We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit - Just to meet Steve!”

The Spirit House Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $1 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
SIngapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - Just to meet Steve!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good reviews and something a bit out of the ordinary tempted us to venture down the backstreets North of the city to find this gem of a place. As described previously, Steve met us and welcomed us - as the best Matre'd could do. But this is no five star swanky restaurant. Vintage chic would be pushing it, but vintage applies. Vintage antique with a touch of dereliction (the chedi) might be a better bet. We joke. This is a fascinating place. And Steve greeted us admirably. Helped with the choice of dishes and the food was served quickly and efficiently. Three very good dishes, two rice, and three beers for under 600thb .... Can’t complain. Well recommended and we echo others advice to visit. .....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Soooo yummy!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A beautiful garden setting with excellent food. Steve the owner came to greet us and visit with us and explain details of the dishes. I had the Kow Soi and I highly recommend it. It was a bit spicy with crispy noodles as well as soft noodles and an excellent broth. My two other dinning partners also had tasty dishes but all agreed the Kow Soi was the favorite. We also met Wan Chai the Thai business partner of Steve. We felt very welcome and had lots of personal attention. I'm wanting to go back there again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice romantic setting to take a date/partner/friend”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very elegant dining experience with a professional staff and wonderful French food with excellent presentation. Compared with European & US prices, this place is a bargain, complete with a very good musical ensamble, nice music & great female vocals - just superb. My first time, but won't be my last.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thefishman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food in an amazing atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a partnership of Wan Chai a Thai with personality plus and Steve an American spiritual expat. They have created their dense jungle garden restaurant around an ancient chedi. Both have dedicated their heart and souls to ensuring a happy dining experience for the guests....Steve personally greets each and every guest and sits down with them making menu suggestions. The menu has changes weekly.

The menu incorporates both Thai and Western favourites and wherever possible consistent with market availability is always from fresh ingredients. The Penang curry either with or without chicken is a star menu item.

The restaurant is like a mini museum inside with an eclectic collection reflecting Steve's past life as an antiques dealer.

For a quaint and fascinating experience go along to their once a week Bulgaria chant singing sessions.

Highly recommend this place....have been 3 times a week over the past month.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geckoblaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just come back from a lovely experience at The Spirit House. Steve was a gracious host who was also very willing to share his knowledge about things to do and see in Chiang Mai. He helped us find out way around the menu as we are both vegetarians and we had a really delicious meal thanks to his recommendations.
We personally loved the experience. The place has real character and charm tucked away in a magical little garden. We will be going back before we leave the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spirit House Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing