We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”
Review of Tonnam Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tonnam Homestay
Ranked #23 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for families”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The place is very friendly and do some lovely food. We're very helpful, and no complaints with the service really. The rooms could of been better.

It wouldn't of been much to have a shower that you didn't have to crouch into the bathroom and hold. The rooms are also right next to a busy road, and so it can be noisy. Didn't really bother us but you notice it.

Overall a good place to stay, very accommodating to kids. We had 4 year old.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    41
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
121
110
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is about 7 Kms away from the walled old city, so it's a given that one needs some from of transport to get into the city and back. My wife and I paid between 60-100 Bhats for a tuk tuk and about 15-20 Bhats each for a Songthaew ride. It is better to organise a cab service (200-250 B) for the evenings. Tonnam could very easily be a small, boutique hotel minus staff in uniforms. This is a home stay style stay with well appointed rooms, a good size swimming pool, a fantastic non-touristy open kitchen managed by Pom and rest of the ever smiling ladies. I stayed in two properties during my Chiang Mai visit, one inside the very busy walled city and here, frankly, I liked my stay at Tonnam. I think this is a great stay for 30+ couples, families with kids and solo guests. Their breakfasts served in their river view sit out was splendid and so were the evening dinners. Yul picked us up from the airport and dropped us at the train station and did it as if he would do so for his family. My entire experience was organic and I loved every bit of it.

Room Tip: The Bungalows around the pool are a bit away from the street thus quieter in the nights. The street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dravidiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay at Tonnam in january 2013 exceeded our expectaions. Great large size room with very comfortable bed, air condition worked with no trouble, good bathroom and very clean.
The environment is wonderful, you have a secluded homestay away from the busy city centre. No reason to leave Tonnam. We stayed 5 nights and only left the place on two occassions to go to night Markets.
You must eat at Tonnam, Pom is a wonderful cook, she puts her heart into the meals she makes and they taste magnificient. She also has a wicked sense of humour, so good to be around.

Yul is the owner. One good guy. He takes all the hassle out of doing things and is a great source of local knowledge. Yul is more than happy to make travel arrangements for you. On two nights we stayed up late having drinks with him and hearing about his interesting past. My wife loved sitting in the spa and Yul was always on hand to make sure we were comfortable.

Yul has many antiques and treasures like his genuine military jeep. Also one of his most valueable is the " CHIANG MAI WHIPPY WHIPPY" he is most proud of it. Ask him to show it to you, you will be amazed by the craftsmanship and its beauty.

There are only six rooms and this why it is so special, the pool is heaven to swim in.
Only reason I would go back to Chiang Mai is to stay at the Tonnam and spend time with Yul and Pom.

Thank you both for a wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatureCouple2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The good; friendly staff / rooms are nice / food is good / a/c works / nice view / internet works

The not so good;
- location is outside Chiang Mai, so transportation is limited (taxi is 240bhat into town)
- cobwebs from light fixtures in rooms
- communications with each of the two owners were not consistent causing stress and dissatisfaction
- very low water pressure, sometimes no hot water
- advertise that airport connections are included. Not the case. We booked a total of 16 room nights, with a 2 day trip in the middle to a small village further north. Thus 2 pick-ups and 2 drop-offs. I had to pay for 3 of the 4.
- 500bhat for cooking class, which was great..but you are not told you are charged another 350baht to eat the food you cooked !!

We have stayed at 3 other guest houses in Chaing Mai previously. I scored all of them 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_the_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a great place! Cecile and Yul really have got right. A beautiful traditional teak house by the river with lovely rooms, very friendly staff and a really relaxed ambience. Food not bad either!!!!
You do need to go by taxi to get to the centre, but for a truly traditional experience that is a very small price to pay. We have just spent four nights there and loved every second. Can't recommend it highly enough. Well done Cecile, Yul and all the helpers (especially Pom the chef, the happiest woman we have ever met!!!).

Room Tip: The deluxe room is bigger than the standard but are both same quality and in the main part of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

After 2 days of travel from Ko Tao straight through to Ciang Mai, I immediately felt right at home at the Tonnam Homestay. The place has a pleasant 'vibe' and the staff seem genuinely pleased to be working there. I enjoyed spending some time in the kitchen :-)

The Homestay is more suited towards couples or family, but I felt very well here as a 'solo traveller'.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

It's not in the center of Ciang Mai, but it's no problem to get back and forth.

I look forwards to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely guesthouse run by lovely people! Owners Yul and Cecile are fluent in French, Thai and English which made things very easy for the multinational guests!

The dinners prepared by the resident Chef, Pom (and her assistants) was amongst the best food we had eaten in Thailand. She is also happy for you to assist if you are keen to learn some Thai cooking techniques!

We stayed in a poolside bungalow which was very nice.

The location is away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Chiang Mai which is a bonus in my opinion.

You are really made to feel part of the family at Tonnam - I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
1.8 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#195 of 383 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Pee-Seua
Villa San Pee-Seua
#29 of 747 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 747 in Chiang Mai
710 reviews
12.8 mi away
Little Village Chiang Mai
Little Village Chiang Mai
#1 of 26 in Hang Dong
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban Sabai Spa Village
Ban Sabai Spa Village
#94 of 383 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonnam Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonnam Homestay

Property: Tonnam Homestay
Address: 216 Pa Tan Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonnam is a traditional Thai house on the Ping River bank. The property includes 6 bungalows around an infinity edge swimming-pool and 4 bedrooms in the teak house. Each accommodation has its own private bathroom with hot water and its balcony with swimming pool and/or river view. At home, we organize Thai cooking classes and massages with professional masseuse. On your arrival, you will always be personally welcomed by the owners themselves: Cecile and Yul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tonnam Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonnam Homestay Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing