We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ping Not Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ping Not Worth It”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel is overpriced for what you get. Period. I don't know how it's supposedly a five star hotel. Realistically, it's a three star.

We stayed for three nights on a honeymoon trip and it was the most disappointing of the five hotels we stayed in throughout Asia. Why, you ask?

The hotel is not historic (built in 2009), but was constructed to look old. Apparently, to the owners of the hotel, that means it has long cracks in the floors, walls, ceilings that appear to have mildew in them. The rooms are rather stark, dark and tacky with faux wall treatments. The rooms are noisy, as the windows let all the traffic sounds in when closed. Based on the high price of the hotel, you'd expect a higher quality of construction and interior design.

Staff members were pleasant enough. Breakfast didn't have the selection you'll find at other, actual high-end hotels. Overall, I felt like I had made a big mistake when I walked into the Le Meridien a few blocks away, which gets far lower reviews on TA, and saw how much the Ping Nakara paled in comparison. Don't believe the hype. Save your money for something worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Just2CasualTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this detailed comment on our hotel. While we appreciate the thought and time that went into the review, we must take issue with some of the points as they are not factually correct.

We clearly explain on our website that our hotel design follows the era of colonial houses in Chiang Mai (we also post a PDF file that explains the hotel conceptual design and the date of building). It is truly understandable that while some people like the classic style, others might not appreciate it. However, Ping Nakara are proud to have received numerous international awards for the architecture and theme design, including the prestigious Prime Minister Award for Thailand Boutique Hotels, and the Good Design Award from Japan.

We cannot agree that the room was dark and tacky with faux wall treatments, as the rooms were decorated in color sponging technique with hand painted flower designs, and have French windows that open to the balcony to let a lot of light and fresh air in. Also, we used the best available materials to build the hotel. For example the floors are made of real hardwood planks distressed to antique finish, hand crafted fretworks are made from teak wood; door knob, window lock, beds and other decor were custom designed to represent the colonial era.

As a small hotel, we do not have the big line of buffet that caters to hundreds of guests as in a large chain hotel. Instead, we have a buffet line of selected high quality meats, cheeses, salads and fruit as well as a large selection from a la carte menu cooked to order, and best of all--freshly brew coffee cup by cup for each guest, not mass produced coffee and tea.

Last but not least, the hotel star rating is rated by a third party, not from us or any individual.

As I read this review I thought that the writer would be more happy staying in a large chain hotel rather than a small boutique hotel and we are sorry that we could not give what was desired.

Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    130
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
131
548
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Spent a week at the Pink Nakara with our 3 teenagers (12,14,16).
The staff and manager went above and beyond to accomodate our family of 5. We had 2 adjoining rooms that worked out great! The breakfast served in the courtyard was plentiful. The accomodations were spotting clean, quiet and in proximity of all markets and major siteseeing places of interest. After travelling for 2 months all over Asia with our kids, Ping Nakara is one of the best places we stayed. We'll be back with or without the kids for sure :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontrealRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your comments. Your positive experience is what we strive to provide to all our guests, as though they were friends of the family come for a short visit. Interesting as well that you note the hotel is well situated for touring , dining and shopping for you. Please do come back as it was a real pleasure to have you as a guest.

Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked this hotel in Chiang Mai. We received a small gift of two small elephants, very thoughtful. The spa was great, lovely ambiance and treatment. Was nice having breakfast at the pool. We liked the library room. The pool was great to swim in, but you need to use it while the sun is overhead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Love the architecture, beautiful hotel and room. Mini bar stocked with lots snacks and was included in the room rate. Around 7500 Baht per night. Breakfast was also included in the room rate, items including continentals items and hot items cooked to order, waiters and waitress were very attentive. Room service was good but a bit pricey. The spa looks very nice but didn't get chance to experience it. Receptionist English was average.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the third day my huz and I spending in this hotel for our one week holiday in Chiang Mai.

The hotel is beautiful, room is spacious and 'well - equipped'. However, the service is... Rather disappointing!

We have travelled a lot, by far it must be the worst housekeep we experienced. The staff simply only tidy up your bed, refill the fridge, change the tower in your room. My clothes must be accidentally fell on the floor yesterday morning when we left the room, and it was still on the floor when we were back in the afternoon.

There was some stain on the desk, I intentionally didn't clean it, and of course it was still there when we were back just now.

And the internet speed...it was terribly slow! This is not rocket science, and we are in the middle of 2nd biggest city of Thailand, the connection was slower than the hotel we stayed in the middle of nowhere back in Sri Lanka, or Laos. The connection constantly dropped out, so you end up using all the phone/iPad battery searching for WIFI signal.

The hotel staff... well...there are not that many guests in this hotel. We are not expecting them to remember our names, but how about the room no ? The girl whom picked us up at the airport cannot even remember who we were within 24 hours when we saw her again at the front desk.

This is a rather disappointing stay at Ping Nakara so far. We've paid for 7 nights already... I suppose there is nothing we could do,what a shame!

The last but not the least, the breakfast... Plain and tasteless. I would really suggest the hotel offer a package that does not contain breakfast, as there are so many better options in the street.

The highlight is definitely the restaurant/cafe behind the hotel. The dessert is delicious. No discount for the hotel guests though.



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliment on the hotel and our spacious room, and we are very sorry that our guest did not have good experience in some of areas.

As we always take guests' comments seriously, and continuously work to improve our guest experience, our GM immediately discussed the comments with the guest and with our staff to find out our weak area.

Regarding our housekeeping, it has been our policy to not touch guests’ properties except clothes or pajama on the bed where the maids need to fold and replace them back after they tidy up the bed. Our maid mentioned that she dared not touch our guests' clothes that were on the sofa and chair as she didn't know how the guest wanted them to be. She also did not see any clothes on the floor except swimwear that was on the bathroom floor which she did hang it on the bathtub. We apologize if this made our guest thinks that our maid did not do a good job. Rest assure that we always emphasize to our maid to be thorough in room cleaning. Additionally, we are devoting more time in training our staff for guest recognition as this is an important feature of our guest relations.

Our breakfast is well appreciated by most guests for having a good selection of high quality foods from the buffet, as well as a hot breakfast of western and Thai foods, as much as the guest would like. Guests can also order any item from our a la carte menu if the guest needs something different.

On the day the guest had problem with the Internet, there was a political demonstration at the telecom company in Bangkok which is the main hub of the Internet server. This was the reason for the slow and constantly dropped out of the Internet connection. During the rest of the week, our complimentary WiFi and the Internet were fine.

We are very sorry that our hotel did not fulfill all our guests' needs, and we wish them happy travels.

Kind regards,
Chairat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great relaxing week-end in Chiang Mai. The hotel surrounds you with a peaceful and romantic atmosphere, bringing you back in time with its elegant setting, carefully chosen furnitures and attention to the smallest details. Service was excellent although I would not chose it for its food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Ping Nakara last year, loved it so much that I insisted we stay here again. A very elegant and charming hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Very bright, clean rooms with beautiful little touches. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing