We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Inner-city Hideaway”
Review of Siri House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siri House
Ranked #213 of 808 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Siri house last week and had the most blissful stay imaginable. In what can otherwise be a chaotic, bustling and exciting city this little treasure was a heavenly oasis just outside the Old Town and across the river. It is a little bit of a walk but well worth it to escape the thronging masses and enjoy a silent night's sleep in some beautiful rooms with gorgeous furniture and hand painted murals.

Pat will forever be our Chiang Mai second mother and couldn't have done enough to make our stay a comfortable one, and her fresh breakfasts in the beautiful garden in the shade of her gorgeous traditional style home are second to none.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the main house it'll be well worth it - they're a touch warmer in h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

A very beautiful tradition house with unique furniture some of them are antique and really beautiful. It is a calm place not far from the center. The house is surrounded by small amazing garden with trees and flowers smells really nice. The price is good and the owners are really helpful and kind people. They picked us from the airport and drive to the house. The breakfasts were simple and tasty with toasts, different jams and fresh tropical fruits. There was WiFi the connection wan't really strong but it wasn't really main point.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildCrazyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Siri house, we will always remember the owner Pat and her dog Bailan. She made us feel very welcome and comforting, tasty breakfast and great tips for our stay in chiang mai. the house is amazing, really traditionally and old, but the rooms are very new renovated and spacious and decorated with its really! We highly recommend this place, it was actually really hard to leave!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pat, the owner, is a nice and warm-heart auntie, who not only make our breakfast but also give us advise on the local traditions and travel tips. I was also thankful for her care of my parents.

The old dog is really funny and lazy, but picture friendly, feels hilarious when you want to take a photo on with him.

My advise to Pat is: you will need to make a good brand and sign at the front door , so that anyone won't miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Khun Pat, the owner, is a very friendly person who makes you feel at home. Siri house is located right in between the old city and the train station (Aya travel is located there as well) which makes it a very convenient area to stay. Khun Pat is very happy to offer you advise on where to go and has city maps available for you so you can go and explore the city. She can arrange trips if you'd like to and can have motorbike rentals delivered. Siri house offered us a pleasant stay within a 'family away from home' setting.

We stayed at a fan room without breakfast as we chose to have breakfast at different places each morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LennAllovertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very nice place, big beautiful garden to stay in peace. The family who lives here is very kindly and helps to us with any as we need. I recommend that place because have a thing who I neved had in other places who I stayed: it's a house! Not an hotel full of people. Rooms (bed and bathroom) are good, breakfast is enought and the location is a little bit far away from the city wall, but tuk-tuk's makes your life easy and are so cheap :) Price for night is one interesting thing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

In Siri House, Pat (the owner) makes you feel like you´re part of the family. Everyday she greeted us with a huge smile and taught us new things about the Thai culture. My husband and I went for our honeymoon and we had the time of our life.
DO NOT EXPECT a five star hotel...you are paying 17€ a night after all! The room is simple..it has the basics: a queen bed, a shower that is RIGHT NEXT to the toilet, but don´t forget, the place is in THAILAND! If you want to live how Thai people live for a couple of days, then come to Siri House! There is so much to do in the north of Thailand: we rode elephants, went river rafting on a bamboo raft, learned how to cook (delicious!), and ate realllllly good Thai food. What more can one person ask for?
I think the people who wrote negative comments about Siri House think that 17€ should buy them a five star hotel with a huge breakfast buffet and a turn-down service. I don´t think they have taken into account that the price is actually a STEAL for what you receive! 17€ couldn´t buy you a cardboard box to sleep in in Spain!
In any case, the WHOLE FAMILY is lovely and we felt like we really experienced TRUE THAILAND because we stayed at Siri House. I would recommend it to anyone with an adventurous spirit and a love for other cultures!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
2.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,150 reviews
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,086 reviews
1 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#171 of 394 in Chiang Mai
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siri House

Address: 68 Bumrungrat Rd, Tambon Watgate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 808 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $31 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Siri House 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing