We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good - especially given the price and location”
Review of TK Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TK Guest House
Ranked #255 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very good - especially given the price and location”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

As a solo traveler I stayed in a room with a fan and good sized bed. The rooms are clean and my only quip is that the fan was far enough away that it still felt warm when I went to bed. Perhaps a second fan would have done the trick or a fan that is a little closer to the bed. But that is a minor complaint. The place is also a bit noisy at night from all of the street activity -- but nothing a pair of earplugs could not help out with. The guesthouse is in the thick of it all.

The location is in a "backpacking" district and yet there are all sorts of guesthouses and hotels.It is in the old city near everything, really. It is a short walk to the Saturday market and an even shorter one to the daily market with good food stalls. If you want Western food - you've got it. If you want Thai - you've got it.

Tee is a very happy and helpful guesthouse owner. I had a number of questions and he was willing and able to help out with everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBSQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    40
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
32
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed at TK guest house for a week total and had an awesome time. Cheap rooms and dorms and the staff treated us as mates.

We booked heaps of stuff through T at the travel agency downstairs, he speaks perfect english and gave us great deals as well as straight up advice. We went on an overnight trek and had paid 300 bhat less than all the other people who had booked at different places.

Great location as well.

cheers for having us!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Sometimes i'm skeptical about a business that receives so many positive reviews but I have to say that in this case I agree with all the positive reviews. TK Guesthouse was a huge part of our overall unbelievable experience. They showed us some of the most awesome little gems that Chiang Mai had to offer. if your looking for a hassle free & convenient experience, I highly recommend their friendly services.



Tom

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Four of us stayed at TK guesthouse for 6 nights. The room was spacious with a balcony that overlooked the city and a hot shower. All for a very inexpensive price. They have a new lounge/restaurant area with a jungle theme that is a very relaxing place to hang out. The location is in the old city near by everything. It is a short walk to the saturday market and right next to a daily market with good food stalls and a nice morning wet market. The manager Tee and the rest of the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. Tee went out of his way to find us great deals on trekking and other activities, and great advice for traveling around the city. we had nothing planned before we got to Chaing Mai and Tee and the staff helped us plan an amazing 6 days of fun and adventure. Our stay would not have been the same if we hadn't stayed at TK.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I Booked from Germany and everything Works. Clean and quite Roms. Fine organisations for aktivities in Chiang Mai and for over Trips and places to Stay in Thailand. Friendly People Here. For Sure a Good Place to Stay.
What to do in Chiang Mai :
Mountain bikimg (Not Easy)
Lila Thai Massage
Jungle flight Not necessary and expensive
Food market near beide
Extreme Shopping St the AirPort Plaza


Greetings häagen dazs

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hagen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed at TK Guesthouse in December 2011. The staff are very friendly, fluent in english an helpful. Even drove us in their own car to some of the sights that we wanted to see at no cost. They had good WIFI in my room on my laptop. The rooms were kept very neat an clean. Really enjoyed my stay there very much an will definitly stay there again when I go back to visit Chiang Mai. An A+ for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

It was almost sunset when I reached Chiang Mai and the helpful guy that welcomed me was Tee. For a solo traveler, he gave me a really spacious room. He easily attended to my requests:

(1) I requested for airconditioning (which is an extra cost) but he suggested for me to open my windows for ventilation. It gets cooler at night. It's screened so you don't have to worry about mosquitoes or insects.

(2) When I stowed my luggage, I noticed that I couldn't lock one of the windows, one of the guys fixed it right then and there

(3) I really don't have a lot planned except for rock climbing and a cooking class. I said I wanted to visit a few temples and he suggested that his brother drives for me. His brother speaks a little English (he is learning fast!!!) but he's a sweet and accommodating lad. He even brought me to a cantineta with the best khao soi.

(4) He asked me where I booked my cooking class and I mentioned another school. He need not persuade me to book at Sammy's Organic Farm instead. Aside from the fact that it's cheaper, the farm ambience was much more inviting. Thank you, it was beautiful with an EPIC outdoor toilet!!!

Remember this is a bed and breakfast accommodation. And with the price you are paying for, do not expect so much from the room. All the basic amenities you need are there: hot & cold shower, a bed, a side table, a fan, airconditioning (if need be), a cabinet for your clothes.

LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION!
*CMRCA (Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventure) HQ is two apartments down.
*It's about a 10 minute walk to the night market outside the walls of Old Town where there are rows of street food with communal dining area. And right across that street is the Weekend Market... which is a long row of what-have-yous, souvenirs and tourist-trap shopping items.
*If you are there on a Sunday, it is about 4 blocks (15-20 minute walk), from the Walking Street of Chiang Mai. Now this is a LOOOONNNGGER weekend market that gets crazy from 6 up and slows down around 11 but lasts until around after midnight.
* It's near an ATM machine & fronts a convenient store.

I can go endless here. but I am just saying is that you are paying more than your money's worth for the helpful tips the staff gives you :)

Just don't forget to be respectful.

Room Tip: The guesthouse rises up tot the 4th floor (I think), and there is no elevator. I stayed on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mice_aliling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
#93 of 381 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#261 of 736 in Chiang Mai
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 736 in Chiang Mai
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anoma 2 Bed And Breakfast
Anoma 2 Bed And Breakfast
#136 of 736 in Chiang Mai
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#74 of 736 in Chiang Mai
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TK Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TK Guest House

Property: TK Guest House
Address: 57 Ratchaphakhinai Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TK Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your TK Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tk Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing