We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in Chiang Mai!”
Review of Tanita House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanita House
Ranked #1 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A nice, cozy teak architecture guesthose with very friendly and helpful darbinieki.Vieta is beautiful. Big, clean and nice rooms. There is free WiFi available in the guest house and computer, printer and free use.
Delicious breakfast, free tea and coffee in the day or night.
Very grateful hostess AOR! She helped us with advice, transport and treat me when I ill.
We were there in November 2011th Loy Krathong festival. To see what happens in an ideal location, but will not be able to sleep well during the festive fireworks :)
notes: A good location and a great hostess!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Tanita House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I loved staying at Tanita House. The woman who manages the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. She knew all about the attractions we were going to see, and was able to negotiate good prices for tuk-tuks and taxis on our behalf. The room was stayed in was actually its own separate hut, which was fun, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the morning breakfasts were pleasant and delicious. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our tour around SE Asia, and I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked Tanita House for our Chiang Mai accommodation after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor AND NOW it is my turn to comment on how amazing it is. Walking off the street, down the private driveway you arrive into a beautiful, peaceful oasis with charming little teak cabins and lovely, cool, tree filled gardens. Aor, the owner, is there to greet you with a beautiful big smile and she looks after her guests very well. She is helpful with all queries, tour bookings, places to eat and her staff are very nice too. Breakfast, which is included in the price, is delicious and there is water, tea and coffee available all day. Wifi is also included. The cabins are very comfortable and private with lovely little balconies and outlook. The location is good and within walking distance to all the main attractions. The laundry service close by is run by a really nice lady and it is inexpensive with your clothes laundered perfectly! We absolutely enjoyed our week here with Aor and were quite sad when it was time to say goodbye. I highly recommend Tanita House for anyone visiting Chiang Mai!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aiki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We decided to stay here for our first anniversary - we were on a budget but wanted to do a little more fancy than a hostel - this experience exceeded our expectations. We got a lovely cottage/bungalow all to ourselves that was really charming. The best part is how serene and calm the place is around all day. Living in big bustling cities, we really relished our 3 days of uninterrupted peace and waking up to a beautiful view of trees and green outside the window. They also have only about 6 bungalows on the property, so it feels very private but not isolated. They're situated quite close to each other but you would never be able to tell because they're built that way to face away.
The location of the place itself is great - it's situated on an artsy street and you can just stroll down it an find galleries and cafes and such - lot of places to eat. We rented bikes from across the street at another hostel and riding to the town center is really easy and the roads and directions are pretty straightforward if you have a map to guide you.
Aor, the owner, was extremely nice and helpful. She helped us with anything we needed and was just so patient.
There's free breakfast every morning - nice homely spread - the scrambled eggs and bacon, freshly prepared is fantastic.
I would definitely go back here again if I'm ever in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamPree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family (ages 10,13) stayed at the Tanita House for four nights. What a truly special place! We reserved the converted rice barn. Wow. It had two floors, two bedrooms, and three bathrooms. It was very clean, comfortable, and well-appointed.

The guest house is located riverside in an artsy neighborhood with coffee shops, galleries, and restaurants. It's about a 30-minute walk to the Old City or a short tuk-tuk ride. There's an inexpensive laundry service just a few shops down run by an extremely nice lady.

In the morning, a free breakfast is served. You sit in the open-air common area below the owner's house. It's the kind of vibe where you can show up in your pajamas and be just fine.

In addition to being a guest house, the property has an antique and woodworking business. It really adds to the atmosphere of the place.

The only downside: the hand shower in the bathroom that gets the floor soaking wet. But really, no big deal.

The owner of Tanita House, Aor, is incredibly sweet and very helpful. She runs a real gem at an incredibly reasonable price of $75/night (family room).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Aor was soooo nice and the family house was awesome. You get your own private house for the cost of a hostel. Just make sure you close your doors and windows before dusk otherwise the mosquitoes will get in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. It is cute, convenient, clean, and the stuff is super friendly. The best part is the owner. She is soooo helpful in booking tours, knowledgable about the area and wiling to help with anything!! Her English is great as well. Additionally she is an antique art collector/seller. She has a museum and show room attached to the hotel which are both gorgeous. On, and the complimentary breakfast was ridiculously delicious as well!! I highly recommend this. My only negative would be the Mosquitos and the shower is one without a tub or shower stall. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 859EllenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 387 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 387 in Chiang Mai
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 776 in Chiang Mai
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
0.5 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#7 of 776 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanita House

Address: 152 Charoenrats Road | T.Wat Kate, Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tanita House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing