We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Introduction to caving with CMRCA”

Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.27*
and up
Climb Crazy Horse Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 2002, CMRCA has provided award-winning rock climbing and caving courses in stunningly beautiful northern Thailand. With a strong focus on quality instruction, CMRCA is much more than a tour operator. CMRCA is owned and run by passionate climbers and cavers who want nothing more than to create other passionate adventurers! Safety always comes first. We use only the best, internationally-certified equipment, and our guides are held to the highest standards in Thailand.Be sure to book in advance as courses fill up quickly.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Introduction to caving with CMRCA”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After climbing with CMRCA several times I wanted to try the caving. "Introduction to caving" takes a full day, and was a great experience.
- Location is the same as for the climbing, Crazy Horse Buttress about 30-45 min driving from CM. CMRCA provide the transport, lunch, drinks and all gear, including backpack.
- You start outdoor getting basic training in using the equipment for ascending and descending. Different equipment is used from "regular" rock climbing, and the harness is a bit more uncomfortable.
- After training session completed you go into the caves, some minor ascends/descends/traverses first before the big drop with 25-30 meter rapell down into the main cave. Quite cool to descend into the darkness at the bottom. Well inside you leave the harness and equipment and walk around the cave, where you learn about stalagmites, stalactites, and other formations, how the cave system is formed, and the animals living inside.
- After a sightseeing of the cave you have your lunch and then ascend back up.
I think it was an awesome experience with a great mix of learning about the techniques and gear used for caving, and learning about the geology and ecosystem of the cave.
The main ascend up from the cave is a bit hard physically, so you will definitely break a sweat. But not to worry, the guides can tell during the training session if you are capable, and if not may offer an easier alternative.
The cave is quite wide, so no claustrophobic feeling. As always with CMRCA the safety is taken extremely well care of and the guides are professional. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hyperborean163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    30
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Climbing Coures.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are lots of fun things to do In Chiang Mai but non quite compare to doing a climbing course od adventure tour with CMRCA. I did the technical top rope course which was absolutely brilliant! Add (the teacher I had) was very friendly helpful and experienced he made me feel at complete ease the whole day even when I was 20 meters up off the ground clinging to a rock. It was a brilliant day out I learnt so much and would love to do another course with them. I recommend it to EVERYONE! Don't visit Chiang Mai without doing this! :) Climb on!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 8Hannah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethan B, Manager at Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Hannah,

Thanks for your kind words. We pride ourselves on facilitating high quality courses that can help you develop your climbing skills as well as have a fun, exciting day. We're happy you had a great time, learned a lot, and hope you can come back and adventure with us in the future!

Climb ON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I are keen climbers, and on recommendation of a friends of ours we arrange for a Multi-pitch experience/private guiding. This was a definite one of a kind experience; our guides (Mario & Ed) were friendly, thorough & very safe. They work to the AMGA standards, and all necessary precautions are taken to ensure safe & climb; while not being too pompous! The climb was great, the scenario to die for and the experience is VERY highly recommended! Many thanks for this; and we will certainly be back...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulricn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A truly amazing experience. The highlight of my trip!!!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

CMRCA is soooooo welcoming, friendly, helpful, and soooooo knowledgeable and professional and fun!!! I am sooooo glad that I did two courses with them!!! Best money and time spent. Kinda sad when my courses were over. But even when they were over, everyone were still so glad to help me in other areas of my trip. Helped me set up an elephant tour, advice on where to eat and drink, and other things to do. They are soooo wonderful!!! And the guides work so well together and are so professionl and knowledgeable. What a team; what a climbing family!!! So glad to have been a small part of it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We climbed up a mountain!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Challenging to say the least but always felt safe. Nothing left to chance. Friendly, informative instructors always put your safety first. Made everyone feel relaxed.....even on the way down, which is much quicker than going up. Excellent day out. We all enjoyed it. Worth the effort

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank oonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing