We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small nice hotel close to the old city”
Review of Chang Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chang Thai House
Ranked #104 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Thai stylish very clean hotel close to the old city, 15 min walk to the night bazaar.
Staff very friendly, English speakers. The room was nice clean and very comfortable.
Beware of dirty the towels by using it, the hotel penalty us!
The hotel picked us from and to the airport, very convenient.
next to the hotel very goos massage and laundries

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 291 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were picked up from the train station and shown around the hotel. The room was nicely decorated with everything you would need at great value.

The hotel boasts free wifi, lockers and a bar. You can book excursions through the hotel, they do whatever they can to get you on your preferred trip, we would recommend the Thai cooking class, bamboo rafting and elephant riding.

The hotel is located halfway between the old town walls and lively night bazaar (about 5 mins walk to each).

Strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

It area is questionable and the hotel is small with rustic features but overall very good. We stayed for 5 nights and it was the only place in Thailand were hotel transportation was included in the price. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was basic and often cold but we had no issue with that. Wifi was good. Pool is almost not worth it as its small and freezing.

The room was good, water and soda provided daily which was nice. Location is easy to get around on foot or tuktuk. We didn't use the massage but found a great place nearby, Green Bamboo

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhondica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed at the Chang Thai house when I was in Chiang Mai to attend a conference. The conference hotel was the Empress, but I chose something nearer to old town and something with some local flavor.

The location is great and the price was quite good. Breakfast was good. All-in-all, a very pleasant experience. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We spent eight nights at the Chang Thai House and we were very happy with the experience. The staff was pleasant and helpful even with their limited understanding of English. We made our tour bookings at an agency in Chiang Mai. The room was spacious and well appointed with air con, TV and free WiFi. The breakfast was excellent and the ambience of the dining room was superb. Their pool is most welcoming to cap off a day of activity. It is an excellent location for enjoying Chiang Mai. We hily recommend the Chang Thai House.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isaacdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed in Chiang Thai for 2 nights in January '12 and were very pleased with what we got. The street and surrounding area can be deceiving as its not the best looking place but its very safe and the locals are really friendly, the hotel however is lovely. The rooms are modern, spacious and bright and very clean. We opted for the deluxe room which was £30 a night for a double and with that we got free soft drinks and water from the mini bar daily. You get a private balcony and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is close enough to walk anywhere but far away enough to get a good nights sleep.

The only negatives I would say are that the breakfast isn't great, juice and cereal were fine but hot breakfast was rubbish! The pool is nice but because of the building structure you only get the sun on it between 2pm-5pm so if sun bathing is your main priority its probably not the best option but it didn't bother us as we did a bit of sun bathing occasionally but were out doing stuff for most of the time.

Another positive is that they drove us to our next hotel free of charge which was a nice parting gift.

Overall this is a great hotel and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was great and cheap if there are two of you splitting the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2fatpigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed her for 3 nights and then decided to move hotels.
Such a shame, nice new hotel but the staff were so lazy that it ruined the experience.
Don't rely on a wake up call because they sometimes forget.
Breakfast was bland and cold. Eggs were pre cooked (and burned) and then sitting outside for hours.
Complementary coffee was terrible, they had the option to order fresh coffee but when it arrived it was cold.
Shower was only lukewarm, and shower drain was clogged.
Bed was extremely hard (good if you like really really hard beds).
I would not reccomend this hotel, the staff seemed completely annoyed by the guests and would rather play on their phones or watch tv than help with a simple question.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awayfortheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#119 of 392 in Chiang Mai
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#16 of 392 in Chiang Mai
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Ratchiangsaen
Baan Ratchiangsaen
#43 of 933 in Chiang Mai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#52 of 801 in Chiang Mai
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
iWualai Hotel
iWualai Hotel
#16 of 801 in Chiang Mai
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Da Lua
Casa Da Lua
#221 of 801 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Thai House

Address: 6/2 Rakeang Rd | Soi 2 T. Haiya A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $35 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Thai House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chang Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing