We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial charmer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a lovely little place this is in the middle of a sprawling city. Very clean in Chiang Mai, which was quite a surprise.
Stayed five nights and could have stayed longer. Loved the wobbly and bouncy trip in the old Merc to/from the airport with the driver wearing a pith helmet! Perfectly located in a quiet area near the Ping river within a short walk of the old city. Breakfast was really good as were evening meals, which were very reasonably priced for a hotel, although very quiet.
Agree, some of the main staff need a little nudge in the personality stakes but perhaps due to them appearing quite young. Poolside attendance definitely needs attention as you either had to go and find someone or there was quite a delay. Plus for this price there were no extras e.g. cold towels, nibbles, service. Supposed to have a free soft drink daily but nothing ever offered. But, the ambiance of the hotel was awesome, quiet and charming plus the pool was a delight.
Room was lovely although as mentioned, strange walking in via the bathroom, but overall perfectly adequate. Lovely sitting on the balcony listening to all the birds but a shame about the local dogs barking at night in the nearby temple!
Definitely recommend to friends and would go again. Chiang Mai has a lot to do and see, so another five day stay would be great sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarSal1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed stay with our hotel and your travel in Chiang Mai. We appreciate your candor regarding our staff performance. Additionally, we are taking your criticisms very seriously. We have already changed the station locations for all restaurant staff so that all the guests can be seen and attended without having to call the server. Also, we are continuously training our service staff for improved performance.
As we do offer cold towels during check-in, and offer free minibar that has free drinks and nibbles which are replenished everyday, we are confused by the comment that we don't supply these things.
Nonetheless, we are grateful for your visit. We hope that you will return and see our improvements in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 971 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ping Nakara for three nights while visiting Chiang Mai in May 2013. This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the colonial feel started the moment we were met by the driver at the train station with the vintage car. Wifi was great in the room and although we didn't utilize the restaurant much we did do breakfast there and it was nice. We had Thai massage in the spa which was very very good and the atmosphere was relaxing and professional. The location seemed a bit off of the beaten path which in a bustling city was perfectly fine and probably a good thing.

The unfortunate part of our experience was the complete lack of personal feel on the part of the staff. Whenever we asked even basic questions about directions, restaurant recommendations, anything at all, we received a less than helpful response. They were not rude or unprofessional but simply did not go out of their way at all to give a warm, friendly, and helpful response throughout our stay. It is a stunning property but really could amp up the personal feel and service to become excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
I'm afraid there might have been a misunderstanding about this. Generally, our staff has been praised for being friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Even though, as a small hotel, we do not have a professional concierge on our staff but all of our front office people have been trained about general local knowledge that might be useful to our guests. We provide maps for tourist attractions and restaurants. And recently, we introduced our new "GM's map" of fifty local restaurants near the hotel to answer our guests needs.
In this particular case, our GSA could not recall that they had been asked for any questions that they could not answer. So, we are afraid that the guest might have talked to the private tour company in the lobby, which organizes only package tours but is not a hotel concierge.
Last but not the least, we do appreciate our guest's comments as they will always help us to further improve our services.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A small colonial boutique hotel. Very pleasant and clean. Bedroom was somewhat oddly deisgned with bathroom in the entrance to the room. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice pool but little sun. Breakfast was good. Good location. was a secret restaurant 1 min walk from the hotel (also owned by the Hotel) overlooking the Ping River. A french pattiserie with excellent food. everything in bar fridge complimenrtary and re stocked daily. Lots of compl bottled water. Had lift to get you to 3rd floor. 5 min walk to (tacky) night market, but close to many restaurants. Free internet.

On a negative side, sheets are only changed every three days. I do like fresh sheets in a hotel when on holiday. Need to be very careful in checking the cancellation policy. It is v badly worded. I just wanted to experience another hotel for a change but was not able to leave early and had to pay the whole number of days pre booked. So stayed the full time. Only 2 foreign TV channels: BBC and HBO. Would have liked more as I am a news junky.

No fitness centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakartaTripper1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guests,
These comments are very much appreciated, and they will assist us in continuing to improve our guest’s experience. In this case, the guest booked a special prepaid package rate which is non-refundable, as stated in the web site. Due to this term of sale, we are sorry that the guest was denied a refund. While this special package clearly state ‘non-refundable’’, still, we will review the language used for this program to make sure that it is not misleading.
Regarding bed linen change, our policy is to follow a ‘’green program’’, changing long stay guest linen every three days. But we also mention that linen can be changed daily upon request, and we are sorry that this guest did not request it, which would have made his experience more in line with his expectations.
Finally, our television coverage is a total of fourteen channels, including eight primarily in English. And, we are in the process of adding more channels, especially in Chinese, French and Japanese so we can offer entertainment to a wider viewing audience.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I just came back from my second trip to Chiangmai with my husband.
We're glad we chose Ping Nakaya as the second hotel in our trip.
Although we like Rachamankha a lot, as I said in my review of them, to change to Ping Nakaya is another great decision too coz it's very different and complement with each other although both are in the same category of boutique hotel.
While Rachamankha's hotel ground is excellent, Ping Nakaya's rooms are great. Rachamankha feels more of history and Ping Nakaya feels brand-new and fresh. While Rachamankha, although being in the old city, lack of facilities in its neighbourhood (except for the Oasis SPA), Ping Nakaya, being close to the river, close to Night Bazaar and even closer to Thapet Gate, has the excellent location you could walk around to many places and do a lot of things.
Although it's restaurant is smaller and lacks the kind of air compared with Rachmankha, It's breakfast is even better than Rachamankha's (although the former is great too) with more choices for a la carte (Rachamanka has choices too but you could choose only three items), but Ping Nakaya's a la carte does not seem to have a limite of items.
It's waffles are great that I choose it both days and the Rosellet (spelling?) jam you could get from the buffet is just great for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind insight. Your point of view is very helpful for future guests who will come to Chiang Mai. As we recently explained about locations of Chiang Mai in our website, the Ping Nakara is close to many cafés, restaurants and the night market. This is an area that is great for visitors to explore and see Chiang Mai as it is very lively during the evening. As well, as you said, staying inside the moat area is also good to explore some old houses and to see many temples during daytime, though not much to do at night.
We are grateful for your positive comments on our breakfast, especially your comment about our waffles and the Roselle jam. Wishing you have lots of fun and enjoy your trip, and we hope to see you come back to visit us soon.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous inside and out. The old french colonial style is amazing with its dominant whites.

The rooms are lovely and rustic. The pool and breakfast area were also very nice. From a design, styling, and professional level of service; this was the best property.

Our one complaint would be there were a lot of mosquitos in our room at night. The overall rating would been a 5 out of 5 if not for that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment about our colonial style property and our services.
We are terribly sorry to hear about the mosquito problem. We have not had a comment about mosquitoes in the room for quite some time. Although this is a problem for all hotels in Chiang Mai, we do strive to reduce the problem by selectively spraying areas and rooms using organic sprays as well as installing electronic mosquito control devices. It is unfortunate the guest did not bring this to our attention during the stay, as we can be able to help in solving this problem as quickly as possible.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My family and my in-laws stayed there for 4 nights. The hotel itself is very pretty. Our room was lovely especially the bathroom with jacuzzi. The toiletries smelled beautiful.. Swimming pool has no steps ( not kid friendly). Breakfast is ok but not the best. The worst is their food service. As for breakfast you have to choose for your main course. And for a small restaurant where three tables are occupied normally you barely see a waitress. They are all inside so if you want another coffee or tea or if u want to order your main you have to go inside and tell what you want. The funny thing was when I ordered bacon and sausage on the side.. I got half sausage and a piece of bacon.. The staffs in reception were ok but not the best. This hotel is ok for a couple without kids. Beautiful hotel but not the staffs..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our breakfast service. We are taking your criticisms very seriously. It has been previously noted by guests that our service is prompt without being intrusive. But from your comments, we will change the station locations for all restaurant staff so that all the guests can be seen and attended without having to call the server. Also, we would like to mention that guests can have complimentary breakfast as much as they want from our breakfast buffet line and together from the a la carte menu, so it is unfortunate that you did not requests additional servings of your favorite dishes.
Regarding the swimming pool, we do have a pool ladder and the depth of the swimming pool is 1.5 meter throughout. Though you are right, the design is more for adult swimmers or parents and children together, not for small children alone.
I hope you will come back and see our improvement of service in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Ping Nakara Chiang Mai for 2 nights just after Songkran Festival. It's an elegant small boutique hotel with stylish colonial architecture and impeccable interior design. We probably got the best room (310) with nice view to backyard trees and swimming pool, away from main street. Apart from nice decoration, wi-fi, comfortable bed, cozy library etc; they also provide complimentary mini-bar!
But the best part of all, is the cake they sent to my room w/ birthday card. I didn't mention to anybody in the hotel about my birthday, but apparently they got it from my ID card. Personal attention like this, matters a lot to most of guests and I truly appreciated.

Room Tip: Room 310 -- corner room w/ pool and tree view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jigrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 395 in Chiang Mai
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,528 reviews
0 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $163 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing