and a cookery course through them and for both went with their recommendations and were not dissappointed.

Would love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonddavewalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.3 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.7 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours

Property: Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours
Address: 1/13 Chaiyapoom Soi 1, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huge clean rooms with private bathroom, all our rooms can sleep between 2 & 5 people & they are all sold as private rooms . We also serve food from 8 am - 3.30 pm & have complimentary items for our guests inc unlimited drinking water, morning drink & fresh fruit. We are also licensed to sell tours & offer honest advice - along with great discounts where ever possible ( up to 400b per person discount ). We offer own own private tour ( Highly rated for those who like a non touristic experience ). Our aim is to help guests & non guests enjoy there time here in Chiang Mai & we always try our best to help. We always give honest answers to any questions !! : ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Funky Monkey Guesthouse & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing