We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not too much to rave about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Small Chiang Mai
Ranked #141 of 808 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location in Chiang Mai, great breakfast too, and clean room. The customer service wasn't the best though. My stay here was pleasant, but I was disappointed at the pool - it was dirty and looked nothing like the photos! I'd stay here again if I was on a budget, it's good for what you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 331 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after a really long overnight train journey and it was a relief to arrive and we were able to check in early in the morning. It was lovely and quiet which was perfect. Our room was big and spacious, the bathroom was also clean. Breakfast in the morning was great with lots of options and the rooftop view was just beautiful. The location was fantastic and we were just a short walk away from the night market. Defiantly recommend The Small Hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in Chiang Mai.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel was very clean and nice and is located just east of the Old City, across the street from the Night Bazaar = GREAT location. You can basically walk to the main areas of town that host most of the touristy stuff.

We paid 800 Baht/night through Latestays.com, so it was definitely a good value - VERY nice/clean bathrooms, comfortable beds, GREAT wi-fi, etc.

The only negative was that the staff was not super helpful and wasn't that friendly. Overall, great value for the price in a central location.

Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at The Small for a few nights before we decided to change hotels. Initially, we chose this property because it's close to the night market, the old city and breakfast was included in the room rate.

Upon checking in, the staff hardly acknowledged us and the attitude stayed the same during the rest of our stay. I guess that's how they do business at The Small, because none of the staff greeted us when walking by, as a matter of fact I don't even think they looked up.

The room was ok, it felt a bit small, the floors were concrete and they were painted, very cheap looking and the paint was chipped. The "murals" were peeling off the wall, once again looking and feeling cheap.

The bathroom was the room's best feature, the towels were clean and smelled like they had just come out of the drier. The weird thing was that our balcony was off the bathroom. There was a big glass door that opened from the shower, into the balcony.

With so many options in Chiang Mai, for visitors, I would not stay at The Small again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The brochure for the Small Chiangmai is very promising with nice glossy colors, and in the room there are two booklets that featured the hotel as one of the stylish boutique hotels with innovative design and decor. That was the past, ten years ago or so. Today, it is still a nice, decent hotel, but the furniture in the bathroom has been chipped away. The Small has suffered from competition with newly built and growing number of hotels in Chiangmai, and the lack of maintenance does not help its former charm. Perhaps the management care less and do not award their staff well, so service has been sloppy. When I arrived in the evening, the safety box was locked, and the receptionist told me that I had to wait till 830am the following day to get it unlocked. There was a medium sized cockcroach scaling the wall near the rack to hang clothes (there is no closet, just an open space). I hit the cockcroach with a bedroom slipper, and left the dead creature there to see if housekeeping would clear the mess. No they did not, and it was stuck to the wall for two days (I checked out then). At the reception, the female staff would answer questions but would get back to whatever she was doing (remember it is not peak season in March). The male staff at the reception were worse: they were cold and unfriendly, something you would not expect from Thais (no smile, no politeness, just curt jadedness). I felt that all the front desk staff were looking at the computers to avoid interaction with customers; I did not think they were busy day and night with a limited number of rooms. Internet costs 30baht/half hour at the lobby. Breakfast repeats itself every day with very slight variations. In terms of location, the Small is closer to the morning market & the night bazzaar than to Thae Pae gate. The latter is about 8 minutes straight line walk along a busy dusty road. If you get a US$50 deal to stay at this hotel, by all means take it. But if the rate goes up during high season, let other guests experience this hotel, and go find alternatives in guesthouses and newer hotels. There is only one lift which is very slow, so it would not be nice to stay here during high season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked the largest and best room possible but had problems with the door locking. We were then given a smaller room but this was towards the back of the hotel which we were told would be quieter. The room was small but clean. The shower was poor and over the 5 nights that we were there the floor was not cleaned as we killed a large beetle and his body was keft lying on the floor by the balcony foor for the whole time. The aircon was v noisy and not v cold. The location made up for all this as you were about 3 mins walk from the main gate. Ideal location for restaurants, bars and markets every night. Supermarket opposite was open till late too and if you hire a bike it is easy to drive to and from.
Pool was v small and breakfast looked good but we never made it since outside bars did better English imported food.
Would use the hotel again but not book the best rooms as they are all on front of hotel and noisier as well as having problematic door locks!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I’d give the hotel a good review because it offers good value for money.

Positive:
- Price: The hotel has hostel prices and still is has good standards.
- Location: not only it’s next to the old town, but it’s possible to see a lot of Chiang Mai by bicycle.
- friendly staff
- good breakfast in the terrace
- excellent tea house next to the hotel.
- clean and well maintained.
-very inexpensive laundry service

Negative:
- air conditioning is a bit loud

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_The_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#213 of 394 in Chiang Mai
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#102 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#201 of 394 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#74 of 394 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#140 of 394 in Chiang Mai
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small Chiang Mai

Address: 148-150 Ta Pae Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 808 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $29 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Small Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newcomer boutique hotel “The Small Hotel, Chiang Mai” is now opened. With 35 boutique rooms that are stylishly furnished wherein each provides all necessities to ensure guests comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Small Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing