We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unfriendly reception.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furama Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Furama Chiang Mai
Ranked #198 of 361 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly reception.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I called to make a reservation 1 day earlier with reservation. When check in I found that the reception can't see my booking then I decided to made a new booking at point of check in by inform rate with breakfast that was confirmed by reservation. Ok...staff give me a rooms with different rate and non breakfast without any explanation or any excuse. Just say today is fully booked sir........how shame!

Overall stay was very good. Large size of room but in bathtub very dirty and old.

Breakfast also good.

Nothing around hotel.



Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank praksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear praksa,

Thank you so much for your kind words and thorough comments about your staying with us.

The review doesn’t inform the clarified check in date so it was hard for us to retrace what really happened thus the investigation has been carried out seriously. We tried to find out by ask the department which concerned, especially reservation & reception but the answer does not meet the data acquired.

We are sorry to learn that the service was lacking. One of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important and useful for us. Your specific issue has been taken up by the head department who concerned and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Also, we apologized for the poor service that happened with you in the front desk and the communication failure between some departments. So this wouldn't be happened again on your next visit.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    91
    86
    43
    36
See reviews for
66
95
35
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is by far not what i expect of a 4 star hotel. I cannot imagine how the rating here is that good. We ended up leaving earlier. Here are some of the reasons:
- very loud, you cannot just hear every single plane, also the functions 4floors beloware really loud and go on until late at night.
- everything seems to be some 30 years old. Old carpets everywhere
- the bathrooms are not clean. We didnt dare tryout the "whirlpool" as it looket like it has been used last time years ago

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Ar M,

Thank you for your detailed comment on Furama Chiangmai Hotel. We appreciate the thought and time that went into the review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us in case of the noise from function on that day and the staleness of carpet and the uncleanness of the bathroom. In any event, we thank you for the comments, and will be more aware of these issues in the coming days.

Finally, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service again.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in this large hotel a short ride from the airport. We booked a 2 bed room suite which was absolutely huge! It was clean and spacious with all the facilities you would expect, tv in each room with a dvd player and the lounge that had surround sound. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing to get excited about, we did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service which was good. The room was a little outdated but for the size and price we would definitely stay there again if we come back to Chiang Mai. We were disappointed with the pool, only the rooftop one was open which was freezing and very small.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChCh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear ChCh73,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai .

Moreover, it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our breakfasts which are plentiful, but not significantly different each day and also the pool that provided only one area on the rooftop because of the function on the other floor.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your exceptions.
We promised that we will improve all your comment for the best.

Thank you again for bringing us these issues and also thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

hotel room is big, even with a sofa in the room still have plenty of space.. water heater not hot enough but at least bath tub is not too old and dirty..

nearby have a shopping still under construction, will be a good location when the mall open. when i stayed there, need to walk about 15 mins to find a local massage (hotel provide room massage but not cheap and not skillful, 2 hr 600bahts) where offer good and cheap massage 200 bahts per hour.

there are restaurant and pub on the hotel rooftop as well, quite a nice view but not many people.

breakfast choices limited and lobby mostly crowded, pick this hotel if need a big and clean room and u already have a private transport or u don't mind to walk a distance.

Room Tip: higher floor always have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlikaT, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear dreamer326,

Good day from Furama Hotel Chiangmai.

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiangmai . We are very proud and glad to know that you like spacious and cleanliness of our room, we promise that we will maintain a high standard of cleanliness of our hotel with us forever.

Also, we apologized for the variety of breakfast and area of placement and also the hot water system problem, now your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments, especially Engineering & F&B Departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We are now looking for a solution to the problem so this wouldn't be happened again and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done in the near future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Finally, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again .

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel short drive from airport.
The worst aspect of the stay was the chaos at breakfast time. There were far too many people for the seats available. There were insufficent plates, cups and glasses
A clean room but towels very thin. There was a distinct smell from either the drains or the air conditioning and we were on 16th floor.
Our room was set up with a little kitchen area with sink and loads of cupboards but no crockery, cutlery or microwave!
One of the lights did not work when we got into the room but it was fixed within 5 mins when it was reported.
Room looked out over waste/marshy ground.
It is a bit out of town and although we were told you could walk in there were no pavements/sidewalks on the main road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB42022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr. stroller75,

Good day to you from Chiang Mai, Thailand.

I am writing to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced as the result of lacking the equipment and facilities in the hotel. that should be provided for the value guest and make you feel unsatisfied.

There is simply no excuse for what transpired. As a hotel, we take pride in providing the efficient service. However, that is not what you experienced and for that we must apologize. Please be assured that the matter is taken very seriously and appropriate actions were taken to avoid future re-occurrence of this matter.

Once again, please accept our apologies. And please do not hesitate to contact me or my colleague if you need any future assistance.

With kind regards,

Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I've stayed in all sorts of hotels, in ranging from the very cheap ($30/night) to the very expensive ($300/night). Furama was simply the worst of them all.

It claims to be a 4 star hotel, but it is a 2 star at best.

Good:
-Rooms are big
-Easy walk to Nimmanhaemin neighbourhood

Bad:

Check-In - We were told that they were sold out of the room we booked on Expedia, so they made us wait, then "upgraded" us to an Executive Suite.

Concierge - We asked about visiting the Doi Suthep temple. Instead of providing us options, they directed us to the Travel company they're linked to, who quoted us 400 Baht for a round trip. We did our own research online, and found out that there's a public taxi option that costs a lot less (less than 100 Baht).

Wi-Fi - They neglected to provide the wifi login/password with our room keys. I called to ask for it, I was instructed to return to the front desk. Every other hotel is capable of providing this over the phone, but Furama wants you to do some legwork! The Wifi quality is terrible. It's slow, and kicks you out every 30 minutes, requiring you to constantly log back in.

Rooms - Terrible, ugly decor, very bad lighting. This is a matter of taste, so you may like the old-fashioned look. What's unforgivable is how dirty the "Executive" suite was. There were crumbs on the couch, nasty brown stains on the table, and the slippers provided had clearly just been worn by the previous guest. The shower is utterly filthy (see pics), and the bath mat provided is just as dirty. There's some nice big windows with a mountain view, but they're caked with dirt. If you look out the window, there's pigeon poop everywhere.

Breakfast - Decent selection, ok quality.

Check-Out - We checked out a bit early (5AM). When we arrived at the front desk, there was no one there. We asked one of the cleaners, and he had to go wake up the front desk person, who was sleeping on the couch! He was very irritated that we interrupted his nap, and was rude during the checkout process. We asked for a taxi, he said he can't get us one and that we should walk down the street and try to flag a tuk-tuk.

Just avoid this hotel at all costs. There are tons of other options in the area.

Note to the Hotel Manager - You've been commenting on Tripadvisor about fixing the issues over a year now (I went as far back as November 2012). The issues still exist. Please stop making promises, and fix the problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shimTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear shimTO,

Thanks for the time you gave to advise the hotel in this time on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of all managements and staff of Furama Chiang Mai Hotel, I would like to express my sincere apologies for the unfortunate incident you had encountered in the early morning of your last day in our hotel, thus the investigation has been carried out seriously.


We are sorry to learn that our service still was lacking and we know that these issues have come up over and over again, we really want to inform you that we did not ignore all the problems because one of our priorities is to provide quality service, therefore your comments are very important to us. Your specific issues have been taken up by the heads of all concerned departments and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure performance is enhanced.
We look forward to welcome for your next visit and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done .Please contact us directly for your next stay for providing you with higher quality service.

With kind regards,

Ms.Manlika Thatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is convenient, around 20 minutes taxi from airport and 15 minutes walk to the old town, 20 minutes tuk tuk to the Ping River area. One bad thing is that the washroom and the windows are not very clean. The room is spacious and with so many cupboards that we found it a bit odd. The bed is cosy and we had a room with very good city view which we could see all the lanterns at the sky during our stay. Overall a ok hotel given the location and price.

Room Tip: ask them for a higher floor, the one i had was city view which is good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiwat S, Manager at Furama Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Natalie C,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Furama Hotel Chiang Mai .

We glad to hear that you happy with the location and the spacious room, even though it felt strange cause of having excessive of drawer.

It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with the bathroom and the window which look unclean. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Thank you again for bringing us these issues.

We look forward to welcome for your next visit and to provide you with higher quality service.

Sincerely,

Ms.Manlika Tatsanaphak
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#88 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#72 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastin Tan Hotel Chiang Mai
Eastin Tan Hotel Chiang Mai
#23 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
Chiangmai Grandview Hotel
#114 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai
#66 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#142 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Chiang Mai

Property: Furama Chiang Mai
Address: 54 Huay Keaw Road | Tambol Chang Puak, Muang, (formerly Grand Heritage Hotel), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furama Chiang Mai is an elegant 4 –star hotel with 17–storey high located at the fringe of CBD and North of Chiang Mai. The 294 well-appointed and spacious rooms are decorated with a blend of chic and contemporary Thai, complementing the diversity culture of Chiang Mai with full amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Furama Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing