We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable, but I've seen better.”
Review of The Britannia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Britannia
Ranked #20 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

On a friend's recommendation I stayed at The Britannia for my first week in Chiang Mai. The facility was nice, very clean, and comfortable, but lacking in some amenities.
Strong points: Price, cleanliness, courtesy and friendliness, shower, balcony, housekeeping.
Weak points: My single room had no refrigerator or closet for my clothes. Some house rules seem aimed at younger college-age guests (no guests in room, turn off a/c when leaving the room, etc.). The cable TV had limited channels -- I know more channels are available from Chiang Mai operators. No restaurant -- but restaurants are provided by several nearby guesthouses. Several pubs are located in the immediate area, and pub customers tend to make a lot of noise out in the street late at night -- woke me up on several occasions.
Would I recommend The Britannia to a friend? Yes, but would mention the weak points listed above.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bushido_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for one week in The Britannia with my boyfriend and we were very pleased. For very good price we got nice clean room with balcony. There is a good air con and nice bathroom. The room service is every day and its excellent. But the best thing are the owners ! There is an owner from New Zealand and his lovely wife. These people are the most friendly owners we met in Thailand. Everything you want to know they help you with a big smile. We booked elephant trekking thru them with a huge discount! I will recommend this place because it's more than just a gusthouse.

Room Tip: There is a very nice restaurant near by- Yes pub, delicious food:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
534Algy, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure and we hope you will return another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Britannia; we've been very happy! Clean room, good service and over all the great kindness and hospitality of the owners! They've been very keen in helping us to organise our trips in Chiang Mai, everything worked perfectly!Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pa0la_Giuseppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
534Algy, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you. Glad you guys enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

When I arrived there was no record of my booking but luckily they still had a room available. Glad I was able to stay as it was good, clean basic accommodation in a central location. Good value and a decent choice if you're in Chiang Mai.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank kentclarke7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
534Algy, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Apologies for losing your reservation. Has not happened before and we are still scratching our heads as to why it disappeared without trace. Glad you enjoyed your stay in any case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is in a great location close to everything.
The rooms are clean and staff fantastic.
They are a very affordable and their is a great cafe called blue diamond just down the road for breakfast lunch etc...all in all you can walk around old town get to any place witn ease. The area is very safe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank scuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Coopers (owners) are very friendly and keen to help with tour bookings.

The rooms are large and fitted with great AC.

There are lots of restaurants/ bars nearby.

Very easy to pick up a taxi/ tuk-tuk from outside as there are lots hanging around. The driers don't hassle you either which is refreshing!

Nestled in a quiet backstreet of Chiang Mai- definitely worth trying!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the owners were very flexible and let us stay for an extra day, great location close to nearby shops. Had to leave a key deposit, we forgot to ask for this back!! So make sure you ask.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#7 of 801 in Chiang Mai
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#38 of 801 in Chiang Mai
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#35 of 801 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia

Address: 27/3-4 Moonmaung Soi 9 | Old City, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $15 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Britannia 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALWAYS CLEAN ALWAYS TIDY ALWAYS FRIENDLYYou can find the Britannia Chiang Mai at the north eastern corner of the old city on Soi 9, off Moonmuang Road.Situated near the intersection of Soi 9 and Sriphum Soi 1, The Britannia is squarely within a popular area for travellers and is well serviced with local bars and restaurants along with travel agents, Thai therapeutic massage and local laundry services. Just a short walk away you can find banking, postal facilities, local superettes, the ever popular street food vendors along Moonmuang Road and also the Sunday night market at Tha Pae Gate.The Britannia is not just another guest house but more a Mini Hotel, where you can enjoy some of the comforts of a hotel at guest house prices, yet retain the atmosphere usually enjoyed with family and friends.We are here to serve, which means we take care of your home comforts along with assistance to find your way around Chiang Mai and to gain access to the many attractions and tours that make this city such a popular destination for travellers to Thailand. Our aim is to help you find the best possible value for your chosen activities.So no matter if you are just looking to immerse yourself in the spirit of Chiang Mai, or party it up with the vibrant night life, let The Britannia and is friendly staff help make your stay possibly the best holiday you have ever had ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing