We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“baan nud-kun: heaven in chiang mai”
Review of Baan JaJa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan JaJa
Ranked #83 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We stayed in Baan Nud-Kun for 5 weeks in 2009. After trying a few other guest houses in Chiang Mai Old City, we were lucky to find Baan Nud-Kun which was very peaceful, quiet and so so clean. Tao, the lady who runs this place with her husband, is a great, helpful person. She gives free water in glass bottles every day, free coffee or herbal teas. there is free wi-fi and rent-a-bike service. I felt so much at home at this place that I really miss it now !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Baan JaJa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 303 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

I agree wholeheartedly with all the previous reviews!!!! We stayed at Baan Nud-Kun because I saw the first 2 reviews on Trip Advisor. Each reviewer since then has spoken the truth. It's a fantastic little bit of green seclusion in the heart of Chiang Mae. Tao and her husband make you feel like you've arrived at the home of your favourite aunt and uncle!! That and all the little personal touches raise this guest house above the others. Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowtravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Hearing the birds in the middle of the city doesn't happen very often, here you wake up with them, Tao is he most helpful owner we've seen. Very clean and a lot of details that make your stay very confortable

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heliblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I've done a lot of traveling and Baan Nud-Kun is by far the best guesthouse/hostel I've been to. First off, it's the ONLY guesthouse that looks like the pictures. An excellent deal for the price. Nud-Kun is the only guesthouse with fluffy towels, bottled water for free, free fruit, and such a helpful staff.

I think the best part is actually the owners themselves. They really care about the guesthouse and want their guests to be completely happy and enjoy their experience in Chiang Mai. In Baan Nud-Kun, I don't feel like I'm in a guesthouse. I feel like I'm in Tao's house.

Thanks for everything!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

i really enjoy staying here the rooms are clean and comfortable and a good price.
there's a fridge in the common area, that's really handy and the staff are very friendly and help full. it feels like coming home every time we stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristinwilson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We can recommended this place very much, We wanted to stay for a couple off weeks in chiang mai and that's why we spent 1 day (and saw 8 guesthouses) to make a choice for a nice place. The sphere is so good because the friendly owners and what they made from it.
it's a little oase in the crowded old squatter. Perfect to chill out in the beautiful garden with chilly hammocks. you can eat your own breakfast in the morning and enjoy from a cup off tea from the house. Nothing seen before like this in chiang mai, we were very glad we found it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brambraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We have been travelling for 10 months and this place is probably our favourite guest house. We have already stayed here twice and returning after a trip to Pai felt like coming home. Great value rooms - we have stayed in both types of fan room and both are equally nice, you simply pay slightly more to have your shower and toilet separate. They are clean and spacious with comfy beds and soft pillows. You get fluffy towels and blankets and free bottles of water when you need them. The rooms are pretty quiet and for a guest house of this type the walls not too thin. There is little noise from the surrounding area with no nearby bars to worry even though it's situated just a minute's walk from the Sunday Walking street and Ta Phae Gate and easily walkable to all the Wats. The only noise is from the odd dog barking and the birds.

The communal area is lovely, with wicker hammocks, lots of plants and greenery. It's a wonderfully calm place to relax after a day's sightseeing/shopping. There's free fruit all day and free coffee/tea/hot chocolate etc. There's also a fridge, microwave and toaster. No breakfast but it's easy to provide your own considering the facilities. It costs to use the computers but there is free wifi if you have your own lap top. It's also the only guest house we have come across in SE Asia that recycles.

BUT having said all that the best thing about Baan Nud Kun is Tao and her husband who are delightful. They are both extremely keen not only to make sure their guests have a great time but also to make sure their guests pass on any travelling tips to each other. They are a great source of local information. Tao speaks fantatsic English and had travelled widely through Asia and the rest of the world. She knows what travellers want and need. She is really funny and has some great stories to tell and has a wry sense of humour, especially when talking about fellow Thais and their culture.

Come here if you want somewhere quiet where the atmopshere encourages guests to show consideration for each other. Don't come here if you want a drunken party every night in the courtyard. It won't be long before you have to book this place months in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#45 of 776 in Chiang Mai
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#21 of 776 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#27 of 776 in Chiang Mai
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#49 of 776 in Chiang Mai
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 776 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#12 of 888 in Chiang Mai
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan JaJa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan JaJa

Address: 7/3 Ratchadamnoen Road Soi 1 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Baan Nud-Kun)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan JaJa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top among its kind, we offer value-for-money accommodation and great service. Our location is hard to beat: a 3-minute walk from Tha Pae Gate, and in a walking distance to local markets, banks, restaurants, and the city's main attractions, Wat Jedi Luang, Wat Phra Singh, Tha Pae Boxing Stadium to name a few. Guests stay during the weekend can also enjoy the renowned Sunday walking street practically right next door. We offer you both air-conditioned and fan rooms, all with en-suite bathroom (shampoo and soap provided), blankets and towels. Free services include FREE WIFI available in the room and public area, FREE one bottle of drinking water per person per day, FREE coffee and tea in our common area, with a common refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a toaster. Other service with minimal charges include laundry, computer/printing service, and tour bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Baan JaJa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Nud-Kun Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing