We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chiang Mai

“Excellent local restaurant”

Khaokhaeng Muang Chon
Ranked #590 of 2,960 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $1 - $2
Description: Thai food restuarant from Chon buri province. Thai fast food style rice and curries. Free soup and dessert. start 35 baht.
Restaurant details
Description: Thai food restuarant from Chon buri province. Thai fast food style rice and curries. Free soup and dessert. start 35 baht.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Their Panang curry is fantastic! Cheap, delicious and friendly are the key words. Soup and little fruit plate extra for free with a smile :)

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank RaphD270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

This food is fantastic - the curries are authentic and delicious - best in Chiang Mai.
The stir fry vegetables are superb and so are the noodle dishes. It's cheap too! The prices are lower than most other places.
The owners are lovely people and give you free delicious soup and fruit.
It's a must to come here - a small menu but all lovely food.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank sarahwD4257ZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for traditional local Thai Home Cook Food, this is the place to visit. It reminds me of our local mixed rice. You get to select the type of dish you like to go along with your rice and they comes with a free bowl of yummy soup. Owners were very friendly and always serve with a smile. Here you can order different dish and share together with your companion. Environment is also very clean.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Christina3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018 via mobile

Fresh, tasty and variety. We spend 4 months in Chiang Mai each year, and have several local Thai restaurants that we frequent, but over the years, we find were mostly just returning to this one. You won't find more friendly hosts, the woman treats everyone like family. The good you order is enough, but she brings extra soup, then encourages you to enjoy the free desert, then she drops a plate of fresh fruit, she truly spoils everyone.

Remember, as good as the good is in the case, they make amazing pork spare rib noodle soup, and decent radna.

You won't be disappointed, except they close mid afternoon, so go early.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank whygoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

You get good prices, good service and awesome Thai food here!!
Your meal is served with rice and soup (especially I love the soup♡) , chose one, two or three food items from the many different dishes.
Free Thai sweets and the owner served seasonal fresh cut fruits!!
I usually go there for lunch but Today we were late for lunch so all dishes were finished.
I ordered a bowl of pork noodle soup. It was an amazing taste and the ingredients were good portions which were thick sliced pork, pork spareribs on the bone and pork balls, yum!

Our favorite lunch place ever!! ;)

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mylulu_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khaokhaeng Muang Chon also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Khaokhaeng Muang Chon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing