We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Old Chiangmai Cultural Center tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
74
102
63
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
102
63
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khantoke dinner cultural show sit on the floor hill tribe dinner show traditional dance northern thai food folk dances thai music fried chicken northern thailand local culture stage dishes fingernails introduction spicy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really recommend visiting the Cultural Center in your first days in Chiang Mai to get to know a little more of all that you will be experiencing and understand the culture better. Either way your experience in Chiang Mai will be a lovely one because it is just such a city... where everything is All Right if you let it!

Thank Upekkhapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Khun Upekkhapr

Thank you very much for your compliment. We will keep improving our service for your next visit at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center krub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I attended the dinner and dance show. We didn't know what to expect but wanted to try something different. We were able to buy tickets at the venue the evening of the show. We arrived about 40 mins before the dance show started. We were seated and served our dinner right away. It was a cool experience to eat on the floor and the food was ok. I was surprised that the dinner did not reflect the flavorful dishes easily available throughout Thailand. We received rice, stew, bolognese, fried chicken, raw and sauteed veggies, and fried banana. The dance show had cultural dances from throughout Thailand. It was slower-paced music and simpler dances than what I expected. Others probably thought so as well since there was bit of background chatter throughout the show.

1  Thank Rouella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Khun Rouella R,

Thank you for your review. We will keep improving our service for your next visit krub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dinner is included in our tour package. The dinner is an interesting way to introduce visitors to Chiang Mai's (Lanna) culture. Dinner is served in a traditional way with guests seated on the floor and there are also tables and chairs for 'farangs' who are not used to sit and eat on the floor. The dances are a mix of interesting dances and mediocre ones. Serving staff were friendly and helpful.

1  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Khun Elaine L,

Thank you very much for your compliment. We will keep improving our service for your next visit krub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

If you want to have an authentic evening with thai food, thai dancers and thai music this is the place to be. Don’t look anywhere else.

1  Thank Endel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Dear Khun Endel V

Thank you very much for your compliment. We will keep improving our service for your next visit krub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We bought the show with food, this Was ok all you can eat fron the 6 dishes that they will give you, the drinks not included not even water, and expensive

1  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear Khun richard m,

On behalf of Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, we appreciate your comment.

We are considering our beverage policy to make our guests more satisfied.

We look forward for your revisit in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

............... because we first visited in 1977 and have returned several times with different family members and friends.
I would have liked to speak to someone instead of writing this review but the way we were processed in, through and out did not facilitate this.
The operation is very efficient with hotel pick up and return and the staff we met were friendly and courteous.
The meal was fine.
The audience continued to talk when the dancing begins meaning that we could not hear the announcer so did not understand or appreciate the dances. Maybe the lights could be dimmed more with brighter spotlights on the stage. If the announcer actually appeared on the stage he/she could interact with the audience more creating a better atmosphere.
The dancers themselves looked like they would prefer to be somewhere else.
For the first time in our visits there were some tribal dances included at this point which made me wonder if they would not be dancing round the fire in another room as in previous visits. They didn’t. Instead we were presented with two quick tribal dances and a fire eater with a backdrop of the car park - hurried with little respect for the audience the three things lasted for maybe seven minutes. No tribal bamboo pole dance - such as disappointment.
We came away with our expectations shattered.
After forty one years we still love the city of Chiang Mai but this will be our last visit the Old Chiang Mai Cultural Centre.

1  Thank manorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Khun manorom,

My name is Saranakom Chutima. I am the 3rd generation who is running this family business which opened in 1971.

On behalf of Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, I did apologise for what happens with your recent visit. Could you please give me more details about the date that you visit? So that I can check and improve our service especially about our dancers. You can email me more details directly to saranakom@cmi-cc.com so that I can call you for your suggestion later.

When you visited us in 1977 which was run by my grand parents, there was a hill tribe village in our center which you saw performance there. Then we moved the hill tribe performance in hill tribe hall in 1982. We just moved the hill tribe performance to indoor in 2015.

We will improve our service and hope you might give us a chance for your next visit in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

The dance show is about two hours and done by super sweet dancers that perform a great variety of Thai dances (also of local tribes).
For each dance they wear a different traditional outfit and you get a written English guide with extra info regarding every single dance.

The food was not amazing but good (probably very adapted to the western guests), especially the banana fritters.
You get a tray with several Thai dishes and desserts. Drinks have to be purchased extra.
Vegetarian and halal menus are available.

The staff was very caring, always with a smile.
During the show it’s also possible to take photos , videos etc.

All in all a great night, super interesting, we learned a lot about the different traditions and the history of Siam and the ethnic minorities.
I just take one point off because we didn’t appreciate the food too much but this is not the main reason to come here, since you come for the show etc.

Thank Helena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Khun Helena Z,

On behalf of Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, thank you very much for your compliment.

We did adapt some of our food to the western guests taste. However, we will improve our service and our food for your next visit krub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Very interesting place to visit. Very nice place to see the real Thai culture on Walking Street. Worth a stop for a look see.

Thank Macon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Khun Macon D

Thank you very much for your compliment. We will keep improving our service for your next visit krub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

The food was fantastic! Smorgasbord expect they bring it to you. The show was a little too much for our boys aged 13 & 15 and they got bored. It was hard to hear what they were saying introducing each dance.

Thank daveandrach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

The dances were stiff and tired. The food was edible, but with so much great food out there it was a disappointment. While it was fun to sit on the floor in a more traditional Thai dinner manner, it was disappointing that throughout the show there was a constant traffic of people coming in, ordering more food, and generally standing in front of our seats. The theater was loud with chatter and clatter making it difficult to hear the music as well. If you are looking for a traditional dance show, I would recommend finding a place that puts that first, as opposed to attempting to be too many things.

1  Thank PhillipPirrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranakom C, Owner at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Khun PhillipPirrip,

My name is Saranakom Chutima. I am the 3rd generation who is running this family business which opened in 1971.

On behalf of Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, I did apologise for what happens with your recent visit. If it is possible, could you please give me more details about the date that you visit? So that I can check and improve our service especially about our food, our shows and our service policy. You can email me more details directly to saranakom@cmi-cc.com.

We will improve our service and hope you might give us a chance for your next visit in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews