We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very lovely”
Review of Pha-Thai House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pha-Thai House
Ranked #60 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halle, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very lovely”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here during our trip through the North of Thailand for 3 nights. We had the de luxe rooms with airco which were very comfortable, large and clean. The price/quality is therefor very good. The guesthouse is simple for the rest : only breakfast which sometimes takes a long time to prepare because there are not many tables. No problem however for eating in Chiang Mai : plenty of bars and restaurants ( we found it a very nice city to stay). The surplus value of the guest house is given by his central place in the city and the very helpful Mr Pol, owner of the guesthouse. He is very helpful to all his clients on transport, choice of restaurants and activities in the city. We really recommend this guesthouse if you like to stay away from the luxury, big hotels with no identity or authenticity

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mireille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    113
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
67
124
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I loved Pha Thai House during our four nights there. Breakfast was good, the grounds and rooms were beautiful, and service was great. It is located within easy walking distance to everything in old town including the night markets that occur several times per week. The people that run the place have perfect English and were very helpful during our stay in Chiang Mai. They were also nice enough to store our bags free of charge during an overnight excursion. Our room was quiet, clean, and comfortable.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place to any of my closest friends.

Room Tip: You really cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like2bike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

well place guest house with clean rooms, incredibly friendly staff who speak good English and French. A main location for French speaking travelers...
The staff can organize trips / courses / excursion for you.
The garden and breakfast zone is a peaceful heaven. There are similar priced guest-house in the vicinity but I don't see how you could feel more at home than at Pha Thai.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_dreamer_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemisses
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We really enjoyed Pha Thai house. The hosts are wonderfully nice and helpful and the common area is lovely! Our first couple of nights we stayed in one of the rooms near the road and the road noise was just too much and I couldn't sleep well (I'm a very light sleeper). We asked our host to move us away from the road and she moved us to a room in the very back that was silent at night! We got the small room (400 bht/night) and were quite pleased. We made the mistake of spending our last night in what we assumed was a nicer place because it was more expensive. Big mistake! Stick with Pha Thai, they are the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlemisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Nice and large room (for 3) with A/C and balcony, pretty garden, nice landlord speaking English, French and German
Good breakfast
In the city center close to everything
Offer different kinds of tours

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabien_R100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Pha-Thai House is a fantastic five star guest house without a five star price! My husband and I stayed here for a week with our two teenage children. The price is 600 BHT ($20) a night for a double room.The rooms were great and the personal service beats anything that a five star hotel has to offer! When we went on a rafting trip the owner/receptionist named Ja, gave us 4 large beach towels to take with us. After trying a traditional Thai rice/vegetable breakfast at a local restaurant the kids really appreciated familiar eggs and toast ($2) at the guest-house restaurant. A large bowl of yogurt & tropical fruit ($1.5) was my favorite breakfast.
The staff was also very helpful in giving tips and organizing day trips.
The Pha-Thai House's located in a quiet area of the Old City of Chiang Mai is a perfect location for exploring the city. The night bazaar is just a 10 min. walk away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2009

If you travel in Chiang Mai and you are looking for a nice peaceful B&B, do not hesitate to book at Pha-Thai House, I've been there 9 nights and even with nice 4stars offers I could not move.
Thanks to the nice team who works there and speak English and French :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cri_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 747 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#61 of 747 in Chiang Mai
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 844 in Chiang Mai
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#11 of 747 in Chiang Mai
767 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#6 of 747 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pha-Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pha-Thai House

Property: Pha-Thai House
Address: 48/1 Rachaphakinai Road Prasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pha-Thai House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pha-Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pha-Thai House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing