We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost”
Review of Hotel M Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Ranked #86 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had stayed here previously on two different trips. This year, however, I found it was overpriced and very noisy. The location is excellent, but for the price it is not worth it. I would not really recommend it as there are much less expensive and nicer places to stay in the old city. The breakfast which had to be included was horrible. I did find the desk people very nice. But overall, I no longer recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovingcostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Hotel M Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 351 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel has a very nice location near restaurants and the night market on weekends. The room was ok, but they didint clean up very well the bathroom the next days. Also the furniture is old. Staff didint speak english very well.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MariaPaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel room is clean and simple, and the price is very attractive, dont expect they have Spa, swimming pool - this is hotel "just sleep". The reason why i book Hotel M because of the price, and the location

the "Tha Pate Gate", Starbucks & MC Donald just opposite to the hotel, 24hrs Burger King @ Grand Floor, dont worry if you need something else of Thai food. Local tour agency / car rental also next to the hotel.

hotel just next to the Sunday night market, just walk down to the street to explore what they are selling -- must go !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

As I said Great Hotel right in the middle of everywhere! right at the start/end of the Sunday Market. They provide bike rental. within walkable distance to all the Wats/Temples. Helpful staffs, near to eateries, bars, post office, banks, travel agencies, and massage parlor even cooking school.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnnyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Location:
The location was great. Very strategic to explore the surrounding area with plenty of places to eat and see. There's a burger king literally attached to the hotel for quick meals too. Also easy access to tour agencies and car/motorbike rentals within walking distance.

Room:
The first thing i noticed was that the floor looked a little worn. Bed was big and comfortable. The room had a flat screen tv, mini fridge, tea/ coffee making facilities, full length mirror and a little place to put ur baggage. The bathroom was on the small side and could be better lit.

Service:
Service was good. The staff were polite, cheery and helpful.

Room Tip: My room did not face the main road, and so i didn't have any problems with noise from traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catspyjamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Location is the only reason for us to stay here. Bathroom smells really bad and dirty. We only stay here as part of our short business trip so we didn't really spend our time at the hotel except for sleeping. Hotel provides a limited parking space for hotel guest. If you rent a big car, it will be very hard to park your car. But if you do rent a car, you should stay at other hotels which offer a better service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lollipops26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Everything you need is here. Slightly overpriced, but acceptable. Customer service is great if you as nicely. Internet is not good, but you get by in an hour, very slow in most parts Thailand hotels. Tour office next door can be very pricey for the service they offer, you can do it on your own if you have time, the cooking school they offered was shocking and it was Asia something because the tour guide from the school is your cooking instructor (young girl) - can you imagine we had a celebrity chef (help) who couldn't speak English to explain the cooking methods and everyone was confused. Overall the hotel is ok for foreigners, however we have been there previously.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMChiangmai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel M Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very appreciate. we are very pleasure that you came to stay at Hotel M Chiang Mai and we hope next time you will come back to stay here again. have a nice day. Guest Relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#70 of 388 in Chiang Mai
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#74 of 388 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 388 in Chiang Mai
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#44 of 388 in Chiang Mai
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#84 of 388 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel M Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M Chiang Mai

Address: 2-6, Rachadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Tha Phae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Montri Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $43 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel M Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M Chiang Mai is standing behind the historic Tha Phae Gate, a signature of Chiang Mai. Tha Phae Gate is a trading post which was said by past locals to have given good luck and prosperity for those who lived behind it. A mid-sized business hotel in Chiang Mai’s ‘Old City’, Hotel M is dedicated to service above all else, and is founded on the idea of “Get more than you pay for.” Hotel M Chiang Mai is decorated in a modern contemporary style, complete with modern facilities and services; yet still staying true to tradition and a friendly atmosphere with handmade antiques rich in culture spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel M Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing