We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 3 times now and always a joy!”
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama Chiang Mai
Ranked #229 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stayed 3 times now and always a joy!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

First up. This is not a new hotel. It's tired and frayed around the edges. But the location for restaurants, street food and shopping mall with cinema is great. Hire motor bikes and cycles just across the road. Breakfast here is a must, varied choices in heaps! 17th floor swimming pool is great for both adults and kids, but no life saving facilities or hotel supervision. Kids with mum or dad please! Rooms are perfectly clean but don't expect anything approaching perfection. Modern tv and free internet. Complimentary bottled water. Expect to pay about £45 for two adults, double room, including breakfast Feb and march. Bargain! Staff are
brilliant, any problems rectified immediately, I look forward toy next stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toeterms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Toeterms,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .We are very proud and glad to read your feedback, it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever and will improve some of our lacking.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    111
    103
    55
    49
See reviews for
74
125
40
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was very impressed with the service as well as the quality of the rooms. It has great beds, great shower and great service. I love the lobby with all those comfortable chairs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dannynaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Dannynaga,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you for your detailed comment on Furama Chiangmai Hotel. We appreciate the thought and time that went into the review on Trip Advisor.

We are very proud and glad to hear that you happy with the service of our staff,
our modern lobby and over all of the facilities in the hotel ,we promise that we will maintain a high standard of our hotel with us forever.

Finally, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service again.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed for one night due to having missed a flight out of Chiang Mai. Can't understand the bad reviews. Nothing wrong with our stay at the Furama and I've stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the world. The staff were excellent and allowed us to check in early, the room was large and the bed very comfortable. Although located away from the old city, the location is quiet and very close too the Maya Shopping centre. The views from the rooftop bar and restaurant were brilliant and make for a very relaxed evening. Would stay again if in Chiang Mai, no qualms at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tigerpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear tigerpj,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .

We glad to hear that you happy with our room and our staffs, also the area near by the hotel.

We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room for 3 nights. The hotel is very dated and in need of refurbishment. The rooms are very large and comfortable, but the bathrooms were a real let down. The showers were full of cracked tiles and the grouting full of mould. The bathtub was scratched up and repairs were done badly. The taps were terrible. You needed to pull them to start the water running, and the taps were so stiff, that almost every time, the water would just go everywhere.
The rooms were generally clean and the very comfortable. The housekeeping would only give one teabag (so we had to keep asking for extra). Breakfast was extensive, and quite good. Pool was very poor - all shallow, no sunbeds
Location: walking distance to the new Maya shopping centre and Nimanhemin Rd with a multitude of restaurants and bars
For the price, find something elsewhere. You can do much better in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Denise D,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you for your detailed comment on Furama Chiangmai Hotel. We appreciate the thought and time that went into the review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us in case of the lacking of facilities at the pool, also the dirtiness and the staleness in the toilet. In any event, we thank you for the comments, and will be more aware of all these issues in the coming days.

Finally, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service again.


With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is one of my worst stay, had never experience a hotel like this before in my life, the entire hotel looks really dim and not brightly lit up, very old and and most of the things in the hotels are broken and not well maintained. The swimming pool on the 5th floor looks like a haunted place. The windows are dirty with stains all over, the shower hot water is always not hot enough... really a bad place for families... for the price I m paying I really don't think it is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denon8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Denon8801,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .

We apologized for the old and broken things in the hotel and also the hot water system problem, now your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We are now looking for a solution to the problem so this wouldn't be happened again and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done in the near future.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My significant other had a anesthesia nurse convention in Chiang Mai. The hotel that the convention was in was fully booked so we were referred to this hotel. Along with one of her co-workers.

I will not get into the Taxi nonsense at the airport but having lived in Thailand I am fully aware of their schemes.

Check in at the hotel went smoothly. We were upgraded to a corner suite due to no more run of the house rooms available. I maybe wrong but it appears the hotel caters to the Chinese mass tourists.

The Hotel
The lobby is fairly modern and clean in appearance. There are a few restaurants but we three ate out in Chiang Mai and not at the hotel. There was NO breakfast as part of the room rate and it appears it is buffet and, again, caters to the group tours.

The Room
Very large sitting area. Older style furniture, clean but used. Had smaller sized HD TV

Bedroom was large with a small HD TV

Bathroom was very large with separate shower and bath.

This, so far as I can tell, is NOT a new hotel but it is well kept.

Concierge was very helpful in getting me transportation back to the airport. 100 bt using hotel shuttle. Other half had to stay on a day longer and I needed to get to BKK.

Negatives
Hot water was more like warm cool water. No matter how long one ran the shower it never really got hot.

Internet was the loser in this hotel. One got a piece paper for each device one wanted to use on their Wi-Fi. Never came across this before but was OK. But the internet constantly flaked out and one had to go through the process to get back on. And many a time it took a while to hook back up. Since I do a lot of work via the Internet it was a hassle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear jgm005,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to know that you like of our modern lobby , the size of room and also our concierge we promise that we will maintain a high standard with us forever.

Also, we apologized for weakness internet and also the hot water system problem, now your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments, especially Engineering Department & I.T. and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We are now looking for a solution to the problem so this wouldn't be happened again and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done in the near future.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again .

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We booked ourselves a "special" place to stay for our final night in Chiang Mai - four times our normal budget - and were so disappointed. For the price we were paying (and the marketing) we expected five star but instead we got a place that is way overdue for a facelift. Our rooms had filthy windows with a view over what can only be described as a swamp, the bath had hot water, but not the shower, and breakfast was crowded to the point where we had to wait for a table, queue for cold coffee, etc. The staff were rude and everything was too much trouble. As with everything in life, it's all about expectations, and we expected so much more from this hotel. Will definitely stick with the guesthouses in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Front Office Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mrs W,

Thank you so much for your kind words and thorough comments about your staying with us.

I am writing to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced as the result of lacking hot water when weather is cold and also the impressive breakfast that should be provided for the value guest and make you feel unsatisfied. We are sorry to learn that our service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important and useful for us. So this wouldn't be happened again on your next visit.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#124 of 383 in Chiang Mai
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#91 of 383 in Chiang Mai
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
#87 of 383 in Chiang Mai
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
0.4 mi away
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Khum Phucome Hotel
Khum Phucome Hotel
#210 of 383 in Chiang Mai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Property: Furama Chiang Mai
Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang,, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing