We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with nice staffs but lacks quality of a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked a 3rd floor grand Lana grand room for two nights in September. Airport service offered by the hotel costs 550 versus standard taxi fare of 160B, it's a twenty minute ride into a local residential area with unattractive neighborhood.

Location: 10min by tu-tuk from mostly anywhere u would go costs 100B, hotel offers free two evening hourly shuttle into the night bazzard area and two late afternoon hourly shuttle into the old town.

Biggest pro: super nice staffs and management , I can't think of nicer people than them, thanks for making our vacation a very warm one.
Biggest Con: The mosquito problem as reported by many other reviews is VERY real as I got bite many times only bypassing the lobby during the two days. Also, be very aware of the room starting with 2xxx, that wing faces the street with many dogs bark like crazy at night and make it almost impossible to sleep.

Hotel overall,
Pro: The hotel is nicely landscaped with a winding water strip(about 1m or less wide) around the rectangle hotel ground,
Con: we did not swim in that strip -- the swimming pool, neither did we see any other guest during the day and half we were there. it's the low season in Thailand so the hotel isn't very full.

Room,
Pro: The room is spacious and well cleaned. It seems all rooms face the center court with the swimming pool, the villa is on the first floor with a small front porch of two mats. The manager upgraded us to a villa for,the second night after knowing we had a tough night sleeping when the dogs barked all night long. The villa room is only slightly larger, bathroom is definitely bigger with a small fountain as a nice touch, Both types of room are sufficient and I would think the villa is probably worth 25-30% more money.
con: With the amount of mosquitos it is impossible to sit outside , though the hotel does a great job on the repellant in the room, we had no problems indoor.

Food
Nice breakfast food selection, again, superb service. Be aware of the many many flies in Thailand (not only Chiang mai, not Siripanna but most places we have been to)

Spa
Very quiet spa location at the back of the hotel, nicely laid out, nothing special, masseurs are below average for Thai standard, charges about 60usd per person for 90 min body massage with some kind of promotion(regular is at par with typical 5 star hotels at around usd 120).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivian318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nutto, Manager at Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Valuable guest,

Sawas Dee Jao from Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa, Chiang Mai.

First of all, thank you very much for your valuable feedback we have received during your stay. Such essential comment is very much appreciated and serves us to constantly improve services and comfort level for the benefit of our guests.

However, We thank you very much for the rest of all your comments which we will take into our serious attention in order to improve our services and can be assured that it will cover with the most satisfaction of all guest arrival.

We do sincerely hope that we would have an opportunity to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you very much.


Best regards,
Manus Kaewpeng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was heavenly.The place is stunning and peaceful and located in a central location without being noisy.The food was delicious and there was so much choice for the buffet breakfast.Each room is big and individually decorated and the best of all were the STAFF , how kind,thoughtful,caring and efficient .The manager went really out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and happy.We will go back there again and again and again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iran300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a great time at the Siripanna. The resort is situated in a nice quiet area outside of town but is only a 10 min ride to all the action. The staff was very nice and attentive and went out of their way to make sure our visit was amazing. The staff knew us by name, always said hi and gave us interesting tips on what to do in the area. The resort itself is very nice and the rooms are quite large.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geeta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed here for one week, and came home thinking that while the grounds are gorgeous and the staff friendly, this hotel could easily and at low cost be much better.

Here are a few pointers:

The swimming pool was completely unattended, and one could not bring in glass bottles (complimentary water was in glass). There are no shops around except a small massage place which sells bottle water across the streets. It would be easy to provide some sort of drinks/snack facility here to be enjoyed by overheated children and adults alike.

The toilets at swimming pool didn't have soap or towels, and were filthy. My husband told me some taps were broken in the men's toilet.

All towels at this owl are quite frayed, the soap pumps were rusty and shampoo and shower gel quite itchy and poor quality.

The lunch buffet really wasn't much to write home about, things were not covered properly and there were flies on fruit etc. every time.

The so called "gallery" which was also supposed to be a bar, was simply a dark, unairconditioned room with some humid paintings on the walls. This "venue" was not functioning and should be removed from list of facilities.

To top it off, we ate at this hotel quite a bit, and started having tummy-rumbles on the second night. Have now both had tummy-bugs (mine lasting a few days) and cannot help but think that something was amiss somewhere, feeling queasy thinking of the buffet again...

All in all, staff were kind but one feels management is not focusing on the right things. All the things that annoyed us could be easily fixed and make this a total top-notch hotel. We hope they can improve these issues.



Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nutto, Manager at Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Valuable guest,

Sawas Dee Jao from Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa, Chiang Mai.

First of all, thank you very much for your valuable feedback we have received during your stay. Such essential comment is very much appreciated and serves us to constantly improve services and comfort level for the benefit of our guests.

However, We thank you very much for the rest of all your comments which we will take into our serious attention in order to improve our services and can be assured that it will cover with the most satisfaction of all guest arrival.

We do sincerely hope that we would have an opportunity to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you very much.


Best regards,
Manus Kaewpeng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was clear from the first greeting, the stuff knows how to make you feel welcome. Our stay in Siripanna was great. The room, food and the pool were all great. The stuff was very helpful and kind at all times.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elad-Coh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you can get over the mosquitos, your experience here should be nothing short of superb. It starts with the service. They always have 2 staff at the front desk, but then usually another 2 at the entrance. Anyone working in that area, at the desk or not, will be able to help you. They'll make phone calls for your regarding excursions/flights and they all speak and understand English very well. If you meet Nan, you are in for a treat. She is the "Programs Director" at the resort. Words can't describe how friendly and welcoming she is. She was definitely added value to our overall experience. If you get a chance, plant some rice and take the cooking class at the resort. Awesome Awesome overall experience. Gorgeous rooms, gorgeous pool, food is exceptional. I am not exaggerating when I tell you that I wouldn't want to even consider staying anywhere else if I return to Chiang Mai one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I decided to redeem a three-day two-night promotion, "The Royal Luxury" for my mom, the five years old twin nephews & myself. It's definitely a great choice!

We were upgraded to stay in villa 1101 as the villa that we were firstly booked would not gonna be ready during the time we were supposed to reach the resort. The new villa is superb and perfectly suits us all. The room is large and very clean. The boys enjoy swimming in our own little plunge pool. Main pool is not too large nor small.

There're various choices for breaky. However just a small little thing you will have to be careful is about time. We were informed by a lovely receptionist (Khun Fai) that breaky will be served from 6 am. On a second morning, we reached the restaurant at 6.30 as our flight is 8.30. Breaky hasn't been completely set up yet.

As I've been working in tourism hospitality for years and I found that there're small little things I'd like to make comments. Problems with send and receive email enquiry and no extra bed in room. I was having trouble with sending and receiving email from reservation dept. They finally found that it's a problem from their side. About extra bed, we were confirmed for one extra bed and when we reached our room, there was no extra bed. It's supposed to be set before our arrival once it's been completely confirmed by written.

However our trip would not be perfect if we missed a service from our lovely butler (Khun Kae) who helped us organised a trip to some attractions and an excellent oil massage at Panna Spa from Khun Ying. Other staff are nice and really keen to help us.

Room service is good and chef did and excellent job.

Overall we decided just last night that we will go back to stay at Siripanna again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golf_Suwanbodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 389 in Chiang Mai
986 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 389 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa

Address: 36 Rat Uthit Road | Wat Kate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $68 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siripanna Grand Resort And Villa
Siripanna Grand Resort & Villa Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing