We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value with exceptional staff, comfy rooms and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Junior Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Junior Guest House
Ranked #28 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent value with exceptional staff, comfy rooms and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Such great value for money, we're budget travellers and we got a clean and comfortable room with tv and wifi for 300B per night. The staff were brilliant, Jeff was a huge help! Their food is also great value and very tasty, especially the Pad Thai and banana pan cakes! Would definitely recommend this as place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdrefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    102
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
22
173
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Absolutely fantastic, Jeff and Fine are the most amazing hosts, always helpful, friendly and full of ideas. Suki is also a great guy and so helpful. We visited over a year ago and still haven't forgotten this place out of hundreds of hostels. Really made our trip to Chiang Mai and we will definitely go back!

Oz and Lara, guests 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozman_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked in for 3 nights and ended up staying 10! All the staff made you feel right at home and could not help you enough. Jeff and his wife plus Sukki and the rest of the team were fantastic and helped us with anything.

The food in the restaurant was great value and very tasty. The strawberry smoothie and pancakes were amazing.

The rooms were clean and cleaned regularly, this included fresh towels and linen on request.

There was a safe environment which made us feel at ease and the 24 hour reception was an added bonus.

Tucked away in a side street it was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle but still within walking distance to some great local food markets, restaurants and temples.

When we return to Chiang Mai we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam34Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

stayed here as part of our honeymoon....this was the only guest house we stayed in, we stayed in some 5* places. It was lovely to stay here, feeling like they cared about your stay rather than being just a number in a big hotel. We booked trips when got there and all staff were always very very friendly and helped us out. Picked us up & dropped back at airport. Food was really yummy too. My mum emailed to stay we were on our honeymoon and we got roses in the room & a fresh basket of fruit which was a lovely touch. Location is good not far from anything. Yes room is quite basic, but for £10 a night for a double room with ensuite it is what we expected. Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and my girlfriend have been staying at Junior guesthouse for the past week and really couldn't have wished for anything more. We arrived after a nightmare 36 hour journey and were made to feel at home straight away (even though it was 2am!) All the staff are so friendly and helpful and really go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay in Chiang Mai Jeff and Fine the owners are always happy to talk, whether it's about things to do, places to see or just to have a chat. When we woke up on the first morning Sake (who has a great sense of humour!) sat down with us, gave us a map of Chiang Mai recommended lots of places to see and visit and made sure we knew how to get back! They have a tour agency within the guesthouse so you can book many things directly through them and they also arranged a motorbike for us (would definately recommend doing this) which was dropped to the guesthouse. The rooms are a good size with fan or aircon, TV, private bathroom and small outdoor terrace. They also have a roof terrace with sun loungers and a jacuzzi! The guesthouse is in a perfect location within the old city and walking distance from many restaurants bars markets and tourist attractions. It is VERY reasonably priced for what you get not only facility wise but also service.
So Thank You Jeff, Fine,Sake and Chang for making our stay in Chiang Mai so fun and enjoyable! We'd recommend Junior Guesthouse to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieT200589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

From the moment we arrived here, we were made to feel so welcome! Amazing people run this place, who make your stay here so much better. They were happy to drive us anywhere for a small fee and gave us good local knowledge on what to do and where to go.
The day I left, I did a mountain bike ride and got pretty dirty - I had already checked out (but had my bags still here) but I was still welcome to have a shower before my flight.
The rooms have everything you need, clean, comfortable and aircon. Highly recommend this place - I will be staying there again if ever in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffyBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great place to stay as it is very close to loads of bars and restaurants. The staff are really friendly and the food served downstairs in the restaurant is really tasty and for a good price. The rooms are well kept and the atmosphere is great from the staff and visitors. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaniehillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#34 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#40 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#71 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#51 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#19 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junior Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junior Guest House

Property: Junior Guest House
Address: 21 Soi 1 Rachapakinai Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Junior Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Junior Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sk House Junior Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing