We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really No Reason To Leave The Hotel Grounds :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #32 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really No Reason To Leave The Hotel Grounds :)”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Siripanna was our 2nd stop on our honeymoon in Thailand in January '14. I have to start this review out by saying that I would have given it 5 stars if not for one thing...the thickness of the walls in the room. Everything else was perfect! We honestly stayed on the grounds for most of our stay (other than two day excursions), and there were no regrets. Part of our mentality may have been due to having come directly from the busiest part of our trip...Bangkok...and we were all set with dealing with street vendors and negotiating for deals left and right. Either way, Siripanna really did have more than enough to offer on site. More on those walls at bottom...

The service here was the best that my wife and I saw during our entire stay in Thailand, including Bangkok and several islands. Every person working here had a great vibe, a good sense of humor, and they ALWAYS had time for our questions. When we needed cash, they drove us to the nearest ATM...when we needed to book a last minute mountain bike excursion the next day, they reserved it and set up the pick up for us...simply outstanding!

The rooms were exactly what we expected from paying a bit more for luxury on our trip. Very clean, and a really nice dark wood everywhere. We did lose hot water one night, from about 5-6:30 p.m....not really sure what happened, but it seemed an isolated incident. The staff was quick to point out that mosquitoes could easily become a problem in our room if we were not careful, however, if one is smart about pulling the shades when the lights are on...and not opening the patio door at night...there shouldn't be a problem with this. We never had an issue with mosquitoes.

The spa was great, and they made us truly feel like royalty. One will probably get a better deal from a masseuse by heading into town, but it may not feel as special. The service was excellent, offering tea both before and afterwards, as well as letting us select the oil we would like to use (there was even one including gold flakes) for our massages. The pool seemed also pretty good, though neither of us actually swam in it. It is the centerpiece for the grounds, on which one can also find a hut for cooking classes.

The fitness room had enough to offer, regarding cardio equipment, and there was a TV mounted on the wall to keep you company. The universal machine was not the best I have ever used, but definitely still did the trick. The choice of dumbbells was a little too lightweight, but the quality was good. The one thing that may be uncomfortable for some guests is that two of the walls are completely floor to ceiling windows, facing towards both the lobby and one of the 4 major sections of rooms. So, guests and hotel staff are passing by frequently and can see everything...not a big deal, but maybe worth knowing to some.

The restaurant was PHENOMENAL and probably our favorite part of the Siripanna. Not only was the food tasty, but also very affordable and authentic. The servers always made great recommendations when we were deciding between several dishes...which was often. Happy hour was twice a day...5-6 and 8-9, I believe...we really had a great experience with the food/drink service! There was also a singer/guitarist duo every night in the restaurant, helping to put your mind at ease. The included breakfast buffet was huge, and there was something for every traveler...both healthy and greasy spoon.

The one complaint we really had about Siripanna, is that we were woken up VERY often by our two different sets of next door neighbors. Every night. We initially thought that the first set of neighbors was just really loud and we couldn't wait for them to leave, as they were a large family and seemed like they were yelling at each other whenever they came in the door...it felt like we were sharing the room with them. Well, they left, and then on our last night at Siripanna, we heard a completely different set of accents charging into the room next door around midnight, obviously just checking into the hotel and trying out every door and drawer, slamming everything. By then, we had put it together that it was the walls and the connecting door to the next room. They were just WAY too thin and couldn't block out a peep...even the connecting door had a huge gap between it and the floor, so it really felt like we were listening in on their entire conversation. It might have just been our room (3109), but I feel the hotel could insulate the rooms a bit better than they have.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that is not connected to another by a door. This should help you sleep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    265
    81
    38
    12
See reviews for
257
557
52
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
323 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed a whole week in this resort and it answer all the expectations. Friends recommended this luxury hotel and it was very good. Staff is super friendly and helpfull, For example to arrange (cheap) private taxi's for a half-day-tour or for reservations of restaurants. Our room was a very large garden room, very quiet with two terrasses.Good walk-in shower, everything very spacious. Music in the evenings, lovely jazzy sounds. Breakfast 100% OK, also the buffet dinner: splendid. Very nice swimming pool and possibility to lay in the sun very provate.
Two remarks: the housekeeping was not allways perfect: they sometimes forgot to place new towels or toiletpaper and the cleanness coul be better. Other thing was that, in spite of having a large room there was almost no space in the wardrobe. We had a whole week to place or shirts etc. on a couch.

Room Tip: rooms are spacious, i think you don't have to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry_puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Siripanna is a nice hotel that doesn’t quite have the location, room comfort, or service to make it a great hotel, but definitely has exquisite grounds and a killer (if freezing) pool area.

Location: It’s not great. The hotel is located a few kilometers outside the walled city center. Theoretically you can walk it (and as veteran walkers we wanted to), but it is physically not safe to do so; there are no sidewalks or paths, and the roads are very narrow. It simply would be too dangerous to walk, especially at night. While there is technically a shuttle, you have to sign up hours in advance, and it only does the round-trip a few times per day. You really are stuck using taxis or tuk-tuks nearly each way (hint: the “redtop” mazda truck taxis are cheaper than tuk-tuks and as fun).

Hotel: The grounds of the hotel are simply fantastic, especially the entire pool area. The spa area is elegantly simple. The lobby is very traditional Thai architecture. Alas, the pool is unheated, so only a few hardy souls managed a few minutes in it. This is clearly a family hotel, and one frequented mostly by Asian and other Thai families. This is evidenced by all the small kids set loose outside shortly after sun up, who were really noisy to the point of waking us up each day. Definitely a major downside. There is a small (nice) playground for tiny tots, too, which didn’t help with the noise as it (and the restaurant) was near our rooms. The breakfast was only OK compared to other venues on this trip.

Room: We had two rooms for our family. They were quite spacious! The bathrooms were fine, if somewhat plain. The shower had only OK water pressure, and we were on the first floor. But the beds and pillows were only so-so on comfort. And the rooms were both fairly dark, to the point of needing lots of lights on during the day, too. Unfortunately, ours were very noisy, not just due to the kids above but by everyone walking by our outside our doors (the doors provided no noise filter, and indeed seemed to magnify it), and by the restaurant right across from our rooms as well. (I tried to get us moved and they said they couldn’t despite the fact the hotel was clearly not full.)

Service: On this point the hotel has a split personality. The key manager is fantastic. And the concierge is good too. But that’s because they are among the few to speak English in addition to having the right service ethic. Everyone else is fabulously nice. But make no mistake, incompetence with a smile is still incompetence. Every single morning we couldn’t get our coffee, utensils or whatever from key servers (in fact, ask the men and avoid the women in the restaurant; for inexplicable reasons you’ll get service from one gender and not the other). The shuttle driver would leave the hotel with an empty “car” even if you were clearly asking for a ride in to town. We kept getting the wrong information from other front desk managers (who constantly kept confusing requests). And finally, we nearly missed our flight out due to their failure to call our rooms for wake-up.

We agreed that while the grounds were beautiful, there were too many other reasons not to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWindez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Pierce, FL, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had a wonderful solo vacation at Siripanna back in August. The buildings and grounds are beautiful and the staff warm and friendly. Throughout my stay, the staff went out of their way to ask about my day and make sure I had everything I needed. The resort grounds, although not large, are beautifully designed so that you feel like you're in a garden no matter where you are in the main complex. My room was elegant & very clean and quiet. There were a number of families with small children staying at the resort, but the atmosphere remained calm & quiet. Some reviewers have mentioned mosquitoes, but, although I was there during rainy season & spent 3 of my days relaxing by the pool, I didn't notice a problem. Breakfast was very good, and they have a very reasonably-priced businessman's lunch on weekdays. The dinner buffet was a bit pricey for my taste, but the room service menu is reasonable, and there are plenty of places in town. The only downside is that there are no restaurants, laundry places, etc., within easy walking distance of the resort. However, the resort runs a free shuttle into town several times a day, which is a big plus. They have designated drop-offs but seemed willing to drop me anywhere along the route. Overall, it was a wonderful stay. I hope to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Siripanna and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would have rated the hotal as a 4.5 if I had that option. There was nothing wrong with the hotel, but it is not a 5-star hotel so I did not feel comfortable giving it a perfect rating.

The hotel is a short drive from the airport and is also close to the night market (maybe 10 minutes by tuk tuk). The hotel does have a free shuttle service to the night market. The shuttle suts off somewhat early, so you may have to take a tuk tuk back, which is not a big deal. The hotel staff was amazing. The staff was very friendly and they certainly make every effort to help you navgiate Chiang Mai and enjoy your stay. The breakfast (included in our stay) was excellent. They had a wide variety of breakfast items, including eggs cooked to order.

The room was very clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. The hotel felt quiet and relaxed, which we appreciated after long days on different tours. WiFi is free in the lobby, but there is a charge in the room. The WiFi was fast in case you need to download movies or songs.

The hotel did have mosquitos, but the rooms come with plug-in repellants and they can provide bug spray. The mosquitos were not an issue for us and were not really noticable as we plugged in the repellant as soon as we checked in.

I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We didn't have to pay out of pocket for our stay, which made it worth it.

Lowdown:
Spacious rooms, nice ambiance and architecture
Free shuttle service to night markets (they only give you 2 hours til pick up and pick up locations differ so it can be confusing- we took a tuk tuk back to the hotel one night)
Nice pool (but cold water)
yummy breakfast buffet (included in our package)
friendly staff and drivers but not so friendly manager (the lady with the short hair)
Happy hour snacks were ok, drinks not great
WiFi is 200 baht for 3 hours (free in lobby)
lots of mosquitos (holes in door that they can come thru)
We requested help with our bags and got tired of waiting and ended up carrying our own bags down the stairs

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessefecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The service at this hotel is wonderful, the staff are all so very lovely. The breakfast is also excellent, and caters for vegetarians, which is a huge plus as not all hotels have a separate section for vegetarians. The massage here is out of this world, so much better than all the other places we have been to on Bangkok and Chiangmai. The only downside to this resort is the mosquitoes which are everywhere. This is not really their fault as the resort is located near a rice paddy I think. They have supplied mozzie repellant machines in the rooms, however, it still doesn't stop them coming in. Oh and the fitness facility is also very good. This is important to my husband and I as we like to keep fit during our holidays. Wifi is only free in the lobby, but that's ok as the lobby has wonderful comfy seats and lounges. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 381 in Chiang Mai
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa

Property: Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Address: 36 Rat Uthit Road | Wat Kate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siripanna Grand Resort & Villa Hotel Chiang Mai
Siripanna Grand Resort And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing