We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Vieng Mantra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Ranked #56 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a real value for money hotel.
It is a bit noisy as it is a budget hotel and in a small alley.
But the rooms are really nice and well lit.Staff are exremely hospitable and friendly.
Free internet is fast, the hotel has a nice location too and not far away.
July and Aug can be avoided as we did not realise it then.
In Feb it was really nice with the flowers blooming all over Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRamnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Vieng Mantra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 400 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

My partner and I spent three weeks in Thailand, so I needed to find good budget hotels throughout our stay. This was our first hotel we stayed in and for the price, location, and good quality, I am happy we booked. We could have booked a more expensive hotel, but I didn't see the reason for it and I wanted to stay in the center. This hotel was certainly up to my expectations and we were so close to the temples and the Sunday Market (amazing).

Things I liked about the hotel:
-Clean
-Safe in the room
-Free internet/computers (so I could charge my Ipod and check our flights)
-Friendly staff
-Walking Distance to everything
-Good well-rounded breakfast

I wouldn't say there is a downside to it b/c for $50 a night (booked through Agoda), I couldn't complain. Also, I thought I would like having a pool, but we were so busy that we never used it (we stayed about 5 days).

Advice:
If you need laundry done, there is a guy who does an excellent job at the end of the street for about $2. When walking out of the hotel, take a left and the laundry guy is on your right hand side (cheaper than having the hotel do it for you). I had no problems and had some more of my expensive items washed - He was professional and quick!

Suggestions for things to do:
1. Take a private tour of Wat Doi Suthep - we went with Wandering Star Tours and Amy provided a wealth of information about Thai culture and Buddhism. The tour starts early (6:00am) but it's a must to learn about the country for which you are visiting. You will visit the alms giving to the monks and go to the temple on the mountain. Again, a must if you're in Chiang Mai. This tour was one of the highlights of my trip (and it was fairly cheap for a private tour, transport, entrance fees, and food to give to the monks).

2. Elephant Nature Park. Go. It's a must. Ignore all other elephant "sanctuaries." This is the real thing.

NOTE: Thailand is a land of extremes and animals are in my opinion, highly mistreated. Please consider your actions before taking part in any animal activity. I would NOT do the following: go to a snake farm, ride elephants, feed baby elephants on the street, go to a tiger petting zoo, watch a circus, or pay to have a photograph with an animal. If it looks wrong and unnatural, it probably is. Learn and make informed decisions.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool - it might be quieter
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank journeys4thesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel could not be in a better location. So close to all Chiang Mai has to offer. The Hotel is very clean and fresh and the Customer service provided it amazing. Would definately stay here over and over again. Fantastic Hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

For the price this hotel was good value, the location was good, the rooms were comfortable, quiet location, good buffet breakfast. the staff were friendly and helpful. the pool looked great unfortunately we didn't get to use it.

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs choose a room on the ground or first floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Quiet and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Budget at its best. For me is all about the location. Sunday market on your door front, and near enough to walk everywhere yet because it's in a quiet ( for chiang Mai) Soi you can at least have a decent sleep which after shopping trekking drinking etc you will crave. The staff are lovely and the rooms bright and fresh. Nothing to complain about. Plus added bonus... The pool! Thanks again, jade

Room Tip: Iv stay both pool side and street side of this hotel. Probably l prefer the pool side, if possible a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SORTIEJADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We loved it here, the staff were wonderful and welcoming, the location was great, the pool was lovely after a long day out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#100 of 386 in Chiang Mai
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#104 of 386 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#35 of 775 in Chiang Mai
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 775 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 775 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#76 of 775 in Chiang Mai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieng Mantra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieng Mantra Hotel

Address: 9 Ratchadamneon Rd. Soi 1 | Si Phum Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Vieng Lanna Mantra)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $52 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vieng Mantra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vieng Mantra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieng Lanna Mantra Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing