We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall - but a few glitches”
Review of Tonnam Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tonnam Homestay
Ranked #24 of 826 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The good; friendly staff / rooms are nice / food is good / a/c works / nice view / internet works

The not so good;
- location is outside Chiang Mai, so transportation is limited (taxi is 240bhat into town)
- cobwebs from light fixtures in rooms
- communications with each of the two owners were not consistent causing stress and dissatisfaction
- very low water pressure, sometimes no hot water
- advertise that airport connections are included. Not the case. We booked a total of 16 room nights, with a 2 day trip in the middle to a small village further north. Thus 2 pick-ups and 2 drop-offs. I had to pay for 3 of the 4.
- 500bhat for cooking class, which was great..but you are not told you are charged another 350baht to eat the food you cooked !!

We have stayed at 3 other guest houses in Chaing Mai previously. I scored all of them 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john_the_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 305 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a great place! Cecile and Yul really have got right. A beautiful traditional teak house by the river with lovely rooms, very friendly staff and a really relaxed ambience. Food not bad either!!!!
You do need to go by taxi to get to the centre, but for a truly traditional experience that is a very small price to pay. We have just spent four nights there and loved every second. Can't recommend it highly enough. Well done Cecile, Yul and all the helpers (especially Pom the chef, the happiest woman we have ever met!!!).

Room Tip: The deluxe room is bigger than the standard but are both same quality and in the main part of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

After 2 days of travel from Ko Tao straight through to Ciang Mai, I immediately felt right at home at the Tonnam Homestay. The place has a pleasant 'vibe' and the staff seem genuinely pleased to be working there. I enjoyed spending some time in the kitchen :-)

The Homestay is more suited towards couples or family, but I felt very well here as a 'solo traveller'.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

It's not in the center of Ciang Mai, but it's no problem to get back and forth.

I look forwards to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely guesthouse run by lovely people! Owners Yul and Cecile are fluent in French, Thai and English which made things very easy for the multinational guests!

The dinners prepared by the resident Chef, Pom (and her assistants) was amongst the best food we had eaten in Thailand. She is also happy for you to assist if you are keen to learn some Thai cooking techniques!

We stayed in a poolside bungalow which was very nice.

The location is away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Chiang Mai which is a bonus in my opinion.

You are really made to feel part of the family at Tonnam - I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Cecile and Yul, are wonderfull owners and operators, attention to detail, very classy rooms and clean bathrooms. We had two rooms from the 7th to 9th of September and it was the best decision we made. We arrived by train and Cecile was there to pick us up at the station, and had organized a very tasty lunch for us. Its very good value and the dinner we had the night before we left was the best meal we had in thailand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NajmulKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just came back from a 5 days stay at Tonnam Homestay. It was our first time to chiang mai and we made a right choice to have relaxing holidays here.

It's excellent value homestay in chiang mai. Our bungalow is room no.1, spacious, clean and well wooden decoration, bed is comfortable. The hosts Yui and Cecile are very nice and made us feel like at home. They helped us to arrange one day trip, bring us to visit local market, and do oil massage. And staffs are friendly and always smiling :)

Another highlight is meal, we didn't leave to find any restaurant from outside and stayed here to enjoy every lunch and dinner, the thai food was definite delicious, a little bit spicy, like dim sum, pork salad, soup rice with shrimp, curry chicken, chocolate cake, thai desserts ... all home made by "ah sim" Pom together with three girls in open kitchen. Luckily we had a chance to enjoy a big dinner ( thai style barbecue ).

Most of time we stayed here have a swim, listen music, chat with Yui and cook with Pom. It's a perfect place to relax ... Thanks to Yui, Cecile and Pom gave us amazing holidays. We certainly come back soon as honeymoon and strongly recommend my friends to choose this ONE !

Lily & MC

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCKwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in july in this confortable Homestay, mostly thanks to the couple of owners, Cecile and Yul, who are bringing a personnal attention to their customers but without any excess.
Your requests will have a quick and effective answer (they didn't hesitate to change the bed mattress which confort was a bit hard for us ...)

The wooden bungalows are nice with a bathroom in a natural decor.
The swimming pool above the river is highly awaited after a hot day passed in Chiang Mai area.

You should not miss having a dinner at the Homestay because :
- the cooking is of high quality and remarkably tasty (Pom is a very good cook but also a very kind person),
- the opened dining room above the river is particularly nice in the evening,
- the owners are succeeding in creating a very convivial atmosphere by naturally facilitating links between the customers.

Chiang Mai center is not so far (15/20 minutes). A drop service is proposed in the Homestay and you can take a tuk tuk for the way back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family_mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 826 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#5 of 826 in Chiang Mai
731 reviews
2.6 mi away
Seven Senses Guest House
Seven Senses Guest House
#36 of 826 in Chiang Mai
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#26 of 826 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
3 mi away
BaanBooLOo Village
BaanBooLOo Village
#7 of 826 in Chiang Mai
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Pee-Seua
Villa San Pee-Seua
#35 of 826 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonnam Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonnam Homestay

Address: 216 Pa Tan Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 826 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonnam is a traditional Thai house on the Ping River bank. The property includes 6 bungalows around an infinity edge swimming-pool and 4 bedrooms in the teak house. Each accommodation has its own private bathroom with hot water and its balcony with swimming pool and/or river view. At home, we organize Thai cooking classes and massages with professional masseuse. On your arrival, you will always be personally welcomed by the owners themselves: Cecile and Yul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tonnam Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonnam Homestay Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing