We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best things I did in Thailand!”

Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.94*
and up
Climb Crazy Horse Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 2002, CMRCA has provided award-winning rock climbing and caving courses in stunningly beautiful northern Thailand. With a strong focus on quality instruction, CMRCA is much more than a tour operator. CMRCA is owned and run by passionate climbers and cavers who want nothing more than to create other passionate adventurers! Safety always comes first. We use only the best, internationally-certified equipment, and our guides are held to the highest standards in Thailand.Be sure to book in advance as courses fill up quickly.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Tried outdoor rock climbing for the first time and must say..IT WAS AWESOME!!

Muan (I think that was his name) and the crew did a exceptionally well, beginning rock climbing course. We had a group of 5 students with 3 instructors, well 1 of them was actually still in training about a month in, but still, we were well attended to.

I actually thought the "Beginner" course would be a cake walk...man was I wrong! The section of Crazy Horse we did was about 25meters/82ft high. Did about 5 different sections of that climb and was very much challenged the whole way. Only 2 of us did all 5 climbs the others did only 3.

Climbed for the first half of the day then had lunch..which was dam delicious! Then did rappelling down this 180ft cave which was pretty gnarly. Then a couple more climbs if anyone was up for it.

Must commend the crew for their attentiveness to our safety and encouraging but NEVER pushy attitude while we learning how to scale that rock. Also provided us with technical knowledge about gear and equipment.

I recommend you be somewhat in shape for this activity. As you'll only have rock climbing "technique" holding you back from sections as opposed to physical limitations as noticed with 2 members of the group.

All in all..AWESOME EXPERIENCE!!!

Thank Barack-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 226 of 429 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We like to go rock climbing, we do it a lot at home, and this was ok, but the location is nothing special and they could have been a little bit more friendly. Good marks for safety though, they do take this first.

Thank FrancoisHALDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmothailand, Owner at Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Francois,

We are truly sorry that you did not have a special experience. Our goal at CMRCA is to facilitate outstanding climbing and cultural experiences. When we fall short of this, we are even more motivated to work on our shortcomings to provide better services.

We would love it if you could provide more specific feedback about how you felt we were unfriendly and how we can improve the experience so that future visitors are fully satisfied.

We hope that we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future so that we can show you how special we feel Crazy Horse really is.

Climb On!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The most professional organisation i've come across in the tourist/outdoor industrie in Thailand.
Their goal is to make you enjoy rockclimbing on your own level. Be it beginner or advanced (like me, i just used them for the ride and the nice lunch.) But the classes they teach look good and safe as is all they do.
And al that with great respect for nature. And they try to involve the local community where the climbing area is. Their efforts to do al this in an ecological way really sets an example where outdoorcompanys should be heading. Keep up the good work!!! Cu next year :-)

1  Thank MarnixvanderKolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmothailand, Owner at Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you so much for you comments. We are committed to constantly improving our systems and doing our best to be stewards of the community and the environment. It means a lot to us when climbers appreciate our efforts. We look forward to climbing with you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very helpful staff, good safety instructions & overall great experience. Did canyoning & rock climbing with them 7 years ago & pleased to see still going strong.

Thank Elhjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was planning for Rock Climbing activity for quite some time. I had no previous experience of rock climbing of any sort. I sent an e-mail to CMRCA which was promptly answered. They suggested the Introduction to Rock Climbing course which is of 1 Day duration and I agreed. The fee for this course is 2800 thb. The 50% deposit was made via Paypal and the rest in cash on the day of climbing. In my group there was one more person, Laura, from Alaska. She was ale a first timer like me but enrolled herself for 3 days course.

We were assigned to guides P&G. After collecting the harnesses, helmets, clips, shoes, we were transferred by the tuk tuk to Crazy Horse Buttress rock. There were at least three more experienced groups. The guides explained us how to tie the rope end and also explained the important role of partner during the climb. This activity, though very safe, is very energy sapping, especially for the beginners.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first climbing session. The guide gave very clear instructions before the climb, during the climb and after the climb.

After the first climbing session, the guides decided to go for caving session, though I thought Caving was not there in the package.. The cave is not too dark but very steep, almost vertical.

Both climbing and abseiling in the caves are very interesting & challenging activities. All credit to CMRCA for running this company so professionally. The guides are very well trained and at no point we felt that the safety is being compromised in any way.

Lunch provided was delicious & filling.

All in all the day very well spent. Will do it again some time.

1  Thank Shailender K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Mai Rock Climbing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing