We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Joy's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Joy's House
Ranked #4 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This review is long overdue. Joy's House is not only an amazing place to stay but an awesome experience. Joy and the kids provided everything for us; from cooking classes to tours of the city to live music at night. One of the most festive places I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefficly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    63
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
209
180
105
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Joy's house was my spectacular place because first time that I went there
I really impress about atmosphere and how friendly of every staff.
I went there alone but Staff in Joy's house take care like I was our family
So I feel like I have family in that place. Sometimes Joy's mom will cook and call me
to eat with her family [and she cook very well haha]. I really like breakfast there because
they have a lot of food. Joy's house was very peaceful and have natural atmosphere.
Sometimes when I open the window I saw little cute bird really close. Every staff there
can take care guest very well. I really like Owners, their family and cousins especially manager
name PeeJarm, She look like professional about every things. She can manage, cook [delicious Thai food], dance, sing a song, take care baby, be a guide, speaker, teacher etc. similar as KruBoy, They were very nice and funny. If other guests go there I think you should love them.

PS.Joy's daughter and her husband were very nice, They can do everything too.Sometimes Joy's daughter'll bake the special cake to guests, It's really delicious and make me impress.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiaoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Last month August 2013, I have business trip to Chiang Mai once again, and of course I stayed at Joy's House once again. This time Joy's House was changed a bit, there is a pathway to the bar, and it looks more colorful and elegant. The children are growing up but still nice and friendly. I could make friends here once again, please have a look in my album in my FB; https://www.facebook.com/Yoyo.SSEAYP96/media_set?set=a.10151693524729947.1073741832.633899946&type=3

We sang, drank and spent happy times, happy hours together. And even now we are still keeping in contact. Joy's House is not only a place that you can feel and touch the local people but we can also make new friends from over the world here. This was my beautiful weekend once again. Very soon, I will make my holiday trip to Joy's House in November, during the Loy Krathong Festival, I wish I could meet lots of friends there...Let's meet!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, convenient and quiet. But please book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aong101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Joy's House is so, so special - the minute you walk through the gate you receive a warm welcome. Although we did not actually stay here this July, we did visit as we wanted to see Jarm and the wonderful kids, who had enthusiastically learnt English with me a couple of years ago. There have been many improvements in recent months, and overall the place seems well maintained and generally looks much tidier and cleaner than when we first visited a few years ago. Sadly both Joy and Ulli were away when we visited but we saw that their wonderful team continue to be committed to ensuring that all guests have a memorable time. On another visit to Chiang Mai I am sure we will return and also make time again to visit the other kids at CSF.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank katepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is my favorite place in Chiang Mai. Everybody is kind and happy, we get together just like a big family. Make friends with guests from every corner of the world, that is a wonderful experience. And Children's Shelter Foundation! What a great idea! Joy's house is my only choice in Chiang Mai now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zhu_hui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have spent about 10 days at Joy's House and we liked it a lot. Different places to sit, read or drink something and you can make your own cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate whenever you like. All staff is very friendly and extremely committed to give you a good time. Which they did!
Our daughter (12) says it's the greatest of all places we have been to in Thailand and Laos. We have done many of the excursions offered and they were guided by a professional guide and a trainee. Joy's House builds the capacity of young disadvantaged children and adolescents. These children live on a farm and learn lifeskills and skills needed to become a tourist guide for example. A visit to this farm is possible and really great to do. The combination of enjoying holiday and supporting this initiative was the reason we went to this Guesthouse and it was absolutely worth it.
For visits to Chiang Mai, a free ride is offered everyday at 6 pm. Relaxing at the pool or going for a massage (by the best masseur we have experienced so far!) was pure luxury.
Most of all of course its the people who make a place feel good. We are missing Joy, Ulrike, Cham and all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abikob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've stayed in Joy's House 3 times in the last 10 years, every time I go I find new improvements and always the same warm welcome by the family and staff. This time I was pleasantly surprise by the wonderful yoga and massage rooms and swimming pool. Staying at Joy's House you'll experience the real Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 383 in Chiang Mai
729 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
3.4 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#7 of 383 in Chiang Mai
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's House

Property: Joy's House
Address: 114 Moo 9, Sanpeesue Village, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Joy's House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawas dee kah,...We invite you to stay with our family in comfortable traditional houses in our tropical garden with Spa, Massage and Swimming Pool. Our restaurant will offer you the authentic Thai kitchen. We also guide you through NorthThailand. You will experience Thailand beyond the beaten tourist paths. Further more you can visit our Social Project „Children’s Shelter Foundation“ in the mountains. Warmheartedly welcome Joy & Ulli - Joy’s House Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Joy's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joy`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing