We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little piece of quiet paradise, with the best bed I've ever slept in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“little piece of quiet paradise, with the best bed I've ever slept in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

We just returned from Thailand after 5 nights at Ping Nakara in Chiang Mai. We booked the hotel after extensive research online, and were definitely influenced by the other great reviews on this site. I wanted to make sure I added another 5 star review for the hotel, as it's truly an amazing place. Compared to the other '5 star' locations in the city, it is small, tasteful, in a great location and the rooms are just beautiful. The attention to detail in the design of the hotel - from the rooms, the furniture, the pool area and garden - just superb. The service was still a little patchy on out visit, mainly due to language difficulties with restaurant/bar staff, but the room was faultless, the hotel immaculately clean and cared for, and I think you should get in early before it becomes the top hotel in town and the prices go up! The only tip would be to avoid Chiang Mai in March/April (something we learnt only after booking our flights) due to the ridiculous levels of smoke and smog from burn-off fires.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali78Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Usavangkul, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Thank you for the great comments and we are glad that you found our hotel amazing. I am pleased to inform you that we are taking seriously on your comments by expanding our extensive English program for the staff. Hopefully, this will help the English communication smoothly.

Regarding the smoke problem, I already addressed your comment to the Chiang Mai Chamber of Commerce which works closely with the Chiang Mai Governor’s office. Normally the smoke comes from the forest fire and farming during the dry season. However, after a rainfall the smoke will be subsided. If there’s no rain, the local government together with the Royal Project will do the cloud seeding to produce rain and solve this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    128
    43
    12
    1
See reviews for
130
533
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St.John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

First time in Chiang Mai so to play it safe checked into Shangri la hotel. Found it nice but more like a buisness hotel. Went for a tour and as we own a 5 star Inn in Canada we asked the tour driver to show us the nicest luxury boutique hotels / Inns in the city and after visiting several we stumbled past this truly stunning property. It is registered as a 4 star but truly a 5 star. Staff are exceptional.
Rooms / bathrooms / furniture / public spaces / pool / dining / internet / buisness / and conceirge services nothing has been over looked. We extended our trip in Chiang Mai
4 extra days as a result of the exceptional accomadations. We spent 7 nights at the Raffles Hotel in Phonm Phen which we truly loved and can put Ping Nakara right along side it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Usavangkul, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2010
First of all, I would like to express my gratitude for reviewers who wrote many good things about our hotel. All feedback that we received was an excellent reward for us at Ping Nakara.

I had a chance to talk with our guest, the owner of Ryan Mansion, the TripAdvisor's top list Inn in Newfoundland. His comments about our hotel is very inspiring. It is our honor to get such a good review which came from another 5-star hotelier.

Again, we are so grateful to receive all these reviews. We hope that we can be of service for all of you again.

Warm regards,
Chairat
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

If you are living in a city and getting bored of the hectic life. I recommend you to come to this hotel. The design is extremely and very detail oriented, you could not imagine how each piece of the interiors are done it is really difficult to express into words. You should come and experience by yourself. : ) This hotel is brand new! you would not have to concern about the cleanliness it is new! clean and comfort.

I stayed here for 5 days i felt what i have paid for is really value for money! It gave me full relaxation by the Nakara Spa, it is an ideal place for you to sit back and spend time on your own doing work as well as resting with no disturbance.

Located in the heart of Chiangmai City, you can easily access to anywhere from this place by just talking with the receptions they are friendly and hepful in guiding you to several attractive places.

Chiangmai people are nice, friendly and as you know that Thailand is the land of smile.

Should not miss this out! Perfect place to live and run away because you would feel like staying at home while staying at the Ping Nakara.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyPimsiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

The Ping Nakara is a second to none in
- design and layout
- interior
- friendliness of staff
- cosiness
- food & drinks
- wellness
- location
Me and my accompanying wife and her friend will definitively come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

We were given a wonderfully warm welcome on our arrival.
Our room was very elegantly furnished and decorated. The location is quiet and peaceful.
The spa is the best we have ever experienced, The atmosphere was tranquil and restful.
I will certainly return on my next visit to Thailand.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xuios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Dear travellers,

Ping Nakara is a beautiful boutique spa resort that creates a completely sofisticated ambiance.

I was upgraded to the jacuzzi king size room. I completely enjoyed the experience and indulged in the following whilst enjoying my 5 day stay. Swimming, spa and beauty treatments, food, food, food!

Very close to most main attractions. everything in walking distance.

Workers in Ping Nakara are very courteousy and pleasant at all times.....I have found the whole of Thailand to be in this manner.

As it is a new resort not many people such as myself that actually stayed and enjoyed the day and night experiences here. Most only here to sleep and leave.

I would have to say that if you are a sole traveller like myself, Ping Nakara is definately a place to enjoy with a significant other.......or their are plenty of DVD options...hahaha

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deliriouslyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Was in Chiang Mai with 5 other girls on a short vacation… From Bangkok, we headed north with no greater ambition than to find a lovely place to stay and to enjoy lovely meals. Ping Naraka fulfilled both. First impression – Thai period drama – white, elegant building that walked us back 100 years or so. The high-ceiling lobby, the cozy library, the real wooden floor, and the perforated designs (I think they called it ginger bread?) were truly elite. The girls and I practically imagined ourselves to be ladies in the colonial period and took pictures at almost every spot in the hotel (day time and night time). We had 3 lovely rooms, each named after Thai floras which matched perfectly well with the wall paintings inside the rooms. My room was classically styled yet very cozy…my favorite parts of the room were the balcony and the bed…the bed was the most comfortable… I had a very very nice sleep that I didn’t want to leave my hotel room in the morning. We could order pillows to match our preference…I found this service really great. The outdoor pool looked stunning at night oversight from the room’s balcony. The hotel was quiet and gave a sense of privacy. After all, there’re only 19 rooms. ..felt lucky that we found out about this wonderful new hotel faster than the crowd. As for the food, we had a chance to try the food at the hotel and were impressed by Ping Nakara’s signature dish – Kao Soi—a local noodle delicacy. Our desert was the awesome mango and sticky rice. Definitely try both! After a heavy dinner, a walk to the night bazaar, which was only 5-1o minutes away, was a good light exercise – just as we needed.

We also noticed a lovely Ayurvedic Spa…some kind of Indian science for holistic well-being. The items on the menu were various and unique. ..didn’t have a chance to try but would definitely come back next time.

The building was nice, the room was nice, the food was great…but the highlight of our stay would have to be the service. People were very helpful here. Staffs were eager to show us around, telling us stories about the hotel, giving us directions and suggestions. They said Chiang Mai people are the nicest…I have to agree with this one. They were polite yet very relaxed and friendly. The staffs made the experience felt like a weekend trip to a generous friend’s vacation house.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jump_Pim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing