We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too expensive, interesting evening”

Old Chiangmai Cultural Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A chance to experience a traditional northern Thai style khantoke dinner with both Lanna cultural dancing shows and original hill-tribe culture shows Our khantoke dinner includes the following dishes Crispy pumpkin as our appetizer and the main course as follows: 1.Tomato chilli paste with chicken 2.Green chilli paste (omitted for foreigners due to spiciness however may be requested) 3.Burmese/Lanna pork curry 4.Crispy Pork 5.Fried Chicken 6.Stir fried vegetables 7.Sweet crispy noodles Served with fresh and boiled vegetables with the both the option of sticky rice and white rice. Desert is fresh watermelon and pineapple and the choice of either coffee or tea. No other drinks are included Each khantoke is a buffet style dinner with the dishes refilled by our serving staff. All our guests have to do is sit back, relax enjoy the food, live northern Thai music, and our shows!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not too expensive, interesting evening”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this option as they offered free hotel pick up and seemed smaller and more intimate. It was, nonetheless, very touristy. The food was interesting but mediocre. We had a nice private table on the floor right near the stage - I would recommend reserving ahead for a good seat. The music and dancing were interesting and we enjoyed the evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    123
    67
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Okay”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice view,nice show but not have to visit there
Food were not very nice , but can refill freely and i chosen chicken one...

Helpful?
Thank vannico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We just got back from the show and I would def. not recommend this to anyone. We were excited when we first got there- sat in the floor in the cute setting. The food was okay- nothing special but not terrible. The show however was absolutely terrible- looks like it was put together by a bunch of kids. Don't waste your time- going to a normal restaurant is a much better option

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FA1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhantokeOCCC, General Manager at Old Chiangmai Cultural Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
The staff at the Old Chiang Mai cultural center realize it has been some time since you have left your review. We have recently learnt how to respond to the reviews left our page and would like to use this opportunity to invite you back to have the khantoke dinner with us if given the chance that you are back in Chiang Mai.

Most of the performances we have in our first part of shows are done by students currently studying at Chiang Mai's College of Dramatic Arts. Thank you for your review, will use your remarks to further improve what is offered here at the Old Chiang Mai Cultural Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok dancing but not a must-go”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visited in Dec 2013 - they served the Khantoke which involved a meal (sitted on the floor) with a few Thai food dishes (refill as you like) and traditional live music and dance. I like the music bit, but the dance is not very exciting. Have seen better in Cambodia. We didn't get to see the Hill Tribe show though - maybe it's better?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrscamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really a nice show”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a must need to do for the experience of getting a taste of Thailand. The food is ok, included a variety of dishes (yam fries, KFC style chicken, rice, sweet rice, veggie noodles, chicken curry), but the entertainment is what is the best.
Dinner and first part of show, the traditional dances, was served indoor because of the weather in Feb, badly polluted.
There was two show. The first show which took place outside while eating dinner consisted of traditional northern Thai dance. The second show took place in a stage and consisted of hill tribes’ dance and performance.
It is as collectively beautiful and graceful as a major ballet.
I think this would be a great event and I definitely recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Chiangmai Cultural Center also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Old Chiangmai Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing