We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
$27
Agoda.com
Easy and fast booking
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
yumidesign
Mullumbimby, Australia
Sweet Staff Weird Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 10, 2012
We have seen this hotel building in many guises over the last 10 years from the frame of a rusting relic from the age of the '70s Asian financial crisis, to failed condo room development to its current state as the Furama Hotel Chiang Mai. The excessive interior design does nothing to make you feel that you are in a fully functioning hotel. Its in a terrible, no where near anything location, unless you have your own transport or taxi around all the time. The rooms are big but the one skin common walls are very thin and you can hear what ever is happening next door. The beds supper comfortable. We ordered room service twice as there are no restaurants close by. Whilst the food was ok, its expensive for what you get. The room rate through agoda represents good value. But if you are paying the walk-in rate its much too expensive. All the staff are very nice and obliging. Our most vivid memory is of the view of the bird poop that covered the dirty window.
Date of stay: June 2012
Nearby Hotels
2.7 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Bar at the Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
3.6 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.4 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.4 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Pool
3.5 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.9 miles from Furama Chiang Mai
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
243
166
131
72
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
243
166
131
72
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews super highway nimman road swimming pool big room comfortable stay old city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 683 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group, so in terms of location and getting around I cannot speak to that too much. Also I didn't deal with any of the staff so I'm not too sure about service.

The hotel and standard rooms themselves are large but are quite old. The bathroom definitely needs an upgrade and they need to try an install a air-conditioner that isn't so loud.

But in terms of functionality, everything "worked" and there were no disasters. The breakfast buffet was adequate with both self-serve and also cooked to order eggs and noodle soup.

I'd say if they are offering a very low price on rooms, it's not a bad place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stay here for a total of 8 nights over a 1 month period. Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. Rooftop pool is fantastic, great way to cool off after a hectic day in Chiang Mai. Room service prices really high for Thailand. Wifi in rooms was very slow, wired internet seemed quicker. Rooftop restaurant has amazing views at night. Not really close to many things, tuk tuk required to get to the old city. Air con pretty noisy.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel itself is nice, alright location if you don't want to be right in the heart of things. The free wifi was hopeless, would only work in our right right by the door couldnt use it more then 2 feet into the room. Cleanliness could have been better, balcony looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a very long time, tried to charge 400baht for breakfast each, nice little restaraunt 5 min walk away thats only 100baht. All in all probably wont stay there again unless it was a really good deal.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielmc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Service not very helpful, almost no English spoken. We stayed there for two nights - all two days (roof) swimming pool was closing at 17:00 for some events. Terrible, moldy bathroom.
Nice view from the roof (if only no smog was present). Far from the center.
Shops, laundry, SPA, travel agency in the hotel lobby.
Breakfast was OK no reason to complain.
Very long waiting time to get an elevator (at the moment of our stay - half of elevators did not work).

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puwsioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the Furama (my wife is Thai) during the water festival in April and new that the city would be busy so booked our room several months earlier on an internet web site other than the hotels. We checked in and our first room for the first night was not enjoyable due to the bathroom sink leaking and pooling on the floor, and the pigeons nesting on the airconditioner several metres from the bed. Several window were covered in pigeon poo (had not been cleaned for a long time) and the room had an appearance of "just been thrown together". However, our complaints to reception were answered the following morning and we were moved to the city view room which we had requested in our booking. This room was much cleaner and everything worked except for the white no-branded fridge. We have stayed in this hotel on approximately 7 previous occasions and have found on every occasion that the new white mini bar fridges just do not keep food cold unless they are kept closed for about a day. I would recommend that if u get one of these fridges, then asked for it to be swapped for one of the silver fridges which do actually work.
The hotel reception area is always very clean (and full of mosquitos), and the three lifts are fast and clean. Just remember to exit the lift quickly as the doors ALWAYS shut very quickly.
The hotel location just out of the city centre is excellent and is located just off Huay Keaw Road behind the Hillside Condo 4. Rooms are usually quiet ( pigeons aside on the mountain view rooms) and there is no road traffic noise, and only slight aeroplane noise.
We paid around $45 per night (no breakfast) which was excellent value considering it was during the Thai New Year. Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is the buffet lunch adjoining the reception area. I have been to many restaurants in Thailand and found this to be one of the better restaurants. For 300 Baht ($10 AU) we dined on pepper steak, orange duck, butter fish (no batter), several seafood dishes, many chicken dishes, salads, ....the list goes on. Never had an upset stomache from this restaurant and would go there again just for lunch even if we stayed in a different hotel next time.
There are two swimming pools in the hotel. The roof top pool has excellent city views although the water balance always appeared to be off (murky). I would recommend using the other swimming pool on the same level as the day spa, which was cleaned every morning and appeared to be much more inviting.
There are three levels on the roof top. 1 the pool, 2 the restaurant, 3 the 360 degree panoramic view which is accessed up a small flight of stairs past the male toilets. Look for the small signs and dont forget to duck your head as you go up the stairs. The view form the panoramic view is a must, and is very relaxing. Take your camera on sunset or sun rise.
Travel from the airport takes about 15 minutes out of peak hour traffic, and will cost about 180 baht ($6 AU) if you book through the blue and yellow airport taxi.
We probably would stay at this hotel in the future unless we found a better hotel, due to the excellent location, although would ask to view the room before checking in next time. We would also recommend the city view room with a balcony, as the mountain view becomes a little boring.

Room tip: You will get either a city view or a mountain view room. Definitely demand a city view room with a balcony if u want to enjoy your holiday more. Many rooms have the balcony enclosed in glass. Ask to see the room before you check in, and keep a second copy of your booking as reception usually takes your booking copy and then it is awkward to prove if you have breakfast included, or when you check out etc etc.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arbo and joy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews