We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE GUESTHOUSE WITH INDIVIDUAL BUNGALOWS IN A DREAM GARDEN”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanita House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanita House
Ranked #2 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE GUESTHOUSE WITH INDIVIDUAL BUNGALOWS IN A DREAM GARDEN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We were looking for a small and cozy hotel in a quiet environment. We found Tanita House on Trip Advisor and all the excellent comments are really justified! We had a private traditional Thai-style bungalow with a beautiful terrace< The garden is amazing, full of tropical plants and flowers.
The breakfast area is located on the ground floor of the owner's house. It's an open room in the middle of the garden. There's a fridge with cold water, juices and yogurts, as well as a coffee machine. Next to this area is an antique store and a workshop where the owners manufacture and repair traditional wooden furniture.
The location is perfect because you are 3mn away from a footbridge that takes you to the center of Chiang Mai.
The owner, Aor, will great you with her beautiful smile and give you lots of useful information.
We spent a wonderful time at Tanita House and recommend it without any hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artzoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
211
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had a great time in Chiang Mai and one of the main reason was our host Aor, her warm smile and hospitality who made us feel at home instantly. She went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and was very helpful in planning our activities.
Tanita House is a wonderful quiet and simple place in green surroundings near the river and very clean indeed. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franzis287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

...and wonderful Aor, the owner. It was wonderful to have an opportunity to stay in our own teak houses, with modern, clean bathrooms, on this beautifully landscaped and tended property. You find yourself walking around the premises with your camera, trying to catch several picture perfect views. There's a pavilion area, with internet and a coffee machine which can grind and brew you a fresh cup of coffee in minutes, throughout the day. The location of Tanita is just over the footbridge from the historic area and night market, and there are a row of excellent restaurant's less than a five minute walk down the street--we ate every dinner riverside at one of the restaurants. Lastly, Aor is a wonderful host. I would definitely repeat at Tanita if I were to get the opportunity to return to CM.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robwbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

If you enjoy the simple things in life, done with excellence, then you will not find a better place to stay in Chiangmai. There is a wonderful tranquility about tanita house once you enter the gates, a reflection of Aor's woderful nature and personality. Everything that has been said in previous posts is true and more. Aor is the perfect host and has created a haven for those looking for fantastic 'thai' accommodation.
The kids(6 and 7) absolutely loved staying here with their own room in the rice barn. The grounds are very safe. Locationwise, one could not pick a better spot. In a quiter part of town but handy to everything. In particular the wonderful wororot market, only a 3 minute walk away over the bridge. The neighbourhood is very peaceful and there is no shortage of places to eat. Aor will help with organising any activities you might care to pursue as well. We stayed for ten days and were very sad to leave.
In short. Stay here. You will not be dissapointed.
A special mention must also go to Jan who runs a small shopfront laundry sevice a couple of doors up. She is an absolute doll and the kidsloved her.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullalarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We spent a wonderful 3 days at Tanita House. We really felt that Aor, the wonderful host at Tanita, really went far beyond the norm in taking care of her guests. She took seven of the hotel guests with her family to see the spectacular annual celebrations for Loi Krathong at a site 15 or so kilometres north of town. It would have been extremely difficult to manage this on our own, and we were extremely grateful and pleased to be taken up to Mae Jo to see the celebrations. Aor even arranged to get us lanterns and she and her relatives showed all of us how to light them so we could participate in the festivities. Tanita House is a set of wooden buildings set a distance back from the road (whch makes it quiet and peaceful), and it is a very green and pleasant place. Our little bungalow was quite comfortable, and breakfasts were fine with lots of nice fresh fruit and good coffee. When we became tired of the English-American style breakfast and inquired whether we could have a Thai-style breakfast, Aor was happy to arrange that. Location is quite good, it is just across the Ping river from the Warorot market. It was about a 15 minute walk to get to the old town - which was fine for us. Beds a little bit firmer than we`re used to, but we got used to them and slept well. In sum, we had a great time and would recommend Tanita House very highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Our trip to Chiang Mai was highlighted by our stay at Tanita House. Upon our arrival late at night we were greated by Aor, the owner and wonderful host of Tanita House. Aor was the perfect host, willing to help out with any of our requests. We asked her to recommend local restaurants and we had two of the most fabulous meals in Thailand. Our 2 bedroom house was beautifully converted from an old rice barn and was very comfortable and perfect for ourselves and our two young children. Aor also had an antique business on the property stocked with beautiful old timber pieces and interesting artifacts. We did purchase a few things and wished that we could have taken more. Aor was the perfect host and even though her business is not very old it felt as though she had been doing this for years. When it was time for us to leave and catch the overnight train to Bangkok, Aor graciously drover us to the train station and wished us a happy journey. I would highly recommend Tanita house as a wonderful stay, close to everything, with a beautiful host.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nayanailiffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Tanita House is set in the grounds of an antique shop, and consists of a number of small lanna houses, the traditional wooden houses you find all over Northern Thailand. You get your own cabin, with air con, large shower room and balcony. The staff are fantastic - friendly, helpful and leave you to your own devices if that's what you want. Only 15 minutes walk from the night market and other Chiang Mai attractions, the area is full of restaurants and bars, but as Tanita House is set in its own grounds, it is really quiet. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aztecarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanita House

Property: Tanita House
Address: 152 Charoenrats Road | T.Wat Kate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tanita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanita House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing