We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, room, location & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We usually stay at the Dhara Dhevi but in an effort to be economical gave this place a spin instead. I have to conclude that I'm really glad I did, however whether or not I'll be back will depend on economics as the Dhara Dhevi remains my favorite hotel on the planet - it is without question superb, almost flawless (location could be better) and my only criticism would be the breathtaking cost of it!!

As stated the Ping was a 'budget' option for us but the experience was far from budget. The hotel is small with large rooms and is extremely tastefully designed in a colonial style (think Raffles/Dhara Dhevi in miniature) and the staff are courteous, attentive and professional. Our second floor room was large, reasonably quiet (the hotel fronts onto a quietish road) and extremely comfortable - so much so that I de-assembled the pillow to find out what brand it was!!

Room service/restaurant are limited in the range of choice but what they do do they do exceptionally well and at a very fair price - we ordered room service with alacrity and I cannot speak highly enough of the quality of the food. Breakfast options were limited (a function of the size of the hotel) and the food took time as it was prepared to order but honestly I found it memorably good. In a rush to get out to see the elephants my ever late running wife was about to miss breakfast when one quick witted member of staff rustled up a breakfast box to go.

The Hotel is near the river (but not on it) and is within walking distance of the night market.
There is a particularly useful tour desk operator who is extremely helpful and by dint of an arrangement with the hotel vis a vis the vans well priced - the attractions of Chiang Mai are well spread out so this may well be unusually important to you.

All in all a superb experience; the only downer I can level at it is that it isn't the DD - that said the bill was nothing like the DD either (about 1/3 I reckon). In truth this is a very smart choice indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 964 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I have stayed in Ping Nakara for 5 days in early August, as soon as we arrived, we knew we have picked the right place! Everything in this hotel is clean, decent and elegant. Apart from the beautiful architecture and decoration, its service is excellent as well, all the staffs are polite, friendly, helpful and attentive. Night bazar and Maeping river side are not far from the hotel, but don't forget to enjoy your quiet, relaxing day in the hotel, it just won't let you down.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkcho_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife, daughter (17 yrs) and I stayed at ping nakara for 5 nights aug 8-13 and consider this hotel this hotel to be exceptional in every way. It is the outstanding ervice levels and friendliness that differentiates this hotel from others , which says a lot as in general service levels in Thai hotels were in our experience very good. The clean smell and tranquility of this hotel were our 1st observations, and the large rooms with a balcony over looking the pool added to a superb hotel experience . All the staff must have been hand picked for their politeness and helpfulness. We had no problems at all with the 'language' issue . The one aspect this hotel should promote better is the exceptional travel service they offer named lanna boutique travel www.lannaboutiquetravel.com . We went with them on the full day elephant safari which included an elephant ride to a hilltop village , a visit to a tiger kingdom ( a photograph opportunity in the cage !! ) and a trip to a orchid and butterfly 'farm' . We had a your guide Noah who ticks every box. He us from Chang Mai and is very knowledgable about the area, speaks good English and is an all roils top guy ! Although the trips have a planned itinerary nothing is too much trouble and tbey are happy to tailor it to individual needs . We wanted to visit the long neck ladies in their village and Noah offered to add this into our programme .. Ok we finished later than originally planned bit this didn't concern Noah or our driver. We also visited the temple on the hill with Lanna travel but they didn't charge for my wife as it was mothers day in Thailand !
My family and I give this hotel , it's
lovely staff , very good food and service levels a huge 5 stars ! If ever we return to northern Thailand we will certainly stay at Ping Nakara !

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in Ping Nakara from July 27th to 31st. We booked a Royal Deluxe Room which is very spacious, with all amenities and a nice terrasse.
This hotel is just perfect: whatever you ask, you'll have it within a very short time. You feel like at home in a very relax atmosphere; the attention to details such as decoration but also service make your stay unforgettable.
Food wise, breakfast are nice; we had lunch & dinner in their restaurant couple of times: reasonnable prices and delicious food! Only minus point is that they had couple of desserts non available in the menu...thus we never managed to try their famous custard cream soft pumpkin tarts!
We tried their afternoon tea and we might dare saying it's the best in town!
The Spa is fantastic and providing an exceptional service, to be tried at least once!

We discovered this boutique hotel thanks to the Lanna Boutique Travel agency. We highly recommend to use their service, Noom & Song are really helpful and we are looking for our next expeditions with them!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TartineSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have stayed in lots of hotels and most of them have been 4 or 5 stars and I can safely say that this is one of hte best. The building is stunning, our room was amazing and the food at the restaurant was both delicious and cheap. We could hear monkeys from our balcony and felt like we were in the heart of Thailand. The staff were wonderful and we were visiitng during the Thai new year so encountered the Songkran festival. the town was buzzing and water was thrown in every direction. The hotel provided us (free of cahrge) with a water gun and a bucket. We loved it here and can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our stay at the Ping Nakara was very special. We are a family of four, with two older daughters (16 and 19). We stayed at the Ping Nakara for four nights in late July and were pleasantly surprised to have our already high expectations exceeded. The service at the hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful - everywhere from the front desk, to the dining area, to the cleaning staff to the sightseeing support. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable, and the look and feel of the hotel is 'old world charm'. There food in the small restaurant is great and the small covered patio area beside the pool is an excellent place to relax over a tea or coffee. The hotel is reasonably well located, within walking distance to the night market and a wide selection of good restaurants. We took the opportunity to treat ourselves to the associated spa next door and the experience there was equally memorable. Overall we had a great time at the Ping Nakara and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSKM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Ping Nakara during our honeymoon. The hotel is gorgeous oasis in the middle of Chiang Mai. It certainly lived up to its claim of a "Return to Elegance." The architecture of the rooms and common areas is impressive. We would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KylieWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 394 in Chiang Mai
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,502 reviews
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $169 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing