We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”
Review of Vieng Mantra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Ranked #52 of 784 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is lovely. Good value for price, very friendly staff. Great location for walking. Breakfast was okay but everything else makes up for it. Good size rooms, beautiful pool. wifi comparable to other places in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvandyke2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 403 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights.

Location: good, around 100m away from Tapae Gate (like the centre of everywhere in the city). Sunday market is almost at the door step.

Amenities: sufficient. Bring your own toothpaste and toothbrush.

Room: booked the superior room. Room is nice. Large enough for two of us. Bed is not too hard. Only thing is one needs to draw the curtains for private matters like changing of clothes as the neighbors on the opposite wing can have a clear view of what you do.

Toilet: reasonably clean. The bathtub is an issue as the water reaches ankle level even though u choose to use only the shower.

Breakfast: For b&b, I think the variety is good enough. Was not expecting a wide spread of breakfast.

Facilities: there is a swimming pool but due to the cold weather, no one is using it. Besides, it is very shallow and more like a waddling pool to me.

Services: initially, we liked the services as the ladies are friendly. Furthermore, the response is very prompt during the reservation. However, I deduct a star for a not so good experience with the manager. We found out from one of the ladies that an early bkf albeit simple one was prepared for some marathoners who stayed in the hotel. We then requested for an early one the next day as we would start our day tour very early. The lady put up the request for us but we were kinda told off when we turned up early at 645am (7.30am was the bkf time). We explained that we put up the request earlier (we could have bought our own and it doesn't cost much to us seriously) and therefore we came down earlier for bkf. The night shift guy asked if we speak to the manager and I thought the lady whom we speak to is a manager since she speaks well and dresses like one too. The guy asked if the manager is a man or lady, and I obviously answered is a lady. He kinda posed a tricky question and he replied that the manager is a man and he is the manager. That was offensive. We nicely explained the situation and had it not worked out, we would gladly accept it since we are civilized people. There was no need for such 'confrontation'. Then our tour guide was late and we saw some guests coming down before 730 and went in for bkf. The manager didn't even offer us. We went in nevertheless. That was one experience not so nice that we had encountered.

Overall, this is still a nice place to stay. I probably might try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sBerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Friends visited this hotel a year a go during their Thailand trip and based on their recommendation we went there as well. Overall very satisfied with the rooms, they are a decent size. They also have rooms with 3 beds. Service was great and the staff helped us with making all our reservations during our stay. We had a small problem with the bathroom but that was fixed immediately. Breakfast is good and included. The hotel has a swimming pool in between the two hotel blocks. If you make reserations try to reserve a room in the back building. We had one in the front building and in the morning this was a bit noisy. Overall would recommend the hotel when visiting Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The superior room was good size, wifi worked perfectly in the room also. Breakfast was ok with eggs and bacon and some Thai dishes and fruits. The pool is between the buildings so sun is not shining there. The balcony was facing the pool and other building and had a bench in which you were looking your room window when seated. Location just couple of hundred meters from Chiang Mai Gate from which you can access all the city by songthaews with just 20THB per person. Free water in the minibar 2 bottles per day and other drinks almost the same price as in the shops. Showering had to be done in the tub and the water did not flush away very good, occasisonally you had your ankles covered in water.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Timo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great service... amazing location. Clean rooms and a freebreakfast that is immense!! The infinity pool is gorgeous and the frobt desk recommended some of the best tours i have been on in my threemobths in Asia. Stay here :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyUSA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Room was large and clean, front desk staff helpfulness varied, most didnt speak very good English. Breakfast was adequate but never worked out why the felt the need to serve half a croissant! Rooms looked into eachother across the pool, it was a little cramped around the pool area. for a three star hotel it was fine, but not that cheap for Thailand. Definitely not 4 star. Hair dryer was falling apart, not all power outlets in the room worked. It's those little things that are annoying! I would say go there is you can't afford better. Meriden was in a better location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DartmoorBarnOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at the Vieng Mantra for 5 nights with my boyfriend in November. After reading the reviews it seemed like a good choice and reasonably priced. On arrival the hotel seemed pleasant, we stayed in a superior room which was also nice and overlooked the pool. Unfortunately I found the overall stay disappointing. The mixer taps in the shower gets extremely hot, on my first night I brushed against this while in the shower and was left with a painful burn on my arm which after 5 days is still very visible. The staff here also lack the courtesy you would find in most hotels and on leaving the room one morning I was told in front of my boyfriend not to use the face towels again, as the day before I had got some makeup on these. I find it's often these little things that can make or break a stay. I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#38 of 784 in Chiang Mai
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#64 of 784 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#37 of 784 in Chiang Mai
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 784 in Chiang Mai
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 784 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Huen Phen
Baan Huen Phen
#38 of 907 in Chiang Mai
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieng Mantra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieng Mantra Hotel

Address: 9 Ratchadamneon Rd. Soi 1 | Si Phum Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Vieng Lanna Mantra)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 784 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $56 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vieng Mantra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Vieng Mantra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieng Lanna Mantra Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing