We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Furama Chiang Mai
Ranked #196 of 369 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Marbella
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We are a party of four that stayed at the Furama for seven nights from January 01st. I have to say the hotel staff were excellent, and we were very happy with the hotel. Yes it is an older hotel but everything was very clean and the room spacious. Breakfast was included and again we could not fault it, plenty of choice and a chef there everyday to cook fresh eggs any style. My husband had a birthday and the staff delivered lovely flowers and an incredible birthday cake to our room. Very thoughtful gesture, he was very surprised. You need to take a taxi into the old town and market area but the price is very minimal. We had a very good stay here and thought the hotel offered excellent value for money. We would stay again. The front manager was extremely helpful as were all his staff. Great base for the start of our holiday in Thailand.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank k88nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear k88nan,

Thank you so much for your kind words and thorough comments about your stay with us. We will complement our staff for their dedication.

Once again, we hope your experience with us was very happy. Travel well, and hope to see you again.

Finally, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service again.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Acting Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    101
    91
    47
    41
See reviews for
72
107
35
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baierbrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

we stayed at Furama Chiang Mai for 5 nights and it provided a good base for the things we did in Chiang Mai.The rooms were quite large and the beds were very comfortable. The best part of our stay was how helpful the concierge, Intorn, was. I asked the concierge to call a cab so we could go to a doctor to find medicine and he drove us in the hotel van to the pharmacy straight away. Very nice man and very helpful!!
We also booked one of the tours from the tour desk and it was very nice - Kantoke Dinner and Show.
a couple of negatives about our stay - The rooms and bathrooms were clean, however there was mold in the bathroom shower. Also there are 2 pools at the hotel but one or the other of them was closed each day for a special event. It was a shame when the roof pool closed because that is where it was sunny at that time of day and a couple of kids had just gotten there to swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Rehana F,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you for your detailed comment on Furama Chiangmai Hotel. We appreciate the thought and time that went into the review on Trip Advisor.

We glad to hear that you happy with the service of our staff.

We are disappointed to know you were not satisfied with the dirt in the bathroom and also the pool that provided only one area on the 5th floor because of the function on the other rooftop pool. In any event, we thank you for the comments, and will be more aware of these issues in the coming days.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your exceptions.We promised that we will improve all your comment for the best especially the cleanliness.

Finally, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service again.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel provide me with comfortable sleep, great breakfast, and friendly customer service.
The hotel in general is clean, with a living room and a dining table.
The breakfast variety ranger from continental to western style
10 minutes walk from food center.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bthereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear bthereviewer ,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to read your feedback,it gives us great encouragement to work a lot.

We promise that we will maintain a high standard of service of our hotel with us forever.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I called to make a reservation 1 day earlier with reservation. When check in I found that the reception can't see my booking then I decided to made a new booking at point of check in by inform rate with breakfast that was confirmed by reservation. Ok...staff give me a rooms with different rate and non breakfast without any explanation or any excuse. Just say today is fully booked sir........how shame!

Overall stay was very good. Large size of room but in bathtub very dirty and old.

Breakfast also good.

Nothing around hotel.



Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank praksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear praksa,

Thank you so much for your kind words and thorough comments about your staying with us.

The review doesn’t inform the clarified check in date so it was hard for us to retrace what really happened thus the investigation has been carried out seriously. We tried to find out by ask the department which concerned, especially reservation & reception but the answer does not meet the data acquired.

We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important and useful for us. Your specific issue has been taken up by the head department who concerned and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Also, we apologized for the poor service that happened with you in the front desk and the communication failure between some departments. So this wouldn't be happened again on your next visit.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is by far not what i expect of a 4 star hotel. I cannot imagine how the rating here is that good. We ended up leaving earlier. Here are some of the reasons:
- very loud, you cannot just hear every single plane, also the functions 4floors beloware really loud and go on until late at night.
- everything seems to be some 30 years old. Old carpets everywhere
- the bathrooms are not clean. We didnt dare tryout the "whirlpool" as it looket like it has been used last time years ago

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Ar M,

Thank you for your detailed comment on Furama Chiangmai Hotel. We appreciate the thought and time that went into the review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us in case of the noise from function on that day and the staleness of carpet and the uncleanness of the bathroom. In any event, we thank you for the comments, and will be more aware of these issues in the coming days.

Finally, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service again.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in this large hotel a short ride from the airport. We booked a 2 bed room suite which was absolutely huge! It was clean and spacious with all the facilities you would expect, tv in each room with a dvd player and the lounge that had surround sound. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing to get excited about, we did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service which was good. The room was a little outdated but for the size and price we would definitely stay there again if we come back to Chiang Mai. We were disappointed with the pool, only the rooftop one was open which was freezing and very small.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChCh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear ChCh73,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .

Moreover, it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our breakfasts which are plentiful, but not significantly different each day and also the pool that provided only one area on the rooftop because of the function on the other floor.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your exceptions.
We promised that we will improve all your comment for the best.

Thank you again for bringing us these issues and also thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

hotel room is big, even with a sofa in the room still have plenty of space.. water heater not hot enough but at least bath tub is not too old and dirty..

nearby have a shopping still under construction, will be a good location when the mall open. when i stayed there, need to walk about 15 mins to find a local massage (hotel provide room massage but not cheap and not skillful, 2 hr 600bahts) where offer good and cheap massage 200 bahts per hour.

there are restaurant and pub on the hotel rooftop as well, quite a nice view but not many people.

breakfast choices limited and lobby mostly crowded, pick this hotel if need a big and clean room and u already have a private transport or u don't mind to walk a distance.

Room Tip: higher floor always have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear dreamer326,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to know that you like spacious and cleanliness of our room, we promise that we will maintain a high standard of cleanliness of our hotel with us forever.

Also, we apologized for the variety of breakfast and area of placement and also the hot water system problem, now your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments, especially Engineering & F&B Departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We are now looking for a solution to the problem so this wouldn't be happened again and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done in the near future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again .

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#93 of 369 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#114 of 369 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#70 of 369 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
#88 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai
#64 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#47 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Property: Furama Chiang Mai
Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing