We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved the modern, spacious bedroom with views over the old city wall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Ranked #77 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I loved the modern, spacious bedroom with views over the old city wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Initially I was shown a lovely, modern room but it had hardly any natural light, I asked if they had any rooms with a view. From the outside of the hotel it looked like it had large windows. I suffer from S.A.D and natural daylight is very important to me. I was then shown to a fantastic room with three large floor to ceiling picture windows overlooking the old city wall, Perfect!. I loved this room, I wish I was staying for more than the one night but I was travelling back to Bangkok the next day. I just had a peep at other reviews and notice that people are saying that the noise travels up from the breakfast area below. My room was not directly above the balcony it was round the corner, I did not notice any noise but I am an early riser so had breakfast early and went out.
The buffet breakfast did not have the best choice that I have had while staying in other hotels in Thailand but it was ok.
There is no lift and the lovely room that I stayed in was two floors up which was not a problem for me, luckily someone brought my very heavy suitcase to my room.
I really enjoyed my one night here and would recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room with the big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTringTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    192
    111
    27
    16
See reviews for
67
115
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed in room 217 which was quite and comfortable.
Bedding was extremely comfortable..not the usual Thai ironing board to sleep on.
Sheets and towells were crisp white and clean.
Other rooms on floor one (ground floor).... would be noisy as they surround the breakfast area and with marbelled floors the noise bounces everywhere.
Hotel wifi is very fast and free.
Breakfast is fairly basic and cold fried eggs (four days running) are their speciality...on the fourth day the egg bain marie was hot but the eggs still cold.
Overall excellent value and rooms are a reasonable size.
Would suggest booking a room with no breakfast and spending the difference on breakfast at Art Restaurant a few doors down.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We were here for one night. It's clean, it's nice, the staff is polite with a smile and the prices are good.
The location is good to explore the Eastern gate area of Chiang Mai, which is interesting. There are many eating places, massage shops and small travel agencies in the close vicinity, and it's nice to just spend a day or two in the area and stroll around. It can be a bit noisy here though. If you stay longer in Chiang Mai maybe find something with a bit more flair and feel to it, but if you just need a nice clean place to sleep for a night, then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

I chose this hotel for its location and because it had free wifi. It was quite a disappointment, especially because the wifi was not working so i had to go to an internet shop - though there are several good ones just near the hotel. The rooms are just adequate - very small and with very basic cheap white furniture which looks OK now in February 2011 because the hotel has only recently opened but will not last very long. There is no lift so getting up the stairs with heavy luggage is difficult especially for older people. However, the major problem with this hotel is simply the noise. Because of the open design of the inside of the building, noise from the ground floor seems to get amplified on the upper floors where the bedrooms are situated and it was really very difficult to sleep until well after midnight because of the noise. The hotel is not cheap for what you get and I think there are many other hotels in Chiang Mai where you can get much better quality for the same or cheaper price

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borderlinevictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Booked 3 nights in the Imm Hotel (paid in advance) and was forced to check out after only one. Everything is hard surfaces and marble, meaning that all sound echoes up the halls any anytime anyone enters or leaves or walks down the hallway or speaks *anywhere* in the hotel you will hear it in your room.
Woken up by a thunderstorm that turned out to be just the housekeeping cart rolling past on the marble floor and being enhanced by the echoes. As the hall downstairs fills up with breakfast guests each one gets multiplied three or four times by echoes of themselves and you hear every time one of them moves their chair or puts their fork down or says something - your hotel room ends up sounding very similar to the middle of a crowded train station concourse.

The rooms are very clean and very modern and everything is in general quite nice, but it was completely impossible for me to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

The Imm Hotel was a perfect place to stay. It is close to the night bazaar and the sunday market (literally right next to it). The Staff are very friendly, the rooms are nice and tidy and the bed very comfortable after a full day of exploring! I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

This hotel is located right on the perimeter of the old city so it's very convenient for walking around checking out all the wats. We were told by the taxi driver that this building used to be a movie theater and was recently converted to a hotel, which may explain the lack of an elevator, so for those who need the assistance of an elevator you may want to request a room on the ground floor. Decent size room without much of a view, but clean. Daily breakfast was limited in terms of selection. Staff was helpful enough. Comfortable stay for a night or two.
Wifi is free.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#68 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#112 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#143 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#67 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai

Property: Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Address: 17/1 Kotchasarn Road | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accessible accommodation for all comfort purposes. Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai, under Imm Hotel Group, provides our signature comfort accommodation in a strategic location. Guests staying at Imm Hotel Thaphae can easily access Chiang Mai’s old walled city, Thaphae Gate. From the center of trading in the old days, Thaphae Gate is the area that has become the heart of Chiang Mai’s activities and festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing