We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for value”
Review of Junior Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Junior Guest House
Ranked #27 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for value”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Staff were great and helpfull, nice location, good value for price. There were lockers in lobby -not in room, you need a lock. They took us from the airport for free after we asked them one day ahead.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    102
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
22
175
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I don't think I have gotten snobby in my older (below 30 still!) age however having stayed in hostels for 6 months traveling elsewhere in years previous I found this hostel to be slightly below what I was hoping for.

First the positives, the staff were friendly and keen to help. They did not push us to book activities and were very capable of booking us on the trips we did want. The food was good considering the size of the hostel offering a variety of options to choose from. The location in the old city was good to get around the area on foot whilst also being close enough to hail a tuk-tuk if required.

On the negative, the room...although spacious with a TV with plenty of channels and air con was very basic, on top of this the bathroom wasn't very nice especially since the plug for the water in the shower was non-existent just leaving a hole in the floor. The rooms themselves are all off long corridors with mesh/material top walls which while not a problem for us could be if any noisy groups are around or any smokers. The worst thing about the room though was a mini infestation (probably too strong a word) of ants, which we found crawling around our room, bed and bathroom. By infestation I'm talking about 20-30 ants but still enough to put us off After some serious use of 95% DEET the ants did not return but our opinion had already been tainted.

In conclusion I wouldn't recommend staying here personally and after speaking with other travelers in Chiang Mai know there are better alternatives

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed in Junior Guest House with my boyfriend whilst travelling for two nights! It was clean, with good wifi, a good bed and tv. The balcony in our room was basically a brick wall with holes in the top. It was a five minute walk from the Sunday night walking market which was good and the staff were really friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I booked only for 1 night and ended up staying for 4. I really enjoyed my stay at Junior house. It is not expensive to stay here and the rooms are excellent considering how low the cost is.

I found the room to be clean to a very high standard and I could not fault anything about the room. The bed was very comfortable and there was no outside noise ensuring a good nights sleep. They have a choice of both fan and air con rooms. They offer free wifi and it worked perfectly from my laptop up in the room.

The staff here are very helpful and friendly. They suggested places to go to visit and organised tuktuks and activities for me whenever I asked them. They were never pushy and trying to get me to buy tours etc like some places I've stayed at. They explained all the good places to eat and pointed out the places of interest on the map. Everything is walking distance but you can get the red taxi's around town, they are dirt cheap.

If I come to Chang Mai I would stay here again without hesitation and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet and there is no street noise as its in a quiet street off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The rooms are large and spacious and have satellite tv, comfy beds and even a little balcony. The only thing missing for us was air conditioning, but we had a fan above our bed wich was ok, as the rooms are very cheap. What really made this hotel special was the excellent staff, who would help you with anything and give you really great recommendations for your stay in chaing mai and also you could sit and have a laught with them in the hotels restaurant. Suki is crazy.......in a good way!!
Defenatly recommend this hotel to everyone who visits Chang mai.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

i totally recommend this place! the ppl who work here will help you with absolutely everything and offer the nicest chats ever, the rooms are spacious, perfectly clean and generally the whole place has a great atmosphere. you feel they care about u as if you were a family member they havent seen long and missed. amazing.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Igling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Jeff and Suki are amazing! They helped us plan tours and inform us about the area. Rooms are big and clean. Love that they always remembered your name and joked aroynd with you. Jeff even went out to get us some Khao Soi to try when we asked about it.Overall one of the best guesthouseswe have stayed at. Would for sure stay there again if we ever return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#34 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#45 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#74 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#52 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#20 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junior Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junior Guest House

Property: Junior Guest House
Address: 21 Soi 1 Rachapakinai Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Junior Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Junior Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sk House Junior Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing