We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not happy with this place”
Review of The Mountain House

The Mountain House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mountain House
Ranked #454 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not happy with this place”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

booked the room for a month looked fine looking at the website, have been here for only 4 days and i am checking out maybe i will loose my deposit.? with out giving any negative feedback from my experience most of the rooms have no curtains, internet is on and mostly off and in the lobby the internet does not work as the two computers are infected with a virus and outdated. As for trying to sleep
on a rockhard mattress not easy, unless you have been drinking chang or leo beer all night, plus most of the rooms for the farangs have no curtains. can find many good deals only 4min walk from here however they dont have websites to find online. The plus side many local shops can eat good Thai food but very expensive going into town will charge 80 to 120 baht one way depending on the time of day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joggy1138967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

hotel was fine , people was very helpful , the rate is pretty good if you stay for a month. room was nice with ac tv and a fridge, greta location if you dont want to be around bars and drunk tourist.. many places to eat cheap and good.. i was very happy and i will come back again next year

Room Tip: if you want to be in a nice area ,in a real thai place..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazspaininaltea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have stayed there at the end of last year for almost 3 month. The rooms serve the purpose, nothing fancy, bed table, wardrobe, fridge/freezer, bathroom and balcony. It is not 5 star luxury, but it was very functional on a budget. What made it great was the atmosphere of the place down in the communal area. The staff was exceptional and I have truly enjoyed myself. It was a big part of my good memories spent in Chiang Mai.
The only negative thing I have to say, that draining systems are not the best in the city, so I had to keep the bathroom door shut at all times. Good advice try not to stay on the top floor, then you should be probably fine.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia, S.A.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I emailed ahead of time to have someone pick me up at the airport, and right on time, there the driver was with a paper with my name on it, waiting at the airport exit door. He tried to charge me more than the agreed upon price for the ride, but the staff were helpful in that they made sure I paid what was agreed upon.
The staff was always there to answer any questions or call a read truck when I needed one.
The room smelled a little mildewy when I got there, but I got used to it fast enough. The mattress is VERY firm, but I like it that way, but for someone who wants a softer touch, ask the staff if they have another option.
The location is far outside the Old City, you can catch a red truck easy enough, but it is very difficult to get back - it seems as though no drivers can figure out where it is, which was very annoying. I would show the driver a card with directions in thai that the hotel gave me, and even then most drivers couldn't figure it out.
If you're a light sleeper, like me, the early waking of the dogs next door can be avoided with a good set of ear plugs. The location is such that there are plenty of washing machines around the area for clothes, and there is even a place with a dryer (score!) if you need clothes fast, or like soft, dryer-dried clothing. Restaurants are tough for western food, but if you like Thai food, you'll love it here.
There are other options in the area, MANY guesthouses, so if you aren't in a rush and don't mind walking around, there are many other guesthouses that offer atleast as good (and even better than) as mountain house, but there isn't anything bad to be said about the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stayed at the mountian house for five nights to be closer to a friend's business. It is a bit outside of the old city in a neighborhood that is mostly thai. Its about a 20-30 minute walk into the old city, but you can catch a red truck pretty easily as well. The good part about being that far out is that everything is less expensive! However, tryign to find an english menu in the surrounding restaurants will be tough. THe rooms are big, and have a TV that has a music and movie chanel in english, wich is a big plus. As far as cleanliness, overall it is good. My bathroom got a bit buggy when it rained and ants seemed to like one side of my bed. It was also the hardest bed I have slept on thus far! Overall nice place though and the staff is really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laguna_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

The amazing staff at this hotel went totally out of their way to make sure that our stay was perfect. The shuttled us to and from the airport for free, helped us make bookings and find activities.

The hotel was clean and quiet. They offered free coffee and bread in the a.m. and free internet during business hours.

Don't miss out, give these friendly helpful people a try and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evskates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

One reason I enjoyed staying in this guest house is the fact that Mountain House offers everything you need : a clean room with daily cleaning schedule, friendly staff (especially the boss who is a warm person and a pleasant chatter), free breakfast, free internet, daily 2 free bottes of mineral water, airconditioner, 21-Inch TV, free sachets of shampoo or bars of soap that you can use while enjoying your hot shower, electronic front door, self-use kitchen with all day long free condimentary, and good food stall and shops just a minute walk from the guest house. All is for around US$ 12 a night. This is a quarter the price of the same accommodations in my country, Indonesia. Keep it that way, Jeong. I'll surely come back to your guest house.

Eddy Roesdiono
Surabaya, Indonesia

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surabayaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
1.9 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain House

Property: The Mountain House
Address: 11 soi 1 Santisuk Rd. T.Changpuak | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain House -Heartwarming Guesthouse, Chiang Mai is the best friend of all travelers who visit Chiangmai, Thailand with reasonable accommodation price but supply the most relaxant and comfortable place. You can get Free ride to airport/ bus terminal service, free internet access at the lobby and in your room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing