We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our home" in Chiang Mai”
Review of Tanita House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanita House
Ranked #1 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“"Our home" in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in another hotel inside the moat city before and didn't enjoy the noise there. For our visit this time we wanted to feel how it is to stay in a teak house and blend in a local neighborhood (we're always mistaken as Thais anyway). There isn't any better choice than Tanita House. It's a little sanctuary for us. No TVs but fast wi-fi connection. The place is so quiet, Just the chirping of birds at daytime and occasional geckos in the evening.
Our hostess Aor is a very nice lady attending to all our questions and needs. She arranged our elephant camp tour and Doi Suthep tour. She accommodates our every morning ritual of asking about the places we want to visit, dine in or shop at. Our room was kept impeccably clean and towels being changed everyday. The room smells of teak and air freshener and Everything is provided for in the small pantry in the main house. Water, coffee, tea, milk is accessible and free 24/7. Highly recommended to anyone visiting this part of the world.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Meryl_Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    35
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
226
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We travelled around Thailand for 3 weeks staying in different hotels and this was by far our favorite. Situated within walking distance of the market and anything you need. Very gracious host and quiet, beautiful rooms. We loved it so much!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you like small, family-run, friendly B&B's than you will love Tanita House. The owner Aor has created a peaceful atmosphere that is completely relaxing. Aor is not intrusive yet always there if you need advice.

We got a red taxi from the station to Tanita House no problem. We recommend a Thai Massage from the shop a couple of doors up and Regina's restaurant a couple of doors down the other way on the riverside for reasonably priced Thai food. We also went on a street food tour with www.chiangmaistreetfoodtours.com which we would also recommend.

Tanita House is about a 15-20 minute walk from the old town although we found it easier to get in a Tut Tut.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Aor, the gracious lady who owns Tanita House, could not be more helpful and pleasant. She booked our elephant-trekking day for us, held on to our train tickets, which had we delivered to Tanita House the week before, and was always available for advice.
Tanita House is very quiet, away from the bustle of central Chiang Mai, but near enough to walk to restaurants. Tuk-tuks and songthiaews are very cheap in Chiang Mai anyway, and you literally walk out onto the road and flag one down.
The teak huts have lots of character, Aor warns you to keep your doors shut because of the mosquitoes. Every evening you will find a mosquito coil burning on your veranda in a terracotta pot, and my husband enjoyed "mosquito-zapping" with the electric tennis racket provided so much, that I bought him one - ha ha.
Lovely lady a few doors away who will do your laundry for 50 baht a kilo! Restaurants, nice cake shop and handy mini-mart a few doors away too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneymumDerby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I spent 2 nights in Tanita house and it was just a bless, a relaxing perfect stay.
Aor is so lovely smiling welcoming, how cant we feel otherwise that good.
This little original paradise behind a fence is a beautiful place to relax in Chiang Mai. Everything is authentic, tek houses, tek furnitures, clean big room, bathroom, couldnt ask for more.
Thank you Aor for this beautiful lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpolasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I can only repeat what has been written below. The teak houses and peaceful garden make Tanita House unique but what makes it extra special is the kindness of the owner, Aor, and her staff who could not do enough to help. For example,Aor even drove us to our next B&B rather than let us take a taxi. If we ever return to Chiang Mai this would definitely be our first choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuppersReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished that we could have taken it with us! Everything about Tanita House is perfect. The location is great, 10 minutes away from the airport, on the quieter side of town, but a short walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the town and by the river where all the up and coming bars and restaurants are. Aor and her staff are absolutely lovely. Nothing is too much for them and they are all so friendly. (Aor got up at 5.30am to make sure that the taxi picked us up as we departed.) Breakfast was tasty and cooked on demand. There was unlimited tea and ground coffee, available all day long.

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrammieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
742 reviews
2.6 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#3 of 757 in Chiang Mai
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanita House

Property: Tanita House
Address: 152 Charoenrats Road | T.Wat Kate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tanita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanita House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing