We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, Delicious, and Fun!”

Cooking at Home Thai Culinary School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each day, our students are picked up from Chiang Mai and driven to the cookery school. On a typical day our lessons begin with a trip to a local country market, guided by our experienced cooking instructors so that students learn how to select and buy the fresh Thai ingredients that they will need for that day's cooking lesson. For many, this tour of the morning market is an unforgettable experience in itself, leaving them with lasting memories of new sights, sounds and wonderful spicy aromas, as well as a broader knowledge of Thai fruits, vegetables and spices. This experience and new knowledge is especially useful to those who want to impress their friends back home with delicious Thai cuisine. Returning to the delightful semi-rural setting of the cookery school itself, our instructors take students through every stage of the cooking process, until at the end of the session students have the opportunity to taste and eat their creations. Our students learn by doing, not merely watching, so each course is full of activity and fun.
Lake Chapala
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic, Delicious, and Fun!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a special experience, whether you're an old hand at cooking Thai food or a first-timer. You're whisked away, out of the city, into the countryside of Chiang Mai in a comfortable vehicle with charming driver. You're welcomed into a large family home compound, next to a brilliant green rice paddy stretching away to the west and the mountain home of Doi Suthep, Chiang Mai's famous Buddhist temple on the hill. It's clear that great care has been taken in designing and building an environment for learning, doing, and enjoying the fruits of your labor. The school area is large and well-equipped, with overhead mirror to see the interior of the pot. Each student has his/her own work station with all necessary ingredients and utensils ready to use. Both Teacher Pom and her sister circulate to offer help and assistance as needed. Then you retire to the separate eating area, a covered patio overlooking the paddy. Our first dish was Pad Thai -- easily the best I've ever tasted. Then back to school for the next course. Who knew cooking great Thai dishes could be so easy and so much fun! Our group skipped the market and instead prepared green curry paste from scratch, then made our own green curry with chicken. Delicious. Then we did Thailand's famous Tom Yum Goong soup, and followed with sticky rice with mango for dessert.
If you're thinking of taking a cooking course during your visit to Chiang Mai, we wholeheartedly recommend Cooking@Home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Billyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband had given me a surprise gift to attend a cooking school in Thailand for my 30th birthday present as I love Thai food and cooking.
It took nearly two years until we could get the time to go to Thailand, so happy that we went with the cooking at home school for three days. Because it is the quiet season we were the only people for two of the days so we had a private class!
We were collected by Tak from chiang mai and taken to a great local market where we were shown lots of amazing ingredients and how coconut milk is made. Then given a shopping list to buy our ingredients. So much fun!
We then met Pom the owner at the school. It is set in a beautiful area overlooking a rice field.
They kee the classes to a maximum of ten to ensure everyone gets attention and they cater very well for vegetarians, this was very important to me.
We were shown, in detail how to make 5-6 amazing dishes a day. The green curry was actually the best I have ever eaten, and I made it! The food was simple to make but very amazing and Pom and Tak made the day so much fun.
On our last day it was our wedding anniversary and they gave us a beautiful bunch of flowers.
After making your dishes you get to eat looking over the rice fields, come with an empty stomach!

I hope to return to chiang mai again just to go back to the school.
Beautiful setting, beautiful food and beautiful people. Do not look any further!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is one recommendation that truly was wonderful. My mother and I were taught how to cook 5 delicious dishes in a short time, and in the most entertaing and attentive way.

Pom and her family were charming, very helpful and accomodating to our every wish including changing the dishes around to suit our tastes ! Visiting the market was very interesting and informative.

We had a fabulous day within a perfect rural setting, which was a beautiful and relaxing place to enjoy. We would now have no hesitation to cook Thai food again, and think that 'Cooking at Home' was one of the best days of our holiday as well as being completely inspirational!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank norton141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cooking course in a wonderful location with a wonderful teacher!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a fantastic afternoon cooking with Pom. We enjoyed visiting the local market especially because we were the only foreigners there, A real insight to the local culture! The food we cooked was great and Pom was so helpful and made it seem really easy! The setting is perfect, just outside chiang Mai with beautiful views over rice fields. The school ( very well equipped and organized) is part of Pom's family home which makes you feel very welcome and part of normal Thai life. Pom, we wish you every success - you're doing a great job! Paul & Emma

Helpful?
2 Thank PaulEmma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and yummy class!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Cooking at Home provided a wonderful cooking class for just my sister and I. My sister had a flight delay and they accomodated us by moving our class to the evening. We were so lucky because we got one on one instruction! The food and recipes were yummy and the setting was breathtaking! It was actually at her home, very authentic Thai experience. I definitely recoommend this cooking class to any Thai food enthusiast like myself!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking at Home Thai Culinary School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Cooking at Home Thai Culinary School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing