We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Small Chiang Mai
Ranked #151 of 806 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I’d give the hotel a good review because it offers good value for money.

Positive:
- Price: The hotel has hostel prices and still is has good standards.
- Location: not only it’s next to the old town, but it’s possible to see a lot of Chiang Mai by bicycle.
- friendly staff
- good breakfast in the terrace
- excellent tea house next to the hotel.
- clean and well maintained.
-very inexpensive laundry service

Negative:
- air conditioning is a bit loud

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_The_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 331 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Traveling with my wife, mom and dad, so we had 2 rooms at the hotel.

Really nice hotel, and i would have given the hotel 4 stars if it had not ended the way it dit.

The plus side.
Location is super, close to it all.
Really nice and helpfull girls at the tour desk.
Rooms clean.
Delicious breakfast every morning.

The down side.
No balcony despite they say they have.
Small pool with very cold water.

We had a really great time here but it all ended when we were to chek out.
Both rooms had ekstra bills for taking from the mini bar, even tough we diddent.
The problem here is, if you buy beer/soda from a store outside the hotel and brings it to your roome and drink it here, and then you throw it i the bin at your roome, you will be paying for it again when you chek out.

A shame they behave like this couse we really had a good time at the Small, but after this scam we wouldnt recomend this hotel to anybody.

with deepest resentments
Claus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munkholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room we were in was small but you really arent in the room much so dont worry. We had a balcony which was nice to view the busy street and sit and relax. The rooms were clean and so was the bathroom.

They had a pool but it was under maintenance when we were there.

Perfect location on the main road and really close to the market (night time) and the river.

The breakfast wasnt too bad but nothing fantasic.

Room Tip: Ask one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Apart from some difficulties in opening the door of the room (no other door has ever been so complicated), I want to mention the nice location of the hotel. The breakfast is good enough, but for the rest, nothing to tell. An average hotel for european standards, even if it is probably a very good one here in Chang Mai. I would suggest it anyway, especially if you are not planning to stay in your room all the day long.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent our first night in a room with a window which opens right onto a zinc partition. Was given another room on second night after our repeated request was met with surly reaction from a male staff at the reception. This second room had no hot water which was quickly sorted out by reception staff Kent the most helpful & friendly person at The Small and a maintenance gentleman. After an overnight trip we returned to another room which had the most mould in the shower area from the rollaway blinds, walls etc. Elevator is a help, breakfast was local & western mix - acceptable, 5 min walk to the night bazaar, 24hr convenience store opposite the hotel, wifi is reliable. Coming out of hotel make a left and another left onto a street leads to a local market Kad Luang where affordable & delicious local food on the streets & inside the market complex is in abundance. For the price I will stay elsewhere on my next trip to CM.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank childlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at The Small for 3 days in November 2012. We were upgraded to the fifth floor with a balcony due to an error by our travel agent the day prior. I didn't have trouble sleeping but my Mom did. She said she couldn't sleep from all the street noise and music. The bright side is that the breakfast is good, very central location and the beds are comfortable. The wifi was pretty awful though. The front desk staff was lackluster and didn't go the extra mile by any means in terms of helping with directions, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaK993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_SmallGrp, Public Relations Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comment. It was pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best reagrds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is our third hotel in Chiang Mai. First, we tried budget. Never again. Next, we tried a guest residence. Nice place, but too far removed from everything. Finally (maybe), we decided to try The Small due to Tripadvisor reviews and its central location. The pictures on their website made the place look warm and inviting, and despite the price, we were really looking forward to staying there. Rule number one: NEVER go by the photos posted on a website! Chances are, they were taking immediately upon completion of building/renovation.

Check in: Horrible experience! The reception staff is unfriendly, bordering on rude. The check in process took unnecessarily long. We booked the hotel through booking.com and I thought that when I provided credit card details, it was paid for. Upon check in, I was informed that it wasn't. Not only that, apparently unless you have the confirmation email from booking.com, the staff can not find your reservation. I'm still not sure if we were double-charged or not, but shall find out when we return home.

The room: very confusing. For some reason, the "Petit" room is larger and more expensive than the "Petit Plus" room. We chose the Petit as it has a balcony. When we entered the room, the first thing we noticed is how much it resembled a poorly painted prison cell. Dark, dark, dark! Their the floor was orange, the walls were a filthy white, the paint cracked and chipped everywhere, the lights all low wattage money savers, the window opaque and 15" from the building next door, the balcony disgusting filthy and loaded with pigeon droppings. The High Tech TV had a total of seven channels, and luckily, 3 of those are in English. No wardrobe or drawers. The mattress was like a piece of plywood with a few inches of foam glued to it.

Breakfast: As far as the breakfast buffet is concerned, the food choices are limited. The bacon was, I think, actually thinly sliced pieces of Spam. The staff called it "healthy bacon". I called it "vile".

On the whole, I think that this hotel is indicative of the level and quality of service in Thailand. A disappearing thing of the past. I have seen such a disappointing decline in the last 5 years. It's almost as if Thai people have become westernized with an entitlement attitude. I have heard from so many fellow travelers that Vietnam is now what Thailand was 10 years ago. Maybe it's time to switch our "tried and true, go-to" vacation destination.

Room Tip: The best room you can choose is located in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_SmallGrp, Public Relations Manager at The Small Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Michael P,
Thank you for your comment and apology for any inconvenience. Hotel management will take your comment serious and bring this to improve our service standard.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#214 of 393 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#100 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#208 of 393 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#75 of 393 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#141 of 393 in Chiang Mai
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small Chiang Mai

Address: 148-150 Ta Pae Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 806 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $29 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Small Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newcomer boutique hotel “The Small Hotel, Chiang Mai” is now opened. With 35 boutique rooms that are stylishly furnished wherein each provides all necessities to ensure guests comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Small Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing