We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
C H Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveler rating
789
149
48
14
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
149
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvintage mercedescolonial stylenakara jardinroyal grand deluxelocal snacksnight marketbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini barreplenished dailysmall hotelsmall buffetour honeymoonturn down servicetuk tukcommon areasold citytour desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked this hotel for 3 day holiday based on Trip Advisor reviews. Overall the hotel was very comfortable. The property is new construction based on old style design and fixtures. Rooms were comfortable, breakfast was simple but good. Staff was very helpful and ambiance was nice. The room design was a little quirky. Basically entrance foyer was shared with the bathroom. It would be difficult to receive guest while the bathroom was being used. The location of the hotel was also a little off the beaten track. Long walks there and back if walking anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstClassPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at our hotel. Our staff will be very pleased to know they did a good job for you.
Our hotel is located in the prime tourist area of downtown Chiang Mai. Close by the Ping River, the hotel is within a few minutes easy walk to major tourist attractions such as the night bazaar (open everyday from 6-11 pm), the local fresh market, and the pier from which river cruises depart. Several temples are in the immediate area as well. In addition, there are over fifty restaurants serving many kinds of cuisine nearby.
About five minute on the tuk- tuk ride, is the old city, inside the moat. In this area are many old temples as well as local neighborhoods. It is a nice area to explore during the day to see temples and old houses. There are walking streets in the evening every Saturday at Wualai Road and every Sunday at Ratchadamnoen Road. Guests can see more information and the map of our location in our website.
We hope to see you again on your future visit to Chiang Mai.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located in easy walking distance, but not noise disturbance distance from the interesting night market and the river. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to accommodate every guest wish.

We were not entirely sure whether the lack of appearance by the management was an indication of great " distance management" or the staff needed none and just got on with it!

Room are comfortable, the travel desk is a huge success, the bar service good, the restaurant a little patchy.

Despite this, we'd be back here in an instant we loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are all pleased that you had a very nice visit with us.

Sorry that our GM didn’t have chance to meet with you during your stay. Normally, he always meets guests and talk with them about their experiences in our hotel and in Chiang Mai. Since the inception of the hotel we decided we did not want to operate the hotel following chain hotel’s formal style. That is why you will see our staff working without a manager hovering over every move. We are very proud of our staff, as they regularly receive compliments for not only their performance but also the fact that they are natural and friendly. Our GM works with all persons in a team to develop policy, good practice, and standards. If there is a problem of any kind he is there to help solve it. So far, we have found this to be a very good way of working for our staff and most importantly for our guests.

Thanks again for your compliment on our hotel, and we hope to see you again when you are back to Chiang Mai.

Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights here unwinding from jet lag in this boutique colonial-style hotel. We liked our balcony with a view over the treetops; the cooked-to-order breakfasts; the small but charming pool area; the excellent advice about local tours. It's a short stroll to the night bazaar or a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride into the centre of Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_tedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere recalls European rubber barons. Helpful front desk staff, though English somewhat limited. Lovely pool, had meals on veranda by pool. Room had a veranda too. Many special touches. Inexpensive 24 hour laundry service. Good location, 3 blocks from night market, but on quiet street, just off the river. Lovely temple next door and boat landing. Took trip on river too.

Room Tip: I expect all are great
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The reasons I LOVE the Ping Nakara:

1- The staff absolutely gives you 110% from the doorman all the way up to the managers. They are all so friendly and attentive. You can see that the genuinely want to make the best experience for you.

2- The hotel and rooms are beautiful. They have preserved a lot of the original fixtures which adds to the romance of this teak structure. There is a large balcony they sweep clean everyday. Ours overlooked a woodsy area.

3- The complementary add ons. A generous free minibar and waters. The breakfast was awesome every morning and they have a beautiful turn down service at night.

From what I can tell there are only two classes of room but we found the standard room to be quite luxurious. It was easy to walk to the old city sites from here but there are many red trucks that drive by too. This was our favorite of the three hotels we experienced in Thailand!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJLUVLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews